We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant holiday.”
Review of Hotel Valverde

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gressoney-la-Trinite
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Valverde
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This two week break was our first "Chalet" holiday and what an absolute joy it turned out to be.

Firstly.....the village itself is beautifully quaint and although being small has quite a few different shops and eateries to keep everyone happy. The river flowing through the village centre starts at the top of the valley and travels alongside the sometimes twisty road right to the valley bottom...and probably further. Travelling by local busses is very good value enabling access to other lifts are quick and cheap.

The hotel itself was more than adequate (positioned in exactly the perfect place to hop onto the chairlift a few metres away) but would benefit greatly from a lick of paint. The rooms were rather on the small side but were kept spotlessly clean by the brilliant team of chalet girls....very good showers too. The varandah at the front of the hotel was sometimes a handy place to shelter from the occasional rain shower/thunderstorm. The spa was another place (free of charge) to while away some time and I'm sure I left a "couple" of pounds there with my regular visits. There is little to look at from the rooms positioned at the rear of the hotel with large fir trees just a couple of metres away (balcony rooms at the front are not always booked....try asking. You might get lucky!).

Fantastic food from the young chef and his team.
Starting with breakfast (which always included a hot option) followed by a packed lunch, freshly baked cake at 4-00pm, aperitifs at 7-15pm and an excellent dinner with plenty of options to choose from, before finishing with cheese and biscuits...if you still had room.
Could not find fault with any of the chefs dishes and they were accompanied with some fine Italian wine.

Moving on to the staff....only one word needed to sum them all up.....FANTASTIC. A great set of girls who excelled at their work and sure liked to party on Tuesday evenings. Thanks again girls.

A walkers haven with a whole range of walks to satisfy all grades of ability and vistas to blow your mind. Mountains in all directions with some of the best meadows we have ever seen. I'll just make a note to any future birdwatchers of some (not all) of the birds we saw...nutcrackers,black redstarts,redstarts,red-backed shrike,black woodpecker,serin,crested tits and black eared wheatear to name a few. Hope that may help someone.

All in all....an excellent holiday. Good weather one week, not so good the next.

Brilliant staff and food...amazing scenery and walks.

Would we go again?....Definitely...but would have a balcony.

Room Tip: Try to obtain a balcony room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank casbar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

the hotel is staffed by Ingham's own staff and run as a chalet hotel this summer season. Good value for money. Basic but clean en suite rooms, free packed lunch hot option for breakfast , choice of 3 main courses for dinner, inclusive aperitifs and wine 6 nights a week. Only bookable via Inghams. Lifts in the valley get you from hotel height 1832m up tp 2,200 m and above in minutes. Weather this season very mixed but a good location beneath the Monte Rosa massif.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank geoffviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Having just returned from an excellent walking holiday in the Gressoney valley, I have to write and recommend this hotel and it's staff. Reassured by Hotel Manager, Michaela, at our welcome meeting that she wanted to make our holiday the best we could hope for, she and her friendly team didn't disappoint. Despite walking for many hours each day, the excellent food and service meant that I actually put on weight during the week! The wine just kept flowing, the meals were of a high standard and the company of our fellow guests was pleasurable.

As for the location, it was picture perfect and everything you could imagine in Alpine scenery. The views can only be described as breathtaking. With the wild flowers, trees and snow-capped peaks it is a wonder why anyone would wait until it is covered with snow to visit.

Some of the walks are a little challenging and can occasionally take you close to the edge of a steep drop! A strong nerve is required to get the rewarding views. Having said that, my husband and I, who had never done a walking holiday before, managed perfectly well. The guide books provide good descriptions of each walk, which are also graded 'T' (easy) 'E' ( moderate) and EE (difficult).

All the walks we undertook had something to praise, although I would advise that 10 is a steep and relentless climb all the way and not for the faint- hearted. The green lake is not worth the walk, but if you persevere the blue lake a little further on is much better. The Walser walk was really lovely and one I would recommend.

Thanks to the Inghams staff and our fellow guests for making our holiday a wonderful experience

Room Tip: If you have a room at the back of the hotel (202) be prepared to be woken early each morning by a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Gressoney was lovely and unspoiled but for us seniors the walking was hard
We went on this holiday with Ingham's having booked in November. Unlike Dennis we did not book a balcony as going at this time of the year we have previously found that the weather is unreliable (as it was last week). However the hotel did have a very nice veranda.
We were pleasantly surprised to be met at Gatwick check in by Steve who kindly escorted us through the fast track check in
We had a lovely holiday in The Hotel Valverde from 5th to 12th July and I can endorse all of the previous comments about the hotel made by Dennis and Alan.
I would add that one of the best things about the holiday was the friendliness of all of the other guests staying at The Valverde. This was exceptional.
SO WHAT DID WE DO
We arrived Saturday evening.
Sunday we went for a walk with Ricky-Lee, the Ingham's rep. along the river and, through meadows of wonderful wild flowers to Gressoney-St-Jean.
Monday we took the hotel shuttle to Steffal and from there took the Gondola to Gabiet. We had intended to walk round the lake and then down to the hotel but we found that because of rock falls it was too dangerous for us to proceed so we retraced our steps and took the Gondola down and from Steffal walked back to the hotel in a thunder storm
On track 9A. This took us 1hr 20 mins.
On Tuesday it rained all day. We took the bus to Tscemenoal and then proceeded along a track named 'The Queen's Walk (no 15). to Castle Savoia. This was a good choice as we were partially sheltered by trees. We had a good English-speaking guide and the visit was most interesting. We walked back along the same track but vied off to visit the small and pretty Lac Gover in Gressoney-St-Jean then took the bus back to Gressoney-La-Trinite.
On Wednesday, we took the bus to Port-St-Martin, which is at the bottom of the valley and from there took the train from platform 2, buying our tickets from the ticket collector on the train going to Aosta. Aosta is a very good and interesting city with lots of lovely buildings and churches to see and was not at all crowded and we enjoyed our visit immensely. Returning by the train my husband bought our tickets from the office on the station. The ticket collector boarded the train prior to its start and said that 'our tickets must be validated by the machine on the platform'. He kindly showed my husband to the machine and explained that failure to do this would have resulted in a fine.
On Thursday we again took the hotel taxi to Steffal and gondola to Gabiet intending to walk to The Blue Lake We managed to walk on a steep path to The Green Lake but then lost the markers and so returned. We were later told that these were covered by snow and like us quite a few people from the hotel returned at this point. We again walked back to Gressoney through the glorious flower meadows.
ON Friday we again took the hotel taxi to Steffal then the Gondola to St Anna. We walked to the lovely chapel to take photo's then up to the Refugio Stiffen for beer and coffee and to eat our packed lunch with wonderful views of the Glacier and The Monte Rosa covered by snow. We walked back down by the service road and bussed back.
We left on Saturday. The Chair- lift next to the hotel opened in the morning which we found annoying as this would have been great to use the previous week.
As you see there was plenty to do, with many exciting walks and climbs for younger walkers. The trip to Turin was cancelled due to insufficient numbers

Room Tip: Room 11 was at the end of the corridor on the first fool and quiet but quite cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Valverde. During this summer it is being operated as a chalet hotel by Inghams. This was our first stay in a chalet hotel but will not be our last.

We were fortunate in that we booked early and managed to get one of the few rooms (109) with both a bath and a balcony. The room was light and airy and comfortable. The area outside the hotel is quiet in the evening so we didn't get any disturbance from noise.

The hotel bar/lounge and dining room are on the ground floor. The lounge has a seating area with tables (packs of cards on them!) and a seating area with comfy chairs and sofas. Tea and coffee is always available for you to make yourself and between 4pm and 5pm cakes are served.
At 7.15pm an aperitif and canapés are served in the lounge before going into the restaurant for dinner at 7.45pm. We found the lounge a pleasant, relaxing area where we could chat with our fellow guests.

The meals were very good, three courses with choices taken in the morning. The food is well presented and tasty. Wednesday night is staff day off so you have to go out to a local restaurant to eat. Friday night is barbeque night. There is a plentiful amount of wine served with a choice of red, white or rose. The dining room can get noisy with everyone chatting away, the quietest table is one in the far corner. Breakfast is also served in the restaurant, starting at 7.30 am and there is usually a hot choice on offer to supplement, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, rolls, ham and cheese etc.

The hotel is run by Michela and Rachel and they have made it an informal and friendly place to stay. The girls that wait on and do the housework are very helpful and friendly.

The Gressoney valley is an excellent walking area for hard walks as there are some steep paths. The village is very quite and it was nice to return from our walks to this warm and friendly hotel.

After our experience at the Valverde we would recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: There is a limited number of rooms with balcony, bath etc. If these are important then you will nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Set in the Gressoney valley near Mount Rosa the situation is very picturesque. My wife and I were there on a package holiday which included breakfast, a packed lunch, tea, coffee and cake at 4pm , aperitif and canapes at 7.15pm and evening meal at 7.45pm. The food was excellent throughout . The staff are extremely helpful and pleasant and have time for a friendly chat with the guests. The only drawback is that the area does not have any activities for the older and less athletic visitors.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alan-Cooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I really wasn't expecting to have such a brilliant holiday. The hotel itself is not fancy, but very functional, which is brilliant for skiing with children. The Esprit staff is outstanding, they look after the children and the parents so well. The food was very nice even though not necessarily Italian. Overall I could not fault Esprit and the choice of hotel and skiing resort was perfect. Skiing in Italy is a breath of fresh air, compared with congested French pistes...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Aurelie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gressoney-la-Trinite hotels
2 mi away
Ellex Hotel
Ellex Hotel
#3 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
#2 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
337 reviews
0.7 mi away
HOTEL LYSJOCH
HOTEL LYSJOCH
#9 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Monboso - TH Resorts
Hotel Monboso - TH Resorts
#6 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
168 reviews
0 mi away
Romantik Hotel Jolanda Sport
Romantik Hotel Jolanda Sport
#1 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
411 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Nordend
Hotel Nordend
#7 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valverde

Address: Condominio Jolanda SNC, 11020 Gressoney-la-Trinite, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Gressoney-la-Trinite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Gressoney-la-Trinite
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Valverde 3*
Number of rooms: 282

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing