We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgetable day!”
Review of Wild Foods Italy

Wild Foods Italy
Ranked #2 of 43 things to do in Montefalco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Truffle hunting in the beautiful Umbrian hills, an unforgettable culinary experience, a day spent in the company of colorful locals, a stroll through some stunning countryside... The Wild Foods Gastronomical Adventure is a piece of Italy you will never forget. You spend a day immersed in authentic traditional Italian company, culture and cuisine. You hunt truffles, cook truffles, eat truffles, as well as get to experience an amazing part of Italy far away from the usual tourist trails. You also experience some traditional 'wild' cuisine, maybe wild boar stew, sauteed hare, or roast guinea fowl. It's great for foodies and wine-lovers, or for anyone just wanting to immerse themselves in the landscape, people and culture of Umbria.
1 review
“Unforgetable day!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have been living in Italy for 2 years and this experience has been a high light for us. Amazing views and a hard to get Italian experience. It was a great time for both adults and our children. I highly suggest not missing this!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jodi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Wild! Fantastic! Local!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had a great time, this is how to really experience local Umbrian culture and traditions. The hosts Mac and his wife are lovely and super accommodating. Great fun. Making pasta with Nona was one of the highlights of my trip

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tomas_Neal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW! An absolute MUST for your Umbrian adventure”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This by far is one of the best experiences we have had travelling, a fantastic day out in the gorgeous Pettino countryside filled with wildflowers, rolling mountains and hosted by super friendly and knowledgable couple Francesca and Mac. Best of all we were stunned by the most astoundingly delicious food and wine!

Mac guided us through the day providing just the right mix of information, history and humour as we enjoyed the excitement of truffle hunting, learned how to make pasta by hand the traditional way, found out how the family's delicous pecorino cheese is produced and then finished the day with a multi-course authentic meal made by Francesca and her family. There was plenty of time to relax, enjoy the views and good company in a festive, family atmosphere.
The wild foods were absolutely delicious, the quality of the ingredients is evident in their incredible taste and we were blown away by all the dishes, each one with a unique wild food twist - if you are a foodie this day out is not to be missed!

We were lucky enough to sample our freshly hunted truffles in scrambled eggs on the mountain side - washed down with plenty of prosecco and the family's pecorino cheese. Then later for our sit down meal we enjoyed a variety of courses including hand-reared veal-stuffed guinea fowl, wild chicory salad, truffle-stuffed pork sausages, fennel and potato mash, and of course our very own fresh pasta that we helped to make. Every dish is complimented by the family's own peppery olive oil that was a taste revalation and brought new meaning to what olive oil is all about! The local Rosso wine is also very tasty and freely poured throughout the day.

We went as a couple but other guests brought children along who looked to be having the time of their lives, mixing it up with Francesca and Mac's gregarious children Dante and Polly who enjoy playing host as much as their parents.

This is a full day trip and will leave you feeling absolutely satisfied, it is a feast for the senses and offers a taste of authentic, untouched, rustic, traditional Italian culture. Informative, fun and total relaxing bliss. We will be back!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank charlottemay777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Heights, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Rate”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Did this adventure with 2 girlfriends on our second day in Italy, and we wondered how we could possibly top that day! Highly recommend this for the food, scenery, and hospitality. If you're a foodie and enjoy learning and mingling with a local family, this cannot be beat. Highly recommend and would give it 10 stars if I could!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Authentic Umbrian experience”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Wow a truly unique and very special experience. Thanks to Mac and Francesca for their warm generous hospitality.

We recommend this for anyone looking for an authentic Umbrian experience, set in a very traditional, family based community context. The food and wine served in a traditional manner and with plenty of spirit!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Foods Italy also viewed

Castelluccio di Norcia, Province of Perugia
Campello sul Clitunno, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Wild Foods Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing