We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Country Hotel”
Review of Villa Zuccari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Zuccari
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Montefalco
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Country Hotel”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Our favourite hotel in Italy. This is a lovely country hotel set in beautiful gardens with a very large well appointed swimming pool. We stayed here 4 nights which was ideal for experiencing Umbria. We visited most of the hill towns (Montefalco et al); spent one day on a wine tour where we visited 3 family run local cantinas, tasting some excellent wines (Gusto Wine Tours) & another day, truffle hunting in the mountains. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful in arranging our trips. The food at the hotel is very good and the display of home baked food at breakfast was excellent. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCDandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    44
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
57
187
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is a wonderful hotel just outside of Montefalco with beautiful grounds. Our room was wonderful with a lovely patio. A bountiful breakfast includes fresh home-made baked goods – baked by the matriarch of the family that owns the hotel. It is ideally situated to visit Montefalco, Bevagna, Spello and Spoleto – all great places to visit and explore - that are close by. And not far from other great places in Umbria - Todi, Assisi and Trevi. The hotel has a very fine restaurant – Il Zuppiere, featuring the cuisine and wines of Umbria. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismorrison718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville Virginia USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We spent three night here in early May. The grounds are lovely with roses everywhere. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a large room with a patio overlooking the Umbrian countryside. Unfortunately the pool was not open yet, a little chilly. The hotel is located in San Luca which is only minutes driving time to Montefalco. It is also very close to a number of vineyards. We set off each day on trips to Brevagna, Norcia, Trevi. The front desk was very helpful with driving instructions and places of interest. The owners are wonderful hosts and breakfast was outstanding especially the homemade cakes.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacknDiane40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The hotel is beautifully set in a rose garden, with views of mountains in the distance. We had a big, handsome room, separate lobby area for luggage, as fine a marble bathroom as you could wish and a private balcony overlooking the roses. The service by the owner managers is impeccable and friendly. Public spaces are attractive, filled with antiques, just like a home (which they are). Decent dinner in the restaurant, and first-rate breakfast, with excellent home-made cakes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden, with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsAmateur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
212 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This is among the finest hotels I have ever stayed in. The owners reside on site, eat in the dining room, work at meal time and walk the grounds. The wait staff is impeccable. The food is first rate. The chef will accomadate requests within reason. The grounds are beautiful. Rose bushes abound. You can get to Assisi, Spoleto, Montefalco and Spello with ease. Perugia may be a stretch. The front desk goes above and beyond to be helpful. There is a wonderful breakfast with a variety of freshly baked cakes prepared by one of the owner managers who spends her day attending to every detail. This is a deserved 5 star hotel. I would return and unequivocally recommend.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have wide balconies which face the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We first discovered Villa Zuccari in 2007 and loved it so much that we returned in 2012. It is an oasis, set amidst the vineyards, olive groves and rolling hills of Umbria. If you like peace and quiet in a scenic setting, exquisitely comfortable beds in sound-proofed rooms, delicious on-site evening meals, friendly staff who are also knowledgeable about the local sights and history, then Villa Zuccari will be a delight!

When we returned to the hotel last September, both the owners and staff (the same as five years earlier) welcomed us back with a room upgrade. Just as in 2007, they were attentive to our every need. Room service brought us a nice snack which we ate on our private terrace, overlooking the pool and mountains. The breakfast buffet, which is included, was served in a lovely room with a mountain view or outside on the adjoining balcony. We chose to eat our dinner each night at the villa and found there was enough variety to suit our tastes. Everything was delicious and the service, very personal. During the day we set out on day trips to see the sights and enjoy a mid-day meal at any number of small villages close by, some off the beaten tourist path. The staff gave us a map, directions and suggestions on what to see in the area. Included in our favorites were Bevagna, with its ancient ruins, and Norcia, a very picturesque little town to the east, nestled next to Mount Sibillini. And we also visited one of several local vineyards to purchase the red wine for which the region is famous, Sagrantino di Montefalco.

On both visits, not only were the owners and staff exceedingly friendly and helpful but we found the other guests to be engaging as well. And we discovered that we are by far not the only ones to have returned for a second, or third, stay. Other guests who were discovering this wonderful place for the first time could not stop raving about it. We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TillyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We styled three nights with our two kids aged 3 and 4. The hotel is very night, great location, friendly Staff and very very good breakfast. The only thing we disliked is the fact the our room was cold for us. We had to ask the reception desk at least 2 times a night to turn the heat on. Once they do it takes time for the heat to actually heat. In a 4 star hotel I think you should control your own room temperature with no need of the front desk. Our kids were very cold while showering..
The hotel restaurant was good with reasonable price and great service.
Overall we had a nice stay. I think if we would have travelled as a couple we wouldn't notice some of the things that made us unconfertable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montefalco
2.9 mi away
Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pambuffetti
Hotel Villa Pambuffetti
#4 of 8 in Montefalco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Degli Affreschi
Hotel Degli Affreschi
#5 of 8 in Montefalco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Oro Rosso Hotel
Oro Rosso Hotel
#3 of 8 in Montefalco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
14.8 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
2.8 mi away
Cardinal Girolamo di Moncelli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Zuccari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Zuccari

Property: Villa Zuccari
Address: Localita San Luca, 06036, Montefalco, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Montefalco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Montefalco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Zuccari 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the vineyards of Montefalco, Villa Zuccari Montefalco promises privacy and tranquility in the rolling hills of Umbria. This distinguished estate, family-owned since the late 16th century, features airy accommodations that capture its authentic countryside elegance. Meticulously landscaped grounds entice with magnolias, palms and ancient cypress trees, while the outdoor pool is ideal for lounging on sun-soaked days. Come evening, savor fine Italian wines and delicious traditional fare at the house restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Zuccari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Zuccari Hotel Montefalco
Zuccari Hotel Montefalco
Villa Zuccari Montefalco, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing