We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay review!!”
Review of Topaz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Topaz Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One night stay review!!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed at the Topaz hotel just a week ago for just 1night!!
The food was good b'fast and dinner.
The pool are was great, clean and plenty of sun beds.
The only problem i had was with the A/C in our room, called reception and a spanish lady came up to my room to adjust the controls but still i was left with hot air in my room and an outside temperature of 30degrees !!!
At least i was offered a fan and i asked for a second one and got it too :)
Other than that i was happy. Dont know if i would go again though!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello all,

The esteemed client who stayed with us for one night has promted us to adjust our policy.
The minimum stay will now be two nights, as it seemed that our flexibilty hurt only ourself.

In that way one can have a more informed judgement.
The special offer that the client availed himself of, ie 25 euro on halfboard basis per night, will end on the 30th june

A new offer with the two night stay minimum requirement will be out as from the 24th august 2014

with renewed thanks
robert arrigo
00356 79492885
robert@robertarrigo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    569
    281
    120
    80
See reviews for
300
649
128
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here between 25th may and 1st june (7 nights). We were told when booking that this was a 4 star hotel. The other trip advisor reviews seemed honest and fair so we booked. On arrival we were unsure what to expect really. The hotel foyer is large, clean and welcoming. We were taken to our room, however had to change rooms straight away as we had booked self catering but this room had no facilities. Our new room had these. Kettle, fridge, mini oven with hobs, plates etc, pans (that were definately not non-stick). The room had flat sceen tv (however didnt get all channels listed...), iron and iron board and hairdryer. the room was clean, sheets were clean but the mattress had seen better days. Uncomfortable, could feel the springs. Few floor tiles were cracked, the pipe under kitchenette sink was broke. This is not 4 star standard. We had pool view on 5th floor. Best view. The room was noisy as were the corridoors. Doors constantly slamming whether that was the cleaners or other guests. There was 'free wifi' only in foyer but wasnt great signal. The room had outdoor and indoor pool, neither of which we used. The was a pub at the hotel, again we didnt use. The location is good. Round corner from cinema and supermarket. 5 minutes walk to the square where there are numerous pubs. Bugibba was nice but for culture and history you need to travel. Valletta was beautiful (reccommended). Overall the hotel was clean but not 4 star. lucky to be 3. It needs a lot of work updating the hotel but to be fair, we got a good deal for a good price. Beware, check out at 11.

Room Tip: top floor, pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review

We do not advertise that we give non stick pans and we do not know how one ended up expected such type of pans.

We apologize for the first error in room allocation which we sought to rectify immediately.

Points mentioned have all been seen to in the meantime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

room: self catering studio. good points: clean and spacious. things to be aware of: its very noisy, take your own kettle the one we hired blew up! overall: you get what you pay for and for a last minute getaway this was adequate - if I went back to Malta I'd stay somewhere else though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank JMnRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are happy to read an overall positive experience

the points raised will be certainly looked into for rectification to further improve our product

Regards
Topaz Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Topaz is a typical Maltese Hotel, circ 1980's if comparing with Spanish Hotels, clean tidy, good food, excellent staff and very helpful Manager. Ideal pool area and plenty of sun beds. The visiting Italian School party were polite and quiet. We met a number of returning customers and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
3 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
HI all.

whilst thanking you all, and looking forward to your return visit, i feel i should inform that in the next weeks we will be hosting younger clients of varoius student ages and nationalities.
The hotel will look active, and not so quiet.

An advice to trip advisor as the trend has been in the past months. after a number of good reviews posted , normally four in number , we seem to,then , get hit with bad ones , all at once , with the same running theme.

we will not be taking on bets

see you soon

robert arrigo
robert@robertarrigo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I went to this hotel 2 years ago and I went last week this hotel changed 1 million times I was told its under new management WELDONE everything was excellent the food very nice bars with excellent cocktails and staff and the rooms where perfect always clean so I recommend this hotel to everyone . WELDONE you will see me very soon

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your review and we are happy that you noted and experienced an improvement

Regards
Topaz Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta, Montana
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Topaz hotel is very good value of money..they have a good pool bar with the waiters taking orders around the pool area...very clean and the pool very big...the food was very good even the dessert was great....staff was great and very helpfull...the rooms are very nice and clean...100percent i go again...Sofa near the pool area and the evening entertainment was enjoyable

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks for your review

we are glad to hear you had a positive experience

regards
topaz hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

great breakfast and dinner....excellent bars with all types of drinks and cocktails with entertainment and big pool tidy area....spacious rooms and change of towels everyday...worth to go again for sure....its a central hotel and you can reach everywhere

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rodney c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks for your review

we are glad to hear you had a positive experience

regards
topaz hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.7 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,696 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,315 reviews
3.2 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
461 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topaz Hotel

Property: Topaz Hotel
Address: Triq Censu Tanti, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3025, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Topaz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Topaz Hotel is a 326 room non-smoking 3 star hotel (as classified by the Malta Tourism Authority) that first opened its doors to customers in 1987. Situated in a quiet part of St. Paul's Bay (Geographical co-ordinates: 35.9469, 14.41209), 700 metres from Bugibba's main square and 800 meters from Bugibba's sea front promenade and its rocky beach. The Malta National Aquarium, the Empire Cinemas as well as the Bird Park are also in the vicinity of the hotel. The accommodation is split over 5 floors in three buildings (with an underpass linking two buildings) having six lifts and has rooms with balcony with internal residential street views or views of the outdoor pool (subject to a paid upgrade) as well as rooms without a balcony. All rooms include a bath or shower and the use of a fridge. A safe is available at a charge of €1.50 per room per day. A flat screen TV with various channels completes the room amenities. The rooms are air-conditioned and heated (times may apply) and rooms may be checked in from 14:00 and all rooms have to be checked out by 11:00. The hotel operates a 24/7 reception desk as well as a pub (closed in the summer months) and a restaurant serving self service buffet meals, a hairdresser, a massage parlour a souvenir shop, hospitality desks, vending machines with hot and cold drinks. The topaz is a free wifi hotel. all areas including the rooms have free wi fi access via facebook entry. The hotel has a multi-use area, 2 small conference rooms and a large hall. The hotel also provides a free four day a week service to Mellieha Bay during the summer months, bookable at the reception desk. The large outdoor pool, which was re-constructed in 1995, has free sunbeds for in-house clients. Bus stop "Pijunieri" is around 300 metres away from the hotel and can take you further north or towards Valletta. The Topaz hotel team wishes you a good stay with a good/price relation service. Anything we can do to ensure this kindly contact our duty managers, head receptionist, housekeeper, maintenance team member. The Topaz Hotel staff shall see to your requirements whilst you are still in resort as nothing can be done after your departure.Kindly contact our duty managers whilst in resort. Any requests for anniversary, birthday, newlyweds, special occasion presents, food and drink can be quoted separately by our catering department. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topaz Aparthotel Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Topaz Aparthotel And Casino
Topaz Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing