We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Oro Rosso Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oro Rosso Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Montefalco
Certificate of Excellence
Nadur, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We chose to stay at this hotel after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. We confirm everything and would like to describe our unique experience, having just spent 4 nights on half-board basis at this wonderful family-run hotel. Being a family with a celiac and a baby that does need specific food, we consider ourselves as 'complicated clients', but we never felt that this was the case thanks to the professionalism, courtesy and hospitality of both Antonia and Fabio. The hotel is just 50m within the walls of the city, and parking outside the walls means you just need to walk those few metres, and then the magic starts! The room was spacious and very clean. Hard to believe it's only a 3star hotel. The food and wine at the restaurant are faithful to the true flavors of Umbria. Everything was excellent, in a peaceful atmosphere for a relaxing stay in a modern medieval atmosphere. Thank you for making our visit to Umbria so special. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammut79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    48
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
113
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed two nights in October whilst on a self-guided walk. The couple running the hotel gave us the most welcoming stay in our four weeks in Italy. The location was perfect. Our room was very comfortable. The renovated bathroom was a special treat after a long day walking. The home-cooked local food, both at breakfast and at the restaurant, was delicious. The wine selection was also great. My husband is a Celiac and Antoinette went out of her way to cook special gluten-free food at breakfast and at dinner. The family here create a warm and friendly atmosphere which makes for a very relaxing stay. Cannot speak too highly of this hotel. If we travel from Australia to Montefalco again we will definitely choose this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendykiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here in October. The photos and other descriptions accurately reflect this wonderful hotel. We were greeted warmly by Antoinette who showed us to our spotlessly clean, well appointed rooms. Breakfast was included and it was fabulous - such a selection of both sweet and savory dishes. Montefalco itself is a great place to make as your 'home base' as you visit other hilltop towns in the area - Spello was one of our favourites. We had a dinner here at the hotel that was delicious. We chose this hotel based on other trip advisor recommendations and we were not disappointed. Thanks for making our trip to Umbria magical.

Room Tip: The hotel is on one of the main streets of the town, but it gets very quiet once the tourists leave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hcwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, IT
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Located no more than 50 meters from one of the main entrances to the town of Montefalco, Oro Rosso was a perfect location for our quick trip to Umbria. The hotel is run by a married couple who were polite and friendly, and breakfast was included in the cost of the reservation. Our room had a bathtub as well as a standup shower, and the hotel as a whole was very modern. Although we did not eat in the restaurant, there was one on-site, which would have been very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Clean, modern, comfortable and romantic, this little jewel is located just inside one of the old gates, about 100m from the central Piazza del Comune. While there is no parking on site, there is abundant free parking about 300m away, easy to get to after you have registered and left your luggage. There is no elevator.
Staff is friendly and helpful, obviously used to English speakers who have little or no Italian. A roof-top sitting area provides scenic if limited views and is lovely as evening falls. Breakfast is provided and offers meat, cheese, breads and sweet baked goods.
The restaurant (which see) is adequate, if not great, has a good wine list and is also a wine bar.
It would be difficult to find better accommodations in town at this price.

Room Tip: There are 8 rooms; let them choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssmynkint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed one night in September as part of a self-guided walk - it was the most welcoming stay in the three weeks in Italy. The room was nicely appointed and comfortable, large bed, good pillows. The meal we had at the restaurant was SUPERB. Still thinking about the tortelli stuffed with lemon and ricotta in a lemon-butter sauce (appetizer) and the terrific desserts. The hosts offered - gratis - a glass of prosseco with our appetizer and then a glass of slightly sweeter wine with dessert. We did enjoy a very good bottle of Montefalco Sagrantino with our meal. They were so helpful and not condescending at all (we are not sophisticated wine drinkers). Recommend this hotel for warm and friendly atmosphere and great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte,NC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We chose this excellent hotel based on prior recommendations, helpful communications with the owners, and, of course, its close proximity to the great wines of Montefalco. The annual wine festival - Enologica 34 - turned out to be right across the street...as we had hoped when we booked. As as bonus, the hotel turned out to be a gateway to some of the top producers in the region. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our well appointed room, including a beautiful bath, and a first class shower, a true luxury not found in that many Italian hotels. The breakfast was quite good, fresh pastries, and cappuccinos made by hand. Overall, a beautiful place to stay in one of the most beautiful places we have ever been. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montefalco hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Degli Affreschi
Hotel Degli Affreschi
#5 of 8 in Montefalco
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Pambuffetti
Hotel Villa Pambuffetti
#4 of 8 in Montefalco
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Villa Zuccari
Villa Zuccari
#1 of 8 in Montefalco
356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cardinal Girolamo di Moncelli
2.9 mi away
Bed & Breakfast San Marco
Bed & Breakfast San Marco
#1 of 26 in Montefalco
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oro Rosso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oro Rosso Hotel

Property: Oro Rosso Hotel
Address: Corso Goffredo Mameli 18 - 20, 06036, Montefalco, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Montefalco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Montefalco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oro Rosso Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oro Rosso hotel is located in the center of Montefalco a nice medieval Umbria city.Our rooms are equipped with LCD TV , telephone, airconditioning , safety box , frigo bar , WIFI connection.Our restaurant offers a variety of local recipes .In our wine bar you can test a good selection of the best regional wines like Sacrantino.Take advantage of your stay with us and you will enjoy a warm hospitality , confort and a lot of good suggestions on what to visit locally and around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oro Rosso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oro Rosso Hotel Montefalco, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing