We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bella La Cardoncina!”
Review of La Cardoncina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montefalco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Cardoncina
Ranked #13 of 27 Montefalco B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Staying at La Cardoncina was a TREAT!. I think Mauro and Luisa are the best hosts in Italy! They exude wonderfully warm hospitality and go the extra mile to ensure your every need is met. Plus they have a wealth of local knowledge and since we hadn't done our homework, this was another bonus. The B & B is ideally located for day trips to the surrounding towns. We set off in the morning after a delicious breakfast which often included cakes and tarts, and returned in the evening to share a glass of wine and stories of the day. Perfect. Thank you both so much...Anna & David, New Zealand

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnolia48NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

We absolutely LOVED our stay at Cardoncina. I cannot say enough about this place.

The hosts: Mauro and Luisa are gems! They are the most welcoming and accommodating hosts I have ever stayed with. They made us feel like part of their family. We were sad to leave them and if only I could figure out a way to live at La Cardoncina, I would! They know everything about the area and pointed us in the right direction of restaurants, cantinas, and hill towns. On top of that, they made us feel like we were at home and we had such a great time drinking wine with them and enjoying their beautiful views. They went above and beyond to make our family trip special and without them, it just wouldn't have been the same. Gastone, the dog, is a wonderful host too and loves belly rubs. My family will talk about this place for years to come.

The rooms:
The rooms are beautifully decorated with local linens and have awesome architectural features like exposed beam ceilings. Our room had a small kitchen, making it an ideal place to stay for longer visits.

The grounds: They have cherry trees! We ate so many cherries I think my fingers may have stained red. They were delicious. There are also fig trees and they have their own homemade olive oil and jams. The views over the country side are incredible and you almost feel guilty looking away. The pool is sparkling and it is a wonderful place to sit and have a drink or read a book. Their breakfast room is beautiful. You really don't get an idea of how awesome it is on their website. Pictures cannot do it justice.

The surrounding area: Montefalco is the perfect base to explore the Umbria region and Montefalco itself is a really wonderful hill town that is not as touristy as some of the others. It is quiet and quaint and makes you feel like it is your own personal hill town. I loved it there.

To sum it up.....stop reading other reviews and just stay at La Cardoncina. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hugheytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We spent a weekend at this lovely B&B and it was one of our favorite stays throughout Italy. The owners are so sweet and the place is just beautiful. Our room definitely had that Italian feel but it was very charming. Breakfast was fresh and there was a lot to eat. The owners were very helpful in finding places to go wine tasting, even calling and making the reservations for us. Their dinner recommendation for good steak was spot on, so good that we are making a trip back to Monefalco to have it again. Unfortunately La Cardoncina is booked the weekend we are going... Wish we could stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k_loves_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

The Cardoncina B&B is great ! In a beautiful landscaped you will find nice and clean rooms. From the pool and its garden you can enjoy a breathtaking view, hills full of olive trees and at the background mont Subasio and city of Assisi! The empathy and simpaty of the owners (Luisa & Mauro) is been something of extremely unique ! If you are on its way don't miss the opportunity to spend a lovely stay ☼
July

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kampaBibione_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Dear Mauro and Luisa! We miss you! And Gastone (the dog)... Mille, Mille Grazie!!

We have just returned to the US after two weeks in Italy. We visited Rome, Tuscany and Venice but hands down, our favorite stop was Umbria and La Cardoncina B & B. Set on a spectacular ridge just outside Montefalco and overlooking Assisi and Spello, La Cardoncina is run by the most generous, lovely, fun, couple, Mauro and Luisa. When we landed, Mauro scooped up our bags and set them aside and Luisa invited us to have a glass of wine. They immediately brought a pitcher of wine and four glasses to their terrace where we sat for nearly 2 hours talking and getting acquainted BEFORE we got our room key. It was absolutely perfect. When we were shown to our room, it too was lovely. Roomy and comfortable with two enormous picture windows looking out to the pool area and to the Umbrian Valley. It is hard to describe the feeling of opening those shutters every morning and listening to the birds and taking in the scenery...Sublime. We were then treated to a perfect breakfast of coffee, tea, croissants, cake, rolls, orange juice, all in a newly constructed dining pavilion. Mauro is the perfect tour guide. He grew up in Foligno. They have every imaginable brochure, book and map to fill your itineraries with all kinds of adventures. The location is great for exploring Assisi, Spello, Bevagna, Montefalco (ask Mauro how it got its name), Perugia, Deruta, and Foligno. Every beautiful hill town just 30 minutes or less away. On our second night, we were invited to have dinner with the family and some other guests who had been coming for years. Our dinner started at 8 and ended at 1AM! 5 hours of stories and delicious home cooked food (THANK YOU, LUISA!!) from their kitchen garden. Yes, they grow most of the veggies themselves. When it was time to leave, it was very hard to say goodbye. These two fantastic people had become family in three too-short days. We spent the following week planning our next trip to La Cardoncina.

I don't work for them and had not met them previous to this trip but these are two truly great people. My only hesitation in writing this review is that it will now be much tougher to get a room. This place is the gem you hope to find. Long lost friends, stunning scenery, a beautiful room and a generosity of spirit that goes way beyond what you expect to find in a B & B. Bravo!!

We miss you. Can't wait for our next visit!!

Room Tip: "Occidentale" was the room we stayed in. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rcbee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This year I traveled with my wife in Italy bay car. We didn't plan exactly our route and stopovers. We found "La Cardoncina" purely by chance, looking for B&B to stay for a night. Then we stayed there for three days and returned two more times during our Italy sightseeing. Of course, Umbria is worth every day stayed there, not known as much as Tuscany or Rome, but offering the same great landscape and monuments, green hills, and is not so crowded with tourists. But this is not all. We have found in "La Cardoncina" perfectly organized B&B with with very friendly people who love their country and are ready to share their deep knowledge of their homeland with you.
Location, amenities, quality of service are very strong points comparing with other Italian B&B's. We felt we were cared like business class passengers there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pettydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaolaVico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montefalco hotels
1.4 mi away
Cardinal Girolamo di Moncelli
4.0 mi away
Bed & Breakfast San Marco
Bed & Breakfast San Marco
#2 of 27 in Montefalco
281 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tenuta Colverano
Tenuta Colverano
#6 of 27 in Montefalco
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
B&B Casa Laura
B&B Casa Laura
#3 of 27 in Montefalco
90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camiano Piccolo
Camiano Piccolo
#2 of 20 in Montefalco
209 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villa Ceccarini Fonte D'Oro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cardoncina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cardoncina

Address: Via Case Sparse 45, 06036, Montefalco, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Montefalco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Montefalco
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Cardoncina Montefalco, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing