We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old folks home”
Review of Topaz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Topaz Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An old folks home”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

stayed here from 17/6/14-24/7/14 2 girls aged 30... Checked in to find the receptionists had hardly any english. They cared less if you were there gave us our room and and basically just told us to find our own way. It took us ages to find our room going between different floors. The hotel itself was old fashioned musty smelling and reminded me of being in a hospital. Very long tiny corridors and the lifts were tiny 4 people and it was crammed. We had a studio apartment basic was not the word but clean and fresh towels every day and beds made, rubbish cleared etc every day.Our balcony view looking into locals room windows I could actually see people in their towels so getting dressed every day was a drama trying not to be caught by some roving eye!!!there was a pub jus down from our room veeerrryyy noisy at weekend. and also locals very noisy with loads of dogs barking!! The pool was nice a little dirty some days and if you wanted to be in a creche at the weekends the locals would come to the hotel and it was just packed with families and young kids crazy!!! the bar staff at the pool were quite rude your not allowed to bring your own water down but they expect you to buy a small bottle of water for €2.50. food was extremely greasy and was not very pleasent. breakfast was the same every morning greasy fry ups... not very much to choose from on the healthy side. we had to pay for our safe which was already in the room which to me is ridiculous!! on departing we were to evacuate the room at 11.00 am so to stay on you had to pay €20... Hotel staff did not have any idea of the area and what there was to do or how to get about places, very unhelpful. Buggiba itself not for young people...go to St Julian's!! Overall if your over 60 or if you have kids go to Topaz!!

Room Tip: look up this site to help you find the best place to go defo worth it...i shud have done it before i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fidelma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
noting this review , one picks up the occassion, to inform all clients that it is not allowed, nor normally done by any client, to bring over water bought from the outside , to the hotel bar or restaurant, asking for glasses and ice.

This refusal prompted this review.

I have gone through the age bracket of the clients, all 700 of them , who stayed with us in that week.
the age bracket that is prominent is the one between 35 and 46 years
second comes the 16 to 25 years.
only 9 percent were people over 61 years

hardly an old peoples home.
this is answered as to give the perspective of our current clientele. something that i did a couple of weeks ago, warning, in fact, of the younger generation at the hotel.

thank you
robert arrigo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    587
    286
    121
    82
See reviews for
308
660
132
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 days due to a mix up with our booking. (Not the hotels fault) The hotel is rubbish, rated as 4 stars. We only rate it as 1 star. The rooms are basic with two single beds. Kettles cost 1.5 Euro per day. The wiring is dangerous in the bathroom, toilet seats don’t fit & the room air conn is lousy. Rubbish is never cleaned up during our stay in the public areas. All of the food was of a pour standard and all drinks cost money even when on full board. The waiters turn over the tablecloths when they are dirty to hide the dirt. Need I say any more? Avoid at all cost

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 176Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
for the benefit of the viewers, this couple was overbooked by another hotel due to some mix up that does not concern the topaz hotel.
we only very kindly offered to help out in these unfortunate circumstances.
we got the thank you for doing so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have just returned from a seven night stay on halfboard basis at the topaz
We picked up a last minute offer from chevron holidays,
The equation between the price and quality served is excellent.
This hotel has the basis of becoming very popular.
Will be back with the kids

Room Tip: Book through Chevron
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Ross


Thanks for your review

We look forward to hosting you and your family on your next visit

Regards
Topaz Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Il Gzira, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Big well done to the staff. Excellent food! Very clean and tidy Hotel. The staff was very helpful, and always with a smile. The food was amazing.....will definitely go back for a nice relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review

we look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel

regards
Topaz Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panevezys, Lithuania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Topaz for two weeks this June
We had a studio on the room only basis.
Its all true that hotel is clean. The room servise is wonderfull. The room itself is basic but has got everything you need.
The location is great. There is a cash and carry shop near by which is important if you are on self catering. The bus stops are near by to different destinations
Negatives though are:
We lived in a room with an inland view which means your windows go to the street and its a tourist nightmare if you are a sensitive sleeper. The hotel is in a residential area so the life here starts at 4 in the morning when the first truck comes to collect one kind of waste then at 6 am another truck and so on. If you sleep with your balcony door open you can hardly get any sleep. To get an early night sleep is also almost impossible. There is an international boarding school building infront of the hotel and kids are kids. They shout they screem even after 11 pm. To add that all those kids are Russians you get the picture. So make sure you bring earplugs.
You might think why not to sleep with the door closed. Here is another trick.
The hotel has got central airconditioning system and the central air conditioning system barely works and is very loud.
Anyway if you are a light sleeper its not the place.
Wifi is only in the hotel lobby.
All in all its a fair hotel for the price of 13 Euro pp RO
If you are interested in meal options make sure you buy it together with the room otherway the price in a hotel restaurant can surprise you. For example the hotel offers you 4 euro deal for buffet breakfast as compared to 9.5 euro if you decide to buy it direct from the hotel restaurant. Dinner is also a good deal of 8 euros compared with 17,5 Euro if not booked together with a room.
Weekends are also can be very busy as Maltese like to spend their family weekends in the hotel by the pool. It gets really crazzy so you better plan travel activities during the weekend as there is no chance to relax by the pool . It can be done during the week.
Would I go back to Topaz if I ever in Malta? Yes .,if I get a good price deal again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Georgita2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Georgita

thanks for your review which we have gone through.

We are looking at ways to further enhance the positive experience at our hotel and we have taken your observations on board to strive to improve further

thanks and regards

Topaz Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Although the receptionist couldn't find our booking initially they made every effort to ring the agency concerned and we got a lovely room. The hotel has recently been taken over by another large company and it shows. The room was spotless and large.
We've been several times to the Topaz before but stopped eating there as it was awful. We were self catering this year so didn't try the restaurant out which was a shame really as I'm sure it must have been improved since last time!
We will go back and maybe try to eat there at least once to check it out.

The receptionists were great - very professional - no hidden extras (we were charged 17 euros one year for a kettle in the room!) Well done and KEEP IT UP!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review

Whilst we apologize for the initial inconvenience at check in which was beyond our control, we thank you for your kind words for our front office staff and your faith and kind words in us.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you on your next visit in Malta and our hotel.

Regards
Topaz Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a week and I must say for what we payed for we got a whole lot in return.......The hotel is situated in a very good spot with alot of things to do,our rooms and all the common parts of this hotel are well clean on a daily basis.....food was good and most of all the staff here are always willing to help no matter how busy they were they always found time to explain stuff out to us.....With a smile.....will definitely stay here again

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rebb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review and comments

We do our utmost to deliver a good product and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you at our hotel on your next visit here

Regards
Topaz Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
3.2 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,759 reviews
0.4 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topaz Hotel

Property: Topaz Hotel
Address: Triq Censu Tanti, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3025, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Topaz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Topaz Hotel is a 326 room non-smoking 3 star hotel (as classified by the Malta Tourism Authority) that first opened its doors to customers in 1987. Situated in a quiet part of St. Paul's Bay (Geographical co-ordinates: 35.9469, 14.41209), 700 metres from Bugibba's main square and 800 meters from Bugibba's sea front promenade and its rocky beach. The Malta National Aquarium, the Empire Cinemas as well as the Bird Park are also in the vicinity of the hotel. The accommodation is split over 5 floors in three buildings (with an underpass linking two buildings) having six lifts and has rooms with balcony with internal residential street views or views of the outdoor pool (subject to a paid upgrade) as well as rooms without a balcony. All rooms include a bath or shower and the use of a fridge. A safe is available at a charge of €1.50 per room per day. A flat screen TV with various channels completes the room amenities. The rooms are air-conditioned and heated (times may apply) and rooms may be checked in from 14:00 and all rooms have to be checked out by 11:00. The hotel operates a 24/7 reception desk as well as a pub (closed in the summer months) and a restaurant serving self service buffet meals, a hairdresser, a massage parlour a souvenir shop, hospitality desks, vending machines with hot and cold drinks. The topaz is a free wifi hotel. all areas including the rooms have free wi fi access via facebook entry. The hotel has a multi-use area, 2 small conference rooms and a large hall. The hotel also provides a free four day a week service to Mellieha Bay during the summer months, bookable at the reception desk. The large outdoor pool, which was re-constructed in 1995, has free sunbeds for in-house clients. Bus stop "Pijunieri" is around 300 metres away from the hotel and can take you further north or towards Valletta. The Topaz hotel team wishes you a good stay with a good/price relation service. Anything we can do to ensure this kindly contact our duty managers, head receptionist, housekeeper, maintenance team member. The Topaz Hotel staff shall see to your requirements whilst you are still in resort as nothing can be done after your departure.Kindly contact our duty managers whilst in resort. Any requests for anniversary, birthday, newlyweds, special occasion presents, food and drink can be quoted separately by our catering department. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topaz Aparthotel Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Topaz Aparthotel And Casino
Topaz Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing