We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a lot better”
Review of Porto del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto del Sol
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Wales
Level Contributor
68 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Could be a lot better”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Porto del Sol combines a very good restaurant on the ground floor with a so-so apartment block above. This review refers only to the apartment which we had for 9 nights and not the restaurant. A point to bear in mind is that the apartment was very reasonably priced, so that in fairness the criticisms I make must be balanced against that. It also explains why I have given 3 stars for value-for-money but only 2 stars overall. On the credit side, the location is excellent, with a superb view along the full length of St. Paul's Bay - we much preferred this end of the Bay to Burgibba, which is a brasher, larger resort. Buses stop immediately outside and you can reach anywhere on the island with relative ease. Comments have been made about traffic noise, but we did not find this a major problem, although I confess to using ear plugs at night. Hot water was provided by an immersion heater and was more than adequate. However, the furnishings and decor in our room were tired and stained. Cooking was done on two rings which were rusty and it was not possible to store items on the inside of the fridge door as shelves were missing. Lighting was via two wall lights, one of which had a bare bulb with no shade, while the two bedside reading lamps could not both be used simultaneously as they were not wired-in and there was only one power point to serve both. There is a 10% discount on meals in the restaurant on presentation of the room key, but we only discovered this after having eaten there on the evening of our arrival, and the waitress did not point it out to us despite our telling her that we were staying upstairs. We did not see any staff directly connected with the running of the accommodation side of the operation throughout our stay and had to get the key from a nearby hotel on arrival and return it there on departure, though clean towels did appear in our room every few days.
We were left with the distinct feeling that the owners' main interest is in the restaurant and that the accommodation is only seen as ancillary to that. This is a pity, as the whole operation has potential if only a reasonable amount of money was expended to bring the accommodation up to the standard of the restaurant. If they did so, the owners could justify charging more for the accommodation, which would be to their obvious advantage.
A couple of tips regarding holidays in Malta generally. To begin with, if you are staying a week, get a 7-day bus pass for 12 euros - it won't make the buses more regular or less overcrowded, but it will save you cash. Secondly, if you really want to visit the Hal Saflieni Hypogeum, make sure you book your tickets well in advance - we tried 6 weeks before our holiday, but they were sold-out for our entire stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cymro36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan S, Public Relations Manager at Porto del Sol, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear client, thanks for your input. We are in fact planning on doing some refurbishment and re-painting of the rooms now that the busy season is nearing its end. We will be keeping in mind your suggestions and comments and we will check all the rooms to be more aware of what needs replacing.

As regards the 10% discount, we apologise for any misunderstanding, but continually having different people entering the restaurant means that we stick to giving a 10% discount to residents only on presentation of keys at the time of paying the bill, as instructed on the notice. The discount is applicable from Monday to Friday so perhaps the waitress failed to mention it because it was over the weekend. In any case we do apologize for any inconvenience.

As regards to not seeing any staff directly connected with the running of the accomodation, this is a family-run business and the management is present at the restaurant every day during opening hours. Being a small guesthouse, we man the reception area ourselves within the restaurant itself and since it is not open 24 hours we do have an arrangement with the nearby hotel so guests can collect the key upon arrival and avoid calling and waiting especially if they arrive during very late hours.

We welcome your feedback as we continually strive to improve our service, and we do appreciate all your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    33
    15
    7
    11
See reviews for
8
56
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We atayed in this hotel for one week in summer, the hotel was very hot, very load and it is on the main road that allways there was cars, motors..etc.
Thr rooms were not clean you could see many many insects in the rooms and in the kitchen.
The lift works slowly, in some rooms hot water was litle, tv is by payment!!!
I could not sleep for that 7 days due to hot and load.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shachdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan S, Public Relations Manager at Porto del Sol, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Yes indeed the guesthouse is situated on a mainroad and sometimes it may get noisy. The benefit of this however is that you have easy access to the bus stops and a nice view. Some rooms are available with aircondition, and the option to book a room with aircondition at a cost was available. Given that there has been a heatwave, it was expected to have high temperatures. Television service is indeed by payment. Unfortunately it is natural to have some insects crop up, we try to keep them under control by frequent treatment and maintaining cleanliness. Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We have been going to Porto del Sol on our holidays to Malta for many years now, it is a lovely place and the staff and owners feel like friends now. The food is amazing, we recommend the Maltese fish stew (aljotta) and the Beef Olives but everything is really nicely cooked and presented. The view from the restaurant is amazing and we have spent many happy times there including father-in-laws 70th birthday party. Looking forward to the next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HopkinsFamilyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan S, Public Relations Manager at Porto del Sol, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words. It is nice to know that Porto Del Sol finds its way into your holiday plans. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stayed at Porto Del Sol Guesthouse during my visit to Malta at the end of March, and I highly recommend the place. The apartment was lovely, with a fantastic view over Xemxija Bay. My wife and I ate at the restaurant too, and the food was delicious everytime we went, especially the homemade desserts. The staff are very friendly and it is a nice family-run restaurant. Anthony, the owner and his daughter, were both also very helpful in making sure our stay at the guesthouse was up to standard. Bus stop is just across the road. Will definitely go there again on my next visit to Malta!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank christophers459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan S, Public Relations Manager at Porto del Sol, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thanks for your positive comments, much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I stayed at the Porto del Sol apartments over Christmas and New Year, 2012/2013. The first thing I noticed on arrival was the wonderful view over St Paul's Bay. The studio was on the first floor above the restaurant so the view was probably even better from higher floors. The apartments are comfortably furnished, holiday style, adequate kitchen equipment, beds and linen all spotlessly clean. My only gripe was that the hot water in the shower ran out very quickly! The boiler/geezer capacity was not enough for anything but a very quick washdown before it turned cold. OK in summer but not so good in December/January! Sorry Toni but it has to be said my friend!
The restaurant is really very good. Food wonderful and a wide menu of local and Mediterranean foods. We booked our Christmas Day lunch there and it was very busy with local (extended) families which tells me it's very popular and well thought of with the local people! Toni is a lovely patient man and so very helpful to us. A great big thankyou Toni from Enid X. We also had New Years Eve dinner here. Again, it couldn't be faulted, a superb variety of foods on offer, all beautifully cooked. Toni cooks the desserts himself, they too are really nice, my favourite was his apple pie but everything looked so gorgeous I was lost for choice. (Can't lose the excess weight now!) lol Again it was filled to capacity with local people who stayed till midnight to "Pop BALLOONS". (I think this must be what they do in Malta to celebrate the New Year coming in!) Very little rowdiness, just a few people around leaving night clubs but not a problem to us.
The apartments and restaurant are in a superb location for sightseeing and visiting all over the island. The balcony is facing the sun all day so it was good to sit out there and relax. The weather was kind to us for midwinter, warm and sunny most days which was a big bonus after the summer in UK last year! Good place for a topup of Vit D!
Air con is available at extra charge I believe in summer when the temperatures can soar up to the 40's! I hope this helpful to other people who might be visiting.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Senior_1943E_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan S, Public Relations Manager at Porto del Sol, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thanks for your positive comments. I’m sorry for the hot water problem, it was just a geezer which went faulty, and this was replaced soon after you left. In these situations we offer an alternative room to tackle the problem and prevent any inconvenience. Yes, some rooms are now equipped with airconditioners and it is advisable for people to book this in advance at a small extra charge. Apologies for the late reply, we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My mother, brother and I went to Malta for a 1 week stay at the Port Azzurro, St Paul's Bay. Porto Del Sol is situated very close by and so we went in there to try the delicacies. We were not disappointed, in fact, it was the highlight of a not so great holiday. It is a family run hotel and restaurant, and had a warm and cozy feel to it, and the view of the harbour, just added to the beauty of the place. The father, daughter and son are amongst those taking orders and explaining the menu and fish of the day. The family are lovely and made us feel very welcome. We ate there for lunch and dinner most of the 7 days we were there! I would recommend this restaurant as a place that everyone that goes to Malta should visit, no matter where you stay on the island, trust me, you will not be disappointed! Special mention to Denise and her father Tony, you guys are great, keep up the hard work!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicxMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I went there twice during my stay in Malta. The first evening, we only had drinks at the bar and really liked the nice interior, low price of drinks and friendly staff.
We had dinner there on our last night and it was just fantastic. Again, the staff was very friendly and efficient,. The food itself was absolutely gorgeous and we had a great time.
Definitely recommend it to everyone staying in the area !

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex_J0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
1.6 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,310 reviews
1.9 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,460 reviews
1.8 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
461 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Gillieru Harbour Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto del Sol

Property: Porto del Sol
Address: Xemxija Hill, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 9028, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Porto del Sol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto del Sol is located right in the heart of Xemxija Bay, a small seaside town situated between St. Paul's Bay and Mellieha. Porto del Sol offers a selection of 18 spacious holiday units which enjoy clear, unobstructed sea and country views .All apartments are self-catering with a basic kitchenette, complete with a hob, refrigerator, sink, toaster, kettle, cutlery and crockery. Porto Del Sol apartments are situated on the main coast road, which is frequented by buses every ten to fifteen minutes. It is ideally situated for quick access to the most popular summer bays of Ghadira in Mellieha - Malta's largest beach, and Golden Bay (all just about ten minutes by bus). Nightlife, shops and bars can be found in the villages of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra, all within close distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Del Sol Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Del Sol Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing