We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“although traffic noise not a bad location”
Review of Porto del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto del Sol
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“although traffic noise not a bad location”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

our apartment was for myself and my husband, we had the end room which was very roomy. there was 2 balconies (which did over look the busy road) overlooking the bay. a large living/kitchen and a single bed.
we had no problem with the hot water once we realised it was heated from an imersion heater. there was a big ceiling fan in each room which cooled the room.
although the road was the main road to the ferry the traffic was not too bad. in the week we were there we never heard a fire engine at all.
If you are looking for a place with night life then this is not for you. we liked it here as it was quiet but could get plenty buses from across the road to other resorts.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueanddave0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    33
    15
    7
    10
See reviews for
8
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

first of all the room was quite large and the view is very nice, fairly clean but a little rundown.
The room was cleaned once the week we were there but it wasnt a problem.
thats the good points out of the way, ok very very noisy, traffic thundering past all hours of the day and night, only way to sleep was with earplugs and it was impossible to open the windows.
Tiniest bath i have ever seen in my life, the water is controlled from an immersion heater and this soon runs cold even if you have the heater on all night.
No tv or radio but not a major problem as we took our laptops etc.
No heating at all, we were there in Febuary and it was freezing until we switched all the rings on the electric oven and left it on.
The area itself is ok, theres not much to do just a couple of pubs and restaurants, the area itself is a bit tatty but at the price we paid we couldnt really complain.
If you want a no frills basic place to stay for a few days go for it but for a few quid more you could get a nice place that isnt so noisy

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smogmonsterxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Never ever stay here! I stayed at this hotel with my best friend for her birthday. The room was a very good size, however there was no air-con therefore the room was actually hotter than outside!! Furthermore there is a main road right out side of the rooms with a fire station up the road, so there is constant traffic especially with the sirens and extremely noisy buses. There was a huge rip in the curtain, the bead sheets where ripped, there was no hot water and also the toilet didn't flush properly.
When I mentioned this to the receptionist (who was only there between 12 and 4pm) she started screaming at me saying that the road and air-con was mentioned on the website, it most certainly was NOT!
I couldn't cope anymore after two nights and moved to a hotel in Ramala Bay, so much nicer! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

Room Tip: Research, research, research. Also don't necessarily go for the cheapest first, theres always a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Myself and 8 mates went to Malta in July we stayed here and the hotel up the road by the pool...
Get what you pay for..
Rooms were big advertise that it takes 4 but easily squeeze six in, 1 room with a double bed, Room with 2 singles and sitting room can take for 2...
Bathroom wasnt the best but did the job.
Very quiet area advertise that your in St Pauls Bay but your just outside it.. Rooms Have beautiful views across the bay that are breathtaking when the suns rising normally about half 6.....
Has a range of ages from young to old staying..
We didnt eat in the hotel but theirs two places Id recommend the pizza palour you pass on arrival aprox 2 mins from hotel and Restraunt beside it that has stairs cant remember the name but its lovely and well worth your money
POOLS for every1.. soo no stress that their none with the hotel... Owned by a man name Brian he also owns the Porto Fino Bar, He made our stay most enjoyable for his sense of humour and overall personality
Drinks cheap..
I would also recommend the Captin Morgan Spirt of Malta cruize for 56euro open bar and lunch you cant complain as it offers you the Chance to soak in Malta beauty seeing many Bays,Gozo and also Blue Lagoon that was amazing its a full day out and worth your money
Overall our stay was great and will be revisiting in the near future

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amywhite54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We enjoyed our short holiday to Malta. The Rooms here are clean and bright and airy. It was great to wake up each morning to such amazing views. A bus stop is conveniently located just across the road so we were able to travel around the island very easily.

We often dined at the restaurant below. The food is really good and their desserts are to delicious. Don't miss out on their home-made chocolate pecan pie!!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polkadottUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

My family and I have just returned from a weeks stay in Malta, we lasted one night at this hotel and then had to find another place to stay as it is possibly the worst place I have ever stayed in and I have stayed in some cheap, basic places before. Firstly, when we got there we had no hot water as you have to switch it on well in advance to get hot water. The staff didn't tell us this so four hours later we still didn't have any hot water. The bed sheets were dirty, the bedspread had blood stains on and smelt musky. The towels they provided you with were like dirty, grey dish cloths. The toilet didn't flush properly and my room and my sisters rooms windows in the bathrooms were joined so you could actually see each other on the toilet if you opened them! I must admit that the view was very nice over the harbour, however the noise of the traffic was horrendous and we didn't sleep a wink all night, but then that could have been because I was itching all night as the bed sheets were irritating me. As for the restaurant, my husband and I were served rancid rib-eye steak. I never got food poisoning because it was so rancid smelling and tasting that I couldn't swollow it. Fortunatley the owner didn't make us pay for the steaks. I must admit I was surprised by the good reviews as our stay couldn't have been any worse... well it could have been if i'd have eaten the steak!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EgyptgirlNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clacton-on-sea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We have stayed at the Porto Del Sol before, it is a small family run hotel and is very clean and all rooms look out over the bay, also the bus stops are right outside very handy, now we come to the restaurant the chef Mr Anthany Schembri who is also the owner is in our opinion the best chef in town very good menu and superb food go there and try to prove me wrong

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deniris51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
1.6 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
1.5 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#9 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
2.2 mi away
Club Salina Wharf
Club Salina Wharf
#8 of 15 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto del Sol

Property: Porto del Sol
Address: Xemxija Hill, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 9028, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Porto del Sol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto del Sol is located right in the heart of Xemxija Bay, a small seaside town situated between St. Paul's Bay and Mellieha. Porto del Sol offers a selection of 18 spacious holiday units which enjoy clear, unobstructed sea and country views .All apartments are self-catering with a basic kitchenette, complete with a hob, refrigerator, sink, toaster, kettle, cutlery and crockery. Porto Del Sol apartments are situated on the main coast road, which is frequented by buses every ten to fifteen minutes. It is ideally situated for quick access to the most popular summer bays of Ghadira in Mellieha - Malta's largest beach, and Golden Bay (all just about ten minutes by bus). Nightlife, shops and bars can be found in the villages of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra, all within close distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Del Sol Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Del Sol Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing