We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place”
Review of Camiano Piccolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camiano Piccolo
Certificate of Excellence
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful place”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We recently spent 5 nights at this wonderful place. The location is great, overlooking the valley and mountains with a fabulous terrace fitted with tables, chairs and umbrellas. The food was bountiful and very tasty. We had very attentive service and no problems at all, the staff and family were very warm, and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    53
    14
    1
    7
See reviews for
49
91
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in many agritorismo's in Italy. My husband, myself and children. I was surprised to have experienced really unwelcoming service. We had to keep requesting simple things during meals like, " could we have more water please?" Also at the weekends end they tacked on more to the bill. The package we bought included water, wine and coffee in the price of the weekend with 2 meals per day and then they charged us again for all of that upon check out. This was the worst agritorismo we have experienced and the most expensive! There were so many other places we could have gone and got so much more. Even better location!
It had little to do, but what they did offer was a pool. It was ice cold!
We stayed with 4 other families and so we toured all of their rooms as well. The rooms layouts didn't seem to make sense, one worse than the other. Some were not clean and one of our friends had the hardware fly from the wall during a shower.
The Mosquitos were out of control there.
The wine was good but at least that to make up for the unfriendliness the family owners exuded.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We travel to Italy twice a year, and I stayed here for 3 days with my family and it was the worst agriturismo I have ever been! The room was very dirty, maybe it was swept but definetely not mopped before we checked in. The shower was moldy. The cheap swimming pool was full of mold and very cold water. The service was poor. The food was very average. We had the feeling that they just didn't appreciate having us there, and instead of being guests we were a burden. They didn't understand the business of being hospitable. The grounds, rooms, and over-all complex is very neglected with old furniture thrown there with no logic, let alone taste. And to top it all, at check out they added a "beverage" fee for water, coffee, and wine even though they were supposed to be included in the "mezza pensione" meal plan we had bought. I should have refused and called the police.
Don't commit to a room before seeing it, don't pay before arriving. You will be greatly disappointed!!!
There are many other better and cheaper places in the area!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarMa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maaseik, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have stayed her now for the 3rd year in a row. It is a beautiful place to stay and a short uphill walk to the town center. I loved it to walk with my youngest daughter to the center in the morning to pick up a newspaper and walk back for breakfast.The owners are very friendly and you can ask them anything. If they can, they will make it happen. The rooms are a bit old and the cleanliness could be better. Rooms are being cleaned every morning and towels changed if you want, but the cleaning concentrates mainly to the bathroom and making up the beds. When you than look into the corners of the room, you can still see the spiderwebs and also under the furniture. That's why I rated very good instead of excellent.
The restaurant is good and if you book half board you can take your meal also at noon instead of the evening.Very helpfull if you want to visit a city by night and you don't have to return for dinner. The breakfast is very good for Italy and if you like you can also get eggs.
Montefalco is a very nice town with lots of activity in the evening. It is also good located to visit cities in the area: Assisi, Spello, Perugia, Spoleto, Todi, Orvieto, Cascata di marmore, Norcia, Visso, Castelluccio, Citta di castello, Casteglione del lago,...
Unfortunatelly after 3 years we have seen it all (several times) and it is time to explore different regions. But we will certainly come back here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John3000_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here three nights on the recommendation of our hiking tour manager from ATG
Oxford - and she was right! This rates 5 for its overall pleasant atmosphere.
Most visitors (a good mix of German, Dutch, English, French) arrive by car. We came from Spoleto by bus (no problem), and then Giuseppe was happy to pick us up (with luggage) from the bus station about 1.5km across the other side of the (hilltop) town.
The Agriturismo is about 800m downhill on a country road from the nearest town gate - we didn't mind the walk.
Because this is a real farm, you might get the odd mosquito or fly, and we also found the WiFi signal patchy in the more distant rooms, but good near the office or dining room. These were very minor issues.
Piero, Giuseppe's father, was a very charming waiter for the two evening meals we had on site. Giuseppe cooks, and it's very pleasant, but rustic rather than haute cuisine. Breakfasts are also good, with fresh eggs if you want.
Montefalco itself is very worthwhile - I think it benefits from not being on the main road or the railway line, but it's full of interest, with good wine bars, cafés, restaurants and interesting shops, and Camiano Piccolo is a great base for exploring tho town and the surrounding region.
We'd go back in a flash!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed here last week, our room was comfortable, cool and despite the heat we didnt need the a/c at night. I think it had formerly been an agricultural building so it had very thick walls.
This is a really tremendous agriturismo, very much family owned and operated by Giuseppe and his family who really do make an effort to ensure that you enjoy your stay.
There is plenty of space - it joins on to the olive groves and there is an outdoor seating area and a very nice pool area.
It is 10-15 minutes up to the main town of Montefalcoa which has good restaurants and we made the trip a couple of times, though most of the time we were very happy to eat at Camiano Piccolo itself. Normally we would sit outside with a great view, excellent food and a bottle of local wine.
The agritourismo is very conveniently placed for visiting the local area, we managed Assisi, Bevagna, Spello, Spolleto and Orvieto in the week.
We could not recommend this spot more highly and a good number of our fellow guests seemed to have been there many times.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The agritourismo is at the top of a hill, with great views of the valley beneath. We are two 50 year old travellers with a 13 year old son, and stayed here for 4 nights. We had booked a "room", and was shown a typical Italian room for 3 - queen bed, plus single bed. Not huge, and quite dark. I asked about rooms with kitchens, as I had read about these on the web. We were then shown a room with a large kitchen/diner, huge bedroom & huge bathroom. I asked about the price difference, and was told that as it wasn't being used we could have it for the same price! Highly recommend getting the rooms with kitchens - much more spacious.

The place itself is wonderful - quiet, lots of outside space to either mix with other people or sit alone. Very generous hosts (we asked about their coffee, and they just gave us a free box!). Someone mentioned the beds were hard - we travelled around Italy for 3 weeks and ALL the beds are hard - these were actually one of the softer ones!

Breakfast was more generous than anywhere else we stayed. In Italy, breakfast is usually a croissant and coffee. Here, you are offered a variety of pastries/breads/cakes, yoghurt, juice, & scrambled eggs and bacon.

We stayed in another agrotourismo later, and that was also good. Recommend them as some of the better value places to stay in Italy.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a room with a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BekenCowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montefalco
2.5 mi away
Villa Zuccari
Villa Zuccari
#1 of 8 in Montefalco
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Degli Affreschi
Hotel Degli Affreschi
#5 of 8 in Montefalco
275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Pambuffetti
Hotel Villa Pambuffetti
#4 of 8 in Montefalco
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
Residenza Porta Guelfa
Residenza Porta Guelfa
#1 of 8 in Bevagna
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oro Rosso Hotel
Oro Rosso Hotel
#3 of 8 in Montefalco
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camiano Piccolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camiano Piccolo

Property: Camiano Piccolo
Address: Via Camiano Piccolo 5, 06036, Montefalco, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Montefalco
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Montefalco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Camiano Piccolo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AGRITURISMO CAMIANO PICCOLO is situated in a historic country hamlet in the council area of Montefalco. The estate is immeresed in a characheristic Umbrian landscape of olive trees and vineygards and at 450m. above sea level , it offers a stunning panorama of the valley streching from Spoleto to Perugia.All rooms can be adapted to either double or twin share and all have private bathrooms and colour TV-Sat, Air conditioning, Fridge and Phon. Accommodation is available either as bed and breakfast (BB) or half board (HB). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Camiano Piccolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camiano Piccolo Montefalco, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing