We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montefalco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Agriturismo i Mille Ulivi
Ranked #1 of 27 Montefalco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We were here for a few days in may 2012. The agriturismo is new, clean, has nice rooms and has a amazing view over the valley. The manager Stefania is a lovely host, caring and sweet, especially for our little son who was treated as a prince. He loved the little dog called "Teddy". If you stay there, you make sure you also have dinner in the farm! The mother of Stefania makes very tasteful Italian dishes. And ask for there homemade Sagrantino-wine ! It was a wonderful stay and sure we will pass again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KvdVelde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

This lovely farm is located in the center of Umbria (near Montefalco) with easy access to main roads and to all of the areas attractions. The farm is managed by Stefania and her wonderful family which will do their utmost to make you feel comfortable and at home.
A stay in the farm is an authentic experience and Stefania and her family will cook for you delicious Umbrian food in their small restaurant (for farm guests only) and will give you a taste of all of their self-made products (Vine, olive oil etc.). Breakfast is included in the price (mostly pastry) and dinner is served upon request.
The rooms are clean and pleasant with panoramic view to the surroundings area. We stayed there with our children (a small child and a baby) and can confirm that the place is suitable for families.
Stefania will assist you in finding the best sites to visit and is always available to help with your question.
Bottom line- the owners’ hospitality together with the Umbrian scenery will give you a trip you will enjoy and won’t forget!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Visited this farmstay with friends during this very weekend (Fri-Sun). Four of us (a couple, and two friends) stayed in an apartment (double bed in one room, two single beds in another).

Service and overall reception
Rarely does one encounter such a sweet and overwhelming 'aim to please', without it feeling at least a bit fake. E.g., we had brought a bottle of sparkling wine, and the room didn't have a fridge so we asked whether they could store the bottle for us until use. When that moment came, they also gave us four adequate glasses (rather than plastic cups or standard glasses). Keeping it cool in the evening heat at the patio proved more of a challenge, but we found a solution that was, if not stylish, functional.

Room/Apartment
Clean and spacious. A/C did not work (fan yes, but cooler no). We were informed about this upon arrival. A slight drawback is that the apt. may be more adequate for a family than for couples travelling together. There is no way to close off the master bedroom. Thus, if there is need of some privacy, or if people simply are on different schedules, or need to use the bathroom at night, there's a risk that occupants of one room will disturb the others. There's also a bit of backdrop 'natural' noise (i.e. animals making themselves heard), so bring earplugs if a light sleeper.

Breakfast is ok, or excellent (I suppose) if you're into sweet rather than savory. This is rather typical for Italy, so it would be unfair to make a point of this. And, if you ask you can get yoghurt to go with some cereals. Coffee is in a pot, so don't expect a cappuccino to order.

Being a farmstay, beware that there are domestic animals all over the place. Cats and dogs abound. Most of them are largely docile and uninterested in human contact. But, if you have an allergy (I do), you may want to medicate just in case. I experienced no problems whatsoever.

Dinner
was offered at 25 euro (all inclusive). It is a truly home-cooked meal, tasty and genuine. However, if you're a jaded foodie, or have plenty of experience with true Italian cuisine, it should be said that it's only above average. Wine produced on the farm is served with the meal. Of note is that while it may seem that you can ask and get more wine until you've had your fill (two of us were in the mood for drinking), you may eventually be charged for it. While we offered to pay for the extra wine, it was in no way clear that this would actually be the case (house wine on tap, so it seemed like it could've been just hospitality), or what the price was. In the end we were charged 18 euro for the two extra jugs (1 liter seemed to be the allotted amount for 4 adults and a full dinner). That is about 50% above the price for restaurant wine-on-tap in Tuscany, which I know better, and which is in general more expensive. Still, a minor complaint, and perhaps a result of miscommunication. Nevertheless, we ate out at various restaurants in the vicinity. If you avoid the tourist traps and do a bit of research (i.e. TAvisor), you can eat and drink better for the same money. The general area is comparatively cheap.

Location
Several cute little towns to visit within 10-30 min drive (you do need a car). The place can be a bit hard to find, so make sure you prepare your gps/map. While you can hang out poolside, the number of comfy deck chairs is limited. You can lie in the grass on a towel (provided). There's only one (large) parasol, so get up early if you want to claim that.

Value
Even in peak season, and especially if you're sharing an apt for 4, this would have to be considered a very good deal.

Overall,
and despite the minor details I have pointed out for the reader's convenience, this farmstay is a highly recommendable experience. The friendliness of the service, and the value makes this place stand out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbieJey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Overall: A cross between a hotel/motel and a farm. The rooms are new, in a motel-style block, each with TV. There's a pool. In theory, there's Internet, but it had issues. And there's a real farm as well. The owners are wonderful people and the dinner is excellent.
Check-in: There's always someone present; it's a real farm.
Language: Italian, French, English, possibly more!
Space/decor: Lots of space, upscale motel style.
Noise: Unless you are a heavy sleeper or used to country sounds, you'll want earplugs. Roosters crow a lot. And there are other night sounds from various fauna.
Comfort: The bed was fine.
Cleanliness: excellent AND THE WINDOWS HAVE INSECT SCREENS. If the previous guests in your room and you are careful with the door, you will not get bugs in your room. Once they are in, though, it'll be hard for anyone to get them out -- the ceilings are very high.
Heat/ac: There's a thermostat in the room and a ventilation unit on one wall. We didn't need it though.
What I would change: I'd put a shelf in the wardrobe suitable for a suitcase, in case the guests don't want to use the third bed as their suitcase rack. If there are to be 3 in the room, suitcase trestles will be needed.
Breakfast: a buffet of sweets, yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee and tea
Parking: no problem
Pets: This is a farm with a full complement of animals of all sorts. The owners were planning to get rid of their cats because of guest allergies. Personally I think that's a shame. If you have allergies, why on earth are you staying on a farm?
Distance to attractions: The Agriturismo is just south of Montefalco so right in the heart of the wine region and within easy driving distance of all sorts of hill towns: a super base for those with cars. And, of course, if you have children, the farm itself will be a huge attraction: horses, goats, etc.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank ggfgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

After spending 6 hectic days in Rome, which is pretty full on at the best of times, we headed to Umbria for a few days. Taking the train to Trevi (which didn't stop at Trevi!!!) the next stop being Folignio.... our friend who had reccommended i Mille Ulivi had to drive extra miles to collect us. That said, on arrival we were greeted by a beautiful Italian girl named Stephania. she showed us our room in their new complex which is perched on a hill overlooking the most amazing vista. From our terrace we can see Assisi to Spoleto.
Our double room is clean and spacious, TV and ensuite bathroom, towels supplied for both bath and swimming pool. Breakfast included in our rate and there is nothing that Stephania will not try to do to please and make our stay comfortable. we are booked in for dinner tonight and have been told that the food is excellent. Stephania's Mama will be cooking for us... so the Italian experience of dining well, I am sure is going to be a real treat. The swimming pool is clean and set in a garden below the main buildings. A welcome treat on any day after touring the area, or just spending a lazy day resting.
The best is that this family run 'Agrituristico' B&B produces their own wine, oil and jams....Perfecto. We are actually going to stay 2 day's longer than planned.... just to chill some more.
Mary & Bryce Jones, Mandurah Western Australia

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marynbryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

From start to finish this was a wonderful experience, our first on a Holiday Farm. The hospitality was exceptional, they couldn't have made us feel more at home. The beautifully furnished room was in complete harmony with its surroundings, and offered a breathtaking view over the valley. Stefania, with her parents and grandparents runs this establishment with pride and passion, and provided us with useful information for visiting interesting places in the area; not to be missed; Assisi, the Marmore waterfalls and nearby Spoleto & Montefalco. Definitely worth a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eli56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

My husband and I stayed at i Mille Ulivi in October 2010 and were absolutely delighted with everything about our stay. When we arrived, the entire family (3 generations) were harvesting olives and the entire scene was absolutely iconic. i Mille Ulivi is situated on a hilllside with a commanding 270 degree view up and down the Spoleto Valley. We could see Trevi, Assissi and Perugia from our front porch. The facility is brand new (opened July 2010), built with great attention to detail and with first- class materials. It is immaculately clean and well-appointed. But what makes i Mille Ulivi so special and memorable is the family who did everything possible to ensure we enjoyed our stay and experienced all the area had to offer. While there, be sure and have a meal at L'Alchemista in nearby Montefalco. We ate there twice and their meals were perhaps the best we have ever eaten!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewMexicoSilverqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montefalco hotels
1.4 mi away
Villa Zuccari
Villa Zuccari
#1 of 8 in Montefalco
370 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Pambuffetti
Hotel Villa Pambuffetti
#4 of 8 in Montefalco
167 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bed & Breakfast San Marco
Bed & Breakfast San Marco
#2 of 27 in Montefalco
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
B&B Casa Laura
B&B Casa Laura
#3 of 27 in Montefalco
90 reviews
1.6 mi away
Camiano Piccolo
Camiano Piccolo
#2 of 20 in Montefalco
210 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa Mustafa'
Villa Mustafa'
#4 of 27 in Montefalco
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo i Mille Ulivi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo i Mille Ulivi

Address: Localita Fabbri Colle 16, 06036, Montefalco, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Montefalco
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Montefalco
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Agriturismo i Mille Ulivi Montefalco, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing