We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the Third time”
Review of Camiano Piccolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camiano Piccolo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have stayed her now for the 3rd year in a row. It is a beautiful place to stay and a short uphill walk to the town center. I loved it to walk with my youngest daughter to the center in the morning to pick up a newspaper and walk back for breakfast.The owners are very friendly and you can ask them anything. If they can, they will make it happen. The rooms are a bit old and the cleanliness could be better. Rooms are being cleaned every morning and towels changed if you want, but the cleaning concentrates mainly to the bathroom and making up the beds. When you than look into the corners of the room, you can still see the spiderwebs and also under the furniture. That's why I rated very good instead of excellent.
The restaurant is good and if you book half board you can take your meal also at noon instead of the evening.Very helpfull if you want to visit a city by night and you don't have to return for dinner. The breakfast is very good for Italy and if you like you can also get eggs.
Montefalco is a very nice town with lots of activity in the evening. It is also good located to visit cities in the area: Assisi, Spello, Perugia, Spoleto, Todi, Orvieto, Cascata di marmore, Norcia, Visso, Castelluccio, Citta di castello, Casteglione del lago,...
Unfortunatelly after 3 years we have seen it all (several times) and it is time to explore different regions. But we will certainly come back here again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John3000_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here three nights on the recommendation of our hiking tour manager from ATG
Oxford - and she was right! This rates 5 for its overall pleasant atmosphere.
Most visitors (a good mix of German, Dutch, English, French) arrive by car. We came from Spoleto by bus (no problem), and then Giuseppe was happy to pick us up (with luggage) from the bus station about 1.5km across the other side of the (hilltop) town.
The Agriturismo is about 800m downhill on a country road from the nearest town gate - we didn't mind the walk.
Because this is a real farm, you might get the odd mosquito or fly, and we also found the WiFi signal patchy in the more distant rooms, but good near the office or dining room. These were very minor issues.
Piero, Giuseppe's father, was a very charming waiter for the two evening meals we had on site. Giuseppe cooks, and it's very pleasant, but rustic rather than haute cuisine. Breakfasts are also good, with fresh eggs if you want.
Montefalco itself is very worthwhile - I think it benefits from not being on the main road or the railway line, but it's full of interest, with good wine bars, cafés, restaurants and interesting shops, and Camiano Piccolo is a great base for exploring tho town and the surrounding region.
We'd go back in a flash!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed here last week, our room was comfortable, cool and despite the heat we didnt need the a/c at night. I think it had formerly been an agricultural building so it had very thick walls.
This is a really tremendous agriturismo, very much family owned and operated by Giuseppe and his family who really do make an effort to ensure that you enjoy your stay.
There is plenty of space - it joins on to the olive groves and there is an outdoor seating area and a very nice pool area.
It is 10-15 minutes up to the main town of Montefalcoa which has good restaurants and we made the trip a couple of times, though most of the time we were very happy to eat at Camiano Piccolo itself. Normally we would sit outside with a great view, excellent food and a bottle of local wine.
The agritourismo is very conveniently placed for visiting the local area, we managed Assisi, Bevagna, Spello, Spolleto and Orvieto in the week.
We could not recommend this spot more highly and a good number of our fellow guests seemed to have been there many times.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The agritourismo is at the top of a hill, with great views of the valley beneath. We are two 50 year old travellers with a 13 year old son, and stayed here for 4 nights. We had booked a "room", and was shown a typical Italian room for 3 - queen bed, plus single bed. Not huge, and quite dark. I asked about rooms with kitchens, as I had read about these on the web. We were then shown a room with a large kitchen/diner, huge bedroom & huge bathroom. I asked about the price difference, and was told that as it wasn't being used we could have it for the same price! Highly recommend getting the rooms with kitchens - much more spacious.

The place itself is wonderful - quiet, lots of outside space to either mix with other people or sit alone. Very generous hosts (we asked about their coffee, and they just gave us a free box!). Someone mentioned the beds were hard - we travelled around Italy for 3 weeks and ALL the beds are hard - these were actually one of the softer ones!

Breakfast was more generous than anywhere else we stayed. In Italy, breakfast is usually a croissant and coffee. Here, you are offered a variety of pastries/breads/cakes, yoghurt, juice, & scrambled eggs and bacon.

We stayed in another agrotourismo later, and that was also good. Recommend them as some of the better value places to stay in Italy.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a room with a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BekenCowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I stayed here for a week from 26 May 13, booked through Living Italy (based in Foligno) as part of a week's "Italian Appetites" tour. The location is just lovely, very peaceful and only a 10 min walk uphill to the historic centre of Montefalco, the views are to die for and well worth the exertion. Every meal Giuseppe made was delicious and I always had room for the desserts on offer, not to mention his Father who was very attentive with serving, especially their own Sagrantino local wine. The room was very comfortable and clean. Unfortunately there was abit of an unseasonable cold snap that week so I didn't manage to have a swim but the pool looked lovely and clean. This was my first stay in a family run Agriturismo and I will definitely do this again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We had already booked at a bed and breakfast when we happened to find camiano piccolo. What a beautiful place with the most amazing views. We had dinner there one night and the entire meal was amazing. This is a family run business and what warm & friendly people. they do speak some English which was helpful. They gave us a tour of the rooms and one was more beautiful than the other. Within walking distance to Montefalco a nice little town with restaurants and quaint shops. A close drive to the town of Assisi also beautiful.
We are looking to stay there the nex time we visit Italy in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Napolola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I stayed in the Camiano Piccolo for five days while a participant in a guided hiking tour of Umbria arranged by a large, well-known USA-based travel company. This is an "agriturismo"--part of a working farm adjacent to the hilltop town of Montefalco; it should not be confused with a hotel. The choice of accommodations was the tour company's, not mine, but I was not disappointed with the selection. The staff (i.e., the owner and his family) was exceedingly gracious, humble, friendly, and helpful. The rooms--contained in several buildings around the property--were large, well-equipped, and very clean. A few intrusive mosquitoes found their way into the room when we left the front door open too long, but this was only a minor annoyance. Not expecting to find any English-speaking channels on the television, I never even turned it on to check! The attached dining room served up a breakfast buffet with a reasonable selection of all the basics. And because our tour group arranged to have dinner on-site each evening, we became accustomed to an array of wonderfully prepared multi-course gourmet dinners highlighting Umbrian-Tuscan cuisine, with chef duties performed skillfully by one of the family member-owners. The availability of free Wi-Fi was a bonus, but the wonders of Umbria in every direction left little time or need for an internet connection. While Montefalco may not be a final destination for most visitors to Umbria (although it is a fine, historic town in its own right), it can serve as a convenient hub for day trips to other Umbrian venues. If an Umbrian holiday is in your future, Montefalco would be a convenient "base of operations;" and if that is your choice, the Camiano Piccolo agriturismo should be among your top alternatives.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gorbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montefalco
21.6 mi away
Hotel La Meridiana
Hotel La Meridiana
#21 of 65 in Perugia
1,011 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa Zuccari
Villa Zuccari
#1 of 8 in Montefalco
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Degli Affreschi
Hotel Degli Affreschi
#5 of 8 in Montefalco
281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Pambuffetti
Hotel Villa Pambuffetti
#4 of 8 in Montefalco
165 reviews
2.9 mi away
Agriturismo Il Borghetto
Agriturismo Il Borghetto
#3 of 20 in Montefalco
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camiano Piccolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camiano Piccolo

Address: Via Camiano Piccolo 5, 06036, Montefalco, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Montefalco
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Montefalco
Price Range: £83 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camiano Piccolo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AGRITURISMO CAMIANO PICCOLO is situated in a historic country hamlet in the council area of Montefalco. The estate is immeresed in a characheristic Umbrian landscape of olive trees and vineygards and at 450m. above sea level , it offers a stunning panorama of the valley streching from Spoleto to Perugia.All rooms can be adapted to either double or twin share and all have private bathrooms and colour TV-Sat, Air conditioning, Fridge and Phon. Accommodation is available either as bed and breakfast (BB) or half board (HB). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Camiano Piccolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camiano Piccolo Montefalco, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing