We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Topaz Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Dolmen Hotel Malta(St. Paul's Bay)
US$164
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$99
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
San Pawl Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
US$140
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Qawra Palace Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
US$196
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Salini Resort(St. Paul's Bay)
US$214
US$176
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$778
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Primera Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Santana(St. Paul's Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porto del Sol(St. Paul's Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,744)
Filter reviews
1,744 results
Traveller rating
525
672
323
132
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
525
672
323
132
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree safeindoor poolweekend breakreception stafflong weekendgames roompool sidehop on hop off busclean hotelplenty of sunbedsrooms were cleanedbugibba squarebars and restaurantsbreakfast and dinnercleaned every daycleaned dailybed and breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,068 - 1,073 of 1,744 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

stayed here from 17/6/14-24/7/14 2 girls aged 30... Checked in to find the receptionists had hardly any english. They cared less if you were there gave us our room and and basically just told us to find our own way. It took us ages to find our room going between different floors. The hotel itself was old fashioned musty smelling and reminded me of being in a hospital. Very long tiny corridors and the lifts were tiny 4 people and it was crammed. We had a studio apartment basic was not the word but clean and fresh towels every day and beds made, rubbish cleared etc every day.Our balcony view looking into locals room windows I could actually see people in their towels so getting dressed every day was a drama trying not to be caught by some roving eye!!!there was a pub jus down from our room veeerrryyy noisy at weekend. and also locals very noisy with loads of dogs barking!! The pool was nice a little dirty some days and if you wanted to be in a creche at the weekends the locals would come to the hotel and it was just packed with families and young kids crazy!!! the bar staff at the pool were quite rude your not allowed to bring your own water down but they expect you to buy a small bottle of water for €2.50. food was extremely greasy and was not very pleasent. breakfast was the same every morning greasy fry ups... not very much to choose from on the healthy side. we had to pay for our safe which was already in the room which to me is ridiculous!! on departing we were to evacuate the room at 11.00 am so to stay on you had to pay €20... Hotel staff did not have any idea of the area and what there was to do or how to get about places, very unhelpful. Buggiba itself not for young people...go to St Julian's!! Overall if your over 60 or if you have kids go to Topaz!!

Room Tip: look up this site to help you find the best place to go defo worth it...i shud have done it before i booked the topaz!!sorry i have no pics...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fidelma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

noting this review , one picks up the occassion, to inform all clients that it is not allowed, nor normally done by any client, to bring over water bought from the outside , to the hotel bar or restaurant, asking for glasses and ice.

This refusal prompted this review.

I have gone through the age bracket of the clients, all 700 of them , who stayed with us in that week.
the age bracket that is prominent is the one between 35 and 46 years
second comes the 16 to 25 years.
only 9 percent were people over 61 years

hardly an old peoples home.
this is answered as to give the perspective of our current clientele. something that i did a couple of weeks ago, warning, in fact, of the younger generation at the hotel.

thank you
robert arrigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 days due to a mix up with our booking. (Not the hotels fault) The hotel is rubbish, rated as 4 stars. We only rate it as 1 star. The rooms are basic with two single beds. Kettles cost 1.5 Euro per day. The wiring is dangerous in the bathroom, toilet seats don’t fit & the room air conn is lousy. Rubbish is never cleaned up during our stay in the public areas. All of the food was of a pour standard and all drinks cost money even when on full board. The waiters turn over the tablecloths when they are dirty to hide the dirt. Need I say any more? Avoid at all cost

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 176Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

for the benefit of the viewers, this couple was overbooked by another hotel due to some mix up that does not concern the topaz hotel.
we only very kindly offered to help out in these unfortunate circumstances.
we got the thank you for doing so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have just returned from a seven night stay on halfboard basis at the topaz
We picked up a last minute offer from chevron holidays,
The equation between the price and quality served is excellent.
This hotel has the basis of becoming very popular.
Will be back with the kids

Room Tip: Book through Chevron
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Ross


Thanks for your review

We look forward to hosting you and your family on your next visit

Regards
Topaz Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Big well done to the staff. Excellent food! Very clean and tidy Hotel. The staff was very helpful, and always with a smile. The food was amazing.....will definitely go back for a nice relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your review

we look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel

regards
Topaz Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Topaz for two weeks this June
We had a studio on the room only basis.
Its all true that hotel is clean. The room servise is wonderfull. The room itself is basic but has got everything you need.
The location is great. There is a cash and carry shop near by which is important if you are on self catering. The bus stops are near by to different destinations
Negatives though are:
We lived in a room with an inland view which means your windows go to the street and its a tourist nightmare if you are a sensitive sleeper. The hotel is in a residential area so the life here starts at 4 in the morning when the first truck comes to collect one kind of waste then at 6 am another truck and so on. If you sleep with your balcony door open you can hardly get any sleep. To get an early night sleep is also almost impossible. There is an international boarding school building infront of the hotel and kids are kids. They shout they screem even after 11 pm. To add that all those kids are Russians you get the picture. So make sure you bring earplugs.
You might think why not to sleep with the door closed. Here is another trick.
The hotel has got central airconditioning system and the central air conditioning system barely works and is very loud.
Anyway if you are a light sleeper its not the place.
Wifi is only in the hotel lobby.
All in all its a fair hotel for the price of 13 Euro pp RO
If you are interested in meal options make sure you buy it together with the room otherway the price in a hotel restaurant can surprise you. For example the hotel offers you 4 euro deal for buffet breakfast as compared to 9.5 euro if you decide to buy it direct from the hotel restaurant. Dinner is also a good deal of 8 euros compared with 17,5 Euro if not booked together with a room.
Weekends are also can be very busy as Maltese like to spend their family weekends in the hotel by the pool. It gets really crazzy so you better plan travel activities during the weekend as there is no chance to relax by the pool . It can be done during the week.
Would I go back to Topaz if I ever in Malta? Yes .,if I get a good price deal again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Georgita2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Georgita

thanks for your review which we have gone through.

We are looking at ways to further enhance the positive experience at our hotel and we have taken your observations on board to strive to improve further

thanks and regards

Topaz Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews