We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!!!”
Review of Hotel Dufour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Dufour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Great modern and large hotel room. Classic on the outside and modern bedrooms with a touch of outdoors decor. The staff was super friendly as well as the owners who were very nice and spend time chatting with you. They are very helpful as well. We loved our bathrooms, bedding and view. The breakfastvwasngreat and the dinner was great as well. We highly recommend staying here when you visit Gressoney!!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank The_Viaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dufour
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

I have never written a review before. The Dufour prompted me to do so. I spent 15 days there in March and could happily have spent another 50 (except I would have become really fat). I stay in hotels a lot on business and skiing and generally they are a bit soul-less. Some give the impression that you are a pain. The staff of the Dufour were incredibly friendly and helpful even when they found you doing something stupid, big smiles whatever the guests were up to. Really can't say enough about the staff or the food. The food was really enjoyable and plentiful. Other reviews gave it 5 stars, have to agree, I like plain food, my partner likes fancy food, we both loved it.
Close to lift, much quieter than Staffal. The ski area speaks for itself, fantastic off-piste from the lifts or short ( plus some not so short!) skinning/hike. The pistes were a bonus, well kept and extensive. Only shared a lift or cabin on weekends. The other reviews cover Gressoney itself. Third time here, first time at the Dufour hotel thanks to booking on a Mountain Tracks course. Will be back.
Alan and Tracy

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapeTownTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Just returned from a week"s stay at the Dufour.

Rooms are basic but they are kept very clean. Staff are extremely kind, always smiling and the majority speak good English.

Food is excellent and worthy of a 5* rating. Breakfast was continental with hot options each day. Unusual for Italy. Dinner started witth a salad buffet then a choice of 3 starters and 4 main courses. Some main examples are roast quail, guinea fowl and sea bass. If that wasn't sufficient finally deserts. Another plus point is that choices are made on the night not the day before as with other hotels. One slight negative is that there is no house wine with the cheapest red at 20 euros and white at 22 euros.

Comfy bar area at the side of the bar and another in the basement with a real log fire Also in the basement is a heated boot room.

Hotel was being updated during our stay and sauna wasn't available.

Punta Jolanda 2 man chairlift next door takes you up to a fairly steep red run.

Will be staying here again!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woody029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

Excellent all rounder!
Really good three star hotel in a great position near to the Punta Jolanda chair lift. Fabulous staff always with a smile and always ready to help in any way possible. Rooms are warm, beds are comfortable. Very good food with a great choice. Also very good breakfasts with cooked option which is unusual in Italy.
The hotel is gradually being updated, there are lovely spacious new rooms on the top floor but these don't currently get Wifi so you should specify that you need the service and they will make sure you have a room which gets a good signal, the reception area has been updated as has the outside and the current photos don't do the place justice.

There is little to do in Gressoney après ski but the hotel has a few games and cards available in the lounge. I have also spotted a pool table, and I believe next year a sauna will be installed. They do offer authentic Thai massages ( the chambermaids are Thai).
This is a good value hotel that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillmkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We have spent one week at Hotel Dufour, and the service has been absolutely fantastic!

The hotel in itself is situated next to the slopes, and it is clean and beautiful. Breakfast and dinner is really something to look forward too, we chose from a various of home made dishes, and everything tasted amazing! Everyday you meet happy people working at the hotel, and you just want to smile back all the time!



Thank you hotel Dufour for making this a fantastic holiday for us!





Kind regards

Irene Johansen, (Norway)

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mikto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed as a group of 5 skiers at the Dufour. We all found the hotel perfect for our requirements. The ski lift is a minutes walk away. The rooms are small and are not of brand new decor, however, they are clean and warm.
Ski store facilities are great, but the best bit is the food. They serve a good choice of something to suit everyone on the 'Table d'hote' menu.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StewandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

What a great little hotel. 7 of us travelled with Inghams on a ski package. A new destination for Inghams and a surprise to find such a uncommercial ski area and great hotel being used by a large tour operator.

The hotel is next to a chair lift for quick access to the skiing and although it isnt flashy in any way, it is clean, with large rooms (we had a super king bed) and the public rooms are well decorated with plenty of room for all guests as there were several lounge areas and a games room as well.

A well stocked bar and a great barman were a bonus but the highlight was the evening meal. Wow.. for a 3 star hotel the food was top quality. Antipasti, primi, secondi and desert every night with a choice of 3 or 4 of each. Everything fresh and totally different choice every night.

The only minor critisism I could find was that the bedroom was quite "old fashioned", the pillows too hard for my liking, and the shower cubicle was small. However, as Ive already said the room was kept very clean, was large and had plenty of wardrobe space and I was perfectly happy with it. Ive done lots of skiing holidays in tiny rooms and would take this room any day!

We stayed 1/2 board and there is a great little bar/cafe next door for lunch or an evening drink.
All in all, a great hotel that I wish I could pick up and take with me to the next ski resort we go to. Well done Inghams and the Dufour - I hope it doesnt change as we will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gressoney-la-Trinite hotels
0.0 mi away
Romantik Hotel Jolanda Sport
Romantik Hotel Jolanda Sport
#1 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
#2 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
325 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ellex Hotel
Ellex Hotel
#3 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chalet du Lys
Chalet du Lys
#5 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
319 reviews
0.7 mi away
HOTEL LYSJOCH
HOTEL LYSJOCH
#9 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
37 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Nordend
Hotel Nordend
#7 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dufour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dufour

Address: Loc. Edelboden Superiore, 11020 Gressoney-la-Trinite, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Gressoney-la-Trinite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Gressoney-la-Trinite
Price Range: £112 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dufour 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated in the village, just 200 meters from the center, and the departure of the Punta Jolanda chairlift. From here the most beautiful piste linked to the Monterosa-ski resort. We have an excellent restaurant. The chef offers typical dishes of Aosta and Italian culinary tradition. We have a new SPA of the top of the hotel in order to offer to our guests a relaxing afterski. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dufour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing