We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best budget accomodations we have stayed in”
Review of Porto del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto del Sol
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a small friendly, family run, sef-catering Guest House. It's excellent location overlooking St Paul's Bay and the countryside is hard to beat. If you have a car, there doesn't seem to be any problem with parking, if you prefer public transport, the local buses stop outside. The accomodation is spacious with all rooms enjoying balconies and those lovely views. The furnishing is probably best described as utilitarian but practical enough and more or less as expected considering the price. Unfortunately, as with many other places in Malta the beds were uncomfortable.The cooking facilities are basic but should suit most peoples needs - in any event, the excellent restaurant downstairs is to be highly recommended.
There is no sandy beach here but there are beaches a short bus ride away and for those who prefer a more lively area, Bugibba is a few minutes away.
Some travellers have commented on the busy road traffic, but whilst it can be noisy during the day it did not spoil our enjoyment and we didn't find it created problems at night.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sidleyranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan S, Public Relations Manager at Porto del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We value your compliments and will take note of the suggestions. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

Lovely atmosphere, made to feel very welcome, food (mussels) were fabulous, huge in size and best I have ever had. As ever, maltese bread amazing!!

Only called in for a drink but ended up eating and it really is well worth a visit. Very reasonably priced.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank louise a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Went to Porto del Sol for a weekend and I can say it was a wonderfull one with with nice views and excellent service...Would like to specially thank Miss Alexis Meylaq for being so helpfull on our stay there at the Hotel. Will definitely do it again...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prissyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We were end october in Xemxijla and we eat lovely by Porto Del Sol.
Very good wine and food, honnest prices. Well it is an Restaurant that has give us every night a good feeling of having a dinner where the Cook was very good.

Room Tip: We only have expierence with the food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cubber18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Porto del Sol combines a very good restaurant on the ground floor with a so-so apartment block above. This review refers only to the apartment which we had for 9 nights and not the restaurant. A point to bear in mind is that the apartment was very reasonably priced, so that in fairness the criticisms I make must be balanced against that. It also explains why I have given 3 stars for value-for-money but only 2 stars overall. On the credit side, the location is excellent, with a superb view along the full length of St. Paul's Bay - we much preferred this end of the Bay to Burgibba, which is a brasher, larger resort. Buses stop immediately outside and you can reach anywhere on the island with relative ease. Comments have been made about traffic noise, but we did not find this a major problem, although I confess to using ear plugs at night. Hot water was provided by an immersion heater and was more than adequate. However, the furnishings and decor in our room were tired and stained. Cooking was done on two rings which were rusty and it was not possible to store items on the inside of the fridge door as shelves were missing. Lighting was via two wall lights, one of which had a bare bulb with no shade, while the two bedside reading lamps could not both be used simultaneously as they were not wired-in and there was only one power point to serve both. There is a 10% discount on meals in the restaurant on presentation of the room key, but we only discovered this after having eaten there on the evening of our arrival, and the waitress did not point it out to us despite our telling her that we were staying upstairs. We did not see any staff directly connected with the running of the accommodation side of the operation throughout our stay and had to get the key from a nearby hotel on arrival and return it there on departure, though clean towels did appear in our room every few days.
We were left with the distinct feeling that the owners' main interest is in the restaurant and that the accommodation is only seen as ancillary to that. This is a pity, as the whole operation has potential if only a reasonable amount of money was expended to bring the accommodation up to the standard of the restaurant. If they did so, the owners could justify charging more for the accommodation, which would be to their obvious advantage.
A couple of tips regarding holidays in Malta generally. To begin with, if you are staying a week, get a 7-day bus pass for 12 euros - it won't make the buses more regular or less overcrowded, but it will save you cash. Secondly, if you really want to visit the Hal Saflieni Hypogeum, make sure you book your tickets well in advance - we tried 6 weeks before our holiday, but they were sold-out for our entire stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cymro36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan S, Public Relations Manager at Porto del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear client, thanks for your input. We are in fact planning on doing some refurbishment and re-painting of the rooms now that the busy season is nearing its end. We will be keeping in mind your suggestions and comments and we will check all the rooms to be more aware of what needs replacing.

As regards the 10% discount, we apologise for any misunderstanding, but continually having different people entering the restaurant means that we stick to giving a 10% discount to residents only on presentation of keys at the time of paying the bill, as instructed on the notice. The discount is applicable from Monday to Friday so perhaps the waitress failed to mention it because it was over the weekend. In any case we do apologize for any inconvenience.

As regards to not seeing any staff directly connected with the running of the accomodation, this is a family-run business and the management is present at the restaurant every day during opening hours. Being a small guesthouse, we man the reception area ourselves within the restaurant itself and since it is not open 24 hours we do have an arrangement with the nearby hotel so guests can collect the key upon arrival and avoid calling and waiting especially if they arrive during very late hours.

We welcome your feedback as we continually strive to improve our service, and we do appreciate all your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We atayed in this hotel for one week in summer, the hotel was very hot, very load and it is on the main road that allways there was cars, motors..etc.
Thr rooms were not clean you could see many many insects in the rooms and in the kitchen.
The lift works slowly, in some rooms hot water was litle, tv is by payment!!!
I could not sleep for that 7 days due to hot and load.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shachdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan S, Public Relations Manager at Porto del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Yes indeed the guesthouse is situated on a mainroad and sometimes it may get noisy. The benefit of this however is that you have easy access to the bus stops and a nice view. Some rooms are available with aircondition, and the option to book a room with aircondition at a cost was available. Given that there has been a heatwave, it was expected to have high temperatures. Television service is indeed by payment. Unfortunately it is natural to have some insects crop up, we try to keep them under control by frequent treatment and maintaining cleanliness. Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We have been going to Porto del Sol on our holidays to Malta for many years now, it is a lovely place and the staff and owners feel like friends now. The food is amazing, we recommend the Maltese fish stew (aljotta) and the Beef Olives but everything is really nicely cooked and presented. The view from the restaurant is amazing and we have spent many happy times there including father-in-laws 70th birthday party. Looking forward to the next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HopkinsFamilyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan S, Public Relations Manager at Porto del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words. It is nice to know that Porto Del Sol finds its way into your holiday plans. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,401 reviews
1.6 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,694 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,631 reviews
2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,989 reviews
1.9 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto del Sol

Address: Xemxija Hill, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 9028, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £26 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Porto del Sol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto del Sol is located right in the heart of Xemxija Bay, a small seaside town situated between St. Paul's Bay and Mellieha. Porto del Sol offers a selection of 18 spacious holiday units which enjoy clear, unobstructed sea and country views .All apartments are self-catering with a basic kitchenette, complete with a hob, refrigerator, sink, toaster, kettle, cutlery and crockery. Porto Del Sol apartments are situated on the main coast road, which is frequented by buses every ten to fifteen minutes. It is ideally situated for quick access to the most popular summer bays of Ghadira in Mellieha - Malta's largest beach, and Golden Bay (all just about ten minutes by bus). Nightlife, shops and bars can be found in the villages of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra, all within close distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Porto del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Del Sol Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Del Sol Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing