We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 STAR? NOT AS WE KNOW IT CAPTAIN!”

Howard Johnson Mediterranea
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Paul's Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Howard Johnson Mediterranea
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Although we used "airmiles" to book this hotel, so therefore do not expect the best room in the establishment, we were very unimpressed with room 413. If you decide to book this hotel do not expect 4 Star type accommodation. I think based on our room it would be lucky to get any stars in the UK.

The room was more of a budget type hotel room. The air conditioning remote control did not work so you could either have the unit on very cold or off, oh and when it was on it leaked. All this could have been overlooked if the bathroom was not such a mess. I think this company must have shares in mastic as it seems to be everywhere in the bathroom. It was not possible to have a bath as the control to change the water from shower to bath had been jammed to only allow a shower, and it in any doubt whether a bath was possible, the bath plug was stuck into bath overflow with mastic to ensure you knew it was really only a shower. Add to this the awful damp smelling shower curtain and black mould around the taps and in the grouting, and quite frankly you never really felt clean.

A very large notice is displayed in reception stating that this was the "Howard Johnson property of the year 2000" and I would suggest that this may have been when the property was at its peak.

The location is fantastic, with very nice restaurants nearby, (did not use hotel restaurant) it is a shame that the hotel does not do justice to its site, very much a Fawlty Towers feel to it.

If ever there was a "beam my up Scotty" hotel this is it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GKDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Mediterranea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2010

Malta and driving is something very challenging so after a few missed turns and much Keystone Cops like going back and forth and around and around we finally arrived at the hotel, greatly relieved to have found it! We had managed to get a great rate through a web site called lastminute as I recall for a full one bedroom suite. So after the highs and lows of travelling much of the day (and some crazy driving in the renatl vehicle and obtaining it is another story) we hit a new low with "We do not have your reservation. But we do have a room so you will have a place to sleep".

The room was basic, two twin beds in the center area of the hotel. Not a big deal for us. But then we found the air conditioning for the room did not work well and the drain line was plugged causing a flood in the room. No big deal, just turn on the ceiling fan, right. Uh-uh. The ceiling fan sounded as if you were mixing sand and marbles in a metal bucket. Oh, the temperature was approx 28 deg C (83 F) and a humidity of around 95% so we had a steady drip-drip into a pial to put up with So sleep that night was a bust.

Next day our rservation was found and our suite was available and we happily moved in. Again the a/c wasn't the best but at least it worked and the drains went the correct direction. The hotel gave us a free breakfast (12 Euros) for the inconvenience of the previous night.

Pluses -
Rooms were kept fairly clean. Suites were only cleaned twice a week though and be warned, you need to bring much of your own kitchen supplies, even dish soap.

Day staff - helpful but somewhat indifferent and not terribly knowledgeable of the area. Possibly a bit tired of the tourist season (??) as we were on the waning days of tourist time there. The day manager was quite harried, with apparent staff phoning in sick on the day we arrived which was a national holiday. She was also a bit resistant to honouring our reservation even after it was "found" (presumably because the room price was quite low).
- Plenty of good, inexpensive gem of restaurants in the area.

Minuses -
-Don't know where the star system gets off giving 4 for this hotel. We passed by the same two hair balls on the floor in the hallway for four days running and a very messy housekeeping spot. Howard Johnsons should be ashamed.
- Restaurant was only open for breakfast and very pedestrian type food. In fact the buffet scrambled eggs were a runny mess (best breakfast was at a kiosk on the beachfront road approx 2 km east of the restaurant. Made fresh, with a big glass of fresh OJ squeezed in front of you at a great price. Very tasty plus the young lady running the booth was a fountain of knowledge and very willingly gave information)
- Pool Bar was never opened despite signage indicating otherwise
- Pool in need of cleaning which was not done during our stay
- Night desk staff quite indifferent to guests
- Fire exit was being used as a smoking room and broken floor tiles a trip hazard piled up in the exit (not being inspected by hotel staff obviously). The hallway fire extinguishers were up to par though. However the ensuite kitchen fire extinguisher was in need of a recharge.
- Lots of mildew (hopefully not black mould) due to the humidity. Cleaning staff could use better products to help get rid of more.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foamboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

I'm not sure how you get stars, but beware I wouldn't give it any more than 2! It was scruffy, dark, cold, nothing worked properly, and while not terrible I can't think of one good thing to say. In reception there is a 'best hotel' certificate from 2000 and, I suspect not a thing has been done since; it really needs a major makeover.

The facilities that no doubt increase the star rating are laughable; the jacuzi pool was shut, the other pool was too deep to stand up. The gym consited of a bench and one dumbell, and the games room consisted of a pinball machine tucked away in the corner of a TV room/library/bar. There was no food or drink to be seen.

We were ready to leave but unfortunately had to stay an extra few days because of the volcanic ash crisis. It was miserable, we won't be going back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davantall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We've been there twice and it suits our quirky and simple requirements: a 2-bed room self-catering suite close to the shops (excellent baker and fish shop); 2 excellent restaurants within 50 metres; parking and bus stop outside the door; Sea view (have to ask for it). It's a bit faded and the kitchen equipment a bit limited.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SXDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kein Zimmer
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CLAUDIA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vsaBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Paul's Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,867 reviews
0.0 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,357 reviews
0.0 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Mediterranea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Mediterranea

Address: Bugibba Road 12, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Number of rooms: 309
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Mediterranea
Howard Johnson Mediterranea Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing