We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family lunch”

Ristorante Coccorone
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Montefalco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$34 - US$80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent family lunch”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had the most amazing lunch at this restaurant today. The particular highlight was the Chianina beef, cooked to perfection over the wood fire. This was literally one of the best steaks we have ever had and great value for money - the only steaks we have had previously which came anywhere near in quality cost twice as much! Honourable mention also goes to the excellent Sagrantino wine which was recommended to us and the immense desserts which were fabulous. So often in Italy dessert can be something of an afterthought but not here. The restaurant is beautiful and the staff very friendly, and both Walter and our waitress made a real fuss of our baby boy despite him being a little grumpy towards the end of the meal! Thank you for a lovely meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,129
    398
    79
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch at Coccorone - 2005”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My friend Lidia Bastianich told me that when we were traveling through Umbria, we should have a meal in Montefalco and specifically at Coccorone.
We were not disapointed.
The liberal use of the fabulous local Sagrantino wine in the dishes and in the glasses, made for a great afternoon. We were the only table in use for lunch that day.
We had great service and will return the next time we are in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clove17402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No better Chianina beef in all of Italy”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We tasted a lot of Chianina beef in our three week trip around Italy and Coccocorone was by
far the most outstanding. When they say they cook it on a wood fire, it is right there for you to see. You can even pick your own piece of beef and the size you would like to indulge in. We tasted Chianina right on the farm where they are raised and it did not hold a candle to Coccorone! They have many delicious appeitizers, fresh salads, fresh vegetables, pasta and seconds.

We sat on the patio and enjoyed our wine and espresso/cappuccino and were never pushed or rushed to give up our table. Service was excellent, always responsive and helpful. Most people in the restaurant were local and made us feel we were part of the group.

They have no problem with guests sharing one meal, and they have an excellent selection of
wines from Montefalco and they are delicious. It was one of our favorite restaurants and we will be back to have some more Chianina beef on our next trip to Italy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snubby97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Last night dinner.”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Wonderful in all aspects. The walk to the hotel in this historic city was beautiful, the ambiance on entering was right out of the movies. The service, recommendations, wine and food were all 5 star, and just appropriate for our last night in Umbria. If you are in this area, this is a restaurant you should not miss. All courses, which were the waiters recommendations, ending with the 1 kg t bone were unforgettable

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foligno, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Best chianina steak ever!!!!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I was there for dinner the night of February 24th and took my French friends/customers Bradley, Jean-Luc and Marc...
We had an amazing dinner: we started with Pappardelle al Sagrantino (fantastic!) and then we all shared the Chianina Steak (the best ever!); dessert and wine of course....
Excellent food, very nice service...definitely I must come back more often!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gianluca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Coccorone also viewed

Montefalco, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante Coccorone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing