We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for. Some good, some bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Topaz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Topaz Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for. Some good, some bad”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

So, firstly I would like to say I paid under £200 per person for flights and all inclusive in this hotel so for that reason , I would give it 5/5!!!

We went to Malta in December so it was reasonably quiet over there. The hotel did special deals for long stays (6 - 12 weeks) so the hotel was pretty full but with mainly elderly who were their just to escape the cold damp UK. This was not a problem but everything was pretty much geared up for them!! The entertainment was shocking but luckily, we went to Malta purely to visit as many places as we could in the week we were there.

Location wise, the hotel is perfect. It's an easy walk in to the centre and there is a bus stop almost right outside. We bought a weekly ticket for around £10 and we travelled everywhere by bus. It was very easy!!

The room was rubbish. We looked out of the window and were actually 2 feet below the outside pool area! Roms were tiny but comfortable. The air con didn't work and neither did the heating and as it was quite chilly at night, I did ask if they could rectify this. The hotel sent someone up straight away and the in hotel rep was excellent. He kept checking we were OK and if there was anything he could do to make our stay better...All the staff there were excellent, the only few who were rude were British which was a shame!

The food was OK actually. A good selection at breakfast. Just watch the pensioners stealing as much food at breakfast as they can tucking it into their bags to have for lunch as the majority weren't on all inclusive so were only entitled to breakfast and dinner, however this didn't phase them. I saw one take about 15 slices of bread and a whole mug full of tea bags!! This behaviour kind of ruined the way the hotel was run. To get a drink you had to go to the till and show them your key card with room number on it, then your all inclusive band. They then rung the drink through the till (even though it was free!!) you then had to leave the till area, with the receipt and order your drink. It was like this at the main bar and the pool bar!!

Lunch and dinner was different everyday, my husband is quite fussy but he enjoyed the food here! There was always chips and a pasta station. They had a roast of some kind every day and things like stews. The pastries were amazing...We found out since that the Maltese love their cakes and pastries and they do them very well!!

All in all a good trip and perfect stay for the money we paid. I have seen packages to this hotel at £450 plus during the summer...If I had paid that amount I would have been seriously unhappy but as such, I didn't and the hotel was perfect for what we wanted it for.

Malta is a fantastic place and am looking forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmDevon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, Owner at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear ejhookway83

many thanks for your lengthy review which you submitted. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay which according to your review was in December 2013, 5 months ago. At this time the hotel was closed as the previous management closed the hotel end October 2013. We as new operators of the hotel re-opened the hotel on March 28th 2014 so this review surely is not relating to the Topaz Hotel under our management.
Notwithstanding this we would be delighted to have you see the current state of the hotel which, whilst closed, we have given a good facelift as you may see from the many recent positive reviews we have received from customers who stayed at the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    528
    267
    111
    76
See reviews for
289
612
118
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Qrendi, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Strongly recommend this hotel being situated in the heart of a touristic place. Wonderful service, friendly staff and great food. Its location is just perfect, bars and restaurants are all located within a walking distance.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank charabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Many Thanks for your review and kind words of the service and amenities offered to you which are to your liking

Regards
Topaz Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zejtun, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Spending a long weekend with a group of friends at the Topaz was an excellent experience. It is situated in a prime touristic area and very close to all amenities. In fact one can go around by walk to the main area and the seaside.
The Hotel has a new management which has upgraded all the facilities. The staff is very friendly and helpful which made our stay more pleasant. The room was spacious and cleaned every day. An LED flat screen television is installed, with a good selection of local and international channels. It has a large pool with a spacious pool area - ideal for sun bathing.
The buffet breakfast and dinner was exceptional with a good selection of food and in abundance. In the evening, free entertainment was provided.
I do recommend this Hotel to those who are looking for a nice place worthy of the price paid.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carmen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Many Thanks for your review and kind words of the service and amenities offered to you which are to your liking

Regards
Topaz Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Il Gzira, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

As soon as we walked in, we were greeted with a fantastic reception and lobby, including friendly staff. They had nicely sized rooms, lots of facilities, including a very large swimming pool and surroundings. We had great nights filled with entertainment, and the food was excellent.

I would reccoment it to anybody.
- Malcolm Woolsey

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm_Woolsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Many thanks for your kind words and we are glad to hear you had a positive experience at our hotel

Regards
Topaz Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gharghur, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The Topaz hotel has just been refurbish and is being run under new management. The hotel has an indoor pool besides an outdoor pool. The food was divine and the rooms are clean and beautifully decorated. Service was excellent . A big Thank you to the management and staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaGerman0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Many thanks for your kind words and we are glad to hear you had a positive experience at our hotel

Regards
Topaz Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gharghur, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at Topaz Hotel this weekend. This hotel is being run by new management, the room was very spacious and clean. The service was impeccable as we say service with a smile. The food was excellent . Great value for money. Would like to thank all the management and staff for making our stay a pleasurable one.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Many thanks for your kind words and we are glad to hear you had a positive experience at our hotel

Regards
Topaz Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Me and a group of friends stayed at the Topaz last weekend and had great time in the completely newly refurbished hotel. Nice and clean rooms, very tasty food and helpful staff. The new management has done a good job and the stay in Topaz is good value for money. We will definitely go back and have fun again.

Alexandra D.

Room Tip: rooms are large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Alexandra

Many thanks for your kind words and we are glad to hear you and your group had a positive experience at our hotel

Regards
Topaz Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.7 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
2,614 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#5 of 16 in Qawra
715 reviews
0.9 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topaz Hotel

Property: Topaz Hotel
Address: Triq Censu Tanti, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3025, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Topaz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Topaz Hotel is a 326 room non-smoking 3 star hotel (as classified by the Malta Tourism Authority) that first opened its doors to customers in 1987. Situated in a quiet part of St. Paul's Bay (Geographical co-ordinates: 35.9469, 14.41209), 700 metres from Bugibba's main square and 800 meters from Bugibba's sea front promenade and its rocky beach. The Malta National Aquarium, the Empire Cinemas as well as the Bird Park are also in the vicinity of the hotel. The accommodation is split over 5 floors in three buildings (with an underpass linking two buildings) having six lifts and has rooms with balcony with internal residential street views or views of the outdoor pool (subject to a paid upgrade) as well as rooms without a balcony. All rooms include a bath or shower and the use of a fridge. A safe is available at a charge of €1.50 per room per day. A flat screen TV with various channels completes the room amenities. The rooms are air-conditioned and heated (times may apply) and rooms may be checked in from 14:00 and all rooms have to be checked out by 11:00. The hotel operates a 24/7 reception desk as well as a pub (closed in the summer months) and a restaurant serving self service buffet meals, a hairdresser, a massage parlour a souvenir shop, hospitality desks, vending machines with hot and cold drinks. The topaz is a free wifi hotel. all areas including the rooms have free wi fi access via facebook entry. The hotel has a multi-use area, 2 small conference rooms and a large hall. The hotel also provides a free four day a week service to Mellieha Bay during the summer months, bookable at the reception desk. The large outdoor pool, which was re-constructed in 1995, has free sunbeds for in-house clients. Bus stop "Pijunieri" is around 300 metres away from the hotel and can take you further north or towards Valletta. The Topaz hotel team wishes you a good stay with a good/price relation service. Anything we can do to ensure this kindly contact our duty managers, head receptionist, housekeeper, maintenance team member. The Topaz Hotel staff shall see to your requirements whilst you are still in resort as nothing can be done after your departure.Kindly contact our duty managers whilst in resort. Any requests for anniversary, birthday, newlyweds, special occasion presents, food and drink can be quoted separately by our catering department. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotel.de, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topaz Aparthotel Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Topaz Aparthotel And Casino
Topaz Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing