We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paul from Malta” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Topaz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Topaz Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Sliema, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paul from Malta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Topaz Hotel is a Hotel that is in a prime location, very near to the beach, restaurants , night life etc... good value for money. I recomend this Hotel. I have stayed 1 night will surely go back in August.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor was ok looking at the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    517
    263
    110
    75
See reviews for
285
599
112
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We are a young couple and stayed here for 4 nights in july 2014. The hotel was busy but not overcrowded and was adequate for our last mionute deal- although some of the reviews on here made me question our booking I had no reason to doubt it and if I visited I wouldn't mind staying again. it was quiet in the evenings at bedtime and you cant hear the louder music from other places at all

Room- well equipped with hairdryer, shower gel, towels and general basics. bed was a double as requested and was clean tidy and couldn't fault the cleanliness as some reviewers did. The room was more than clean, was immaculante- maids visited EVERY day to replenish towels and tidy up.

Breakfast- we stayed on a b and b basis so I cant comment on evening meals as we prefer to eat out. the breakfast was good, lots to choose from, from cereal to full English or cold meats. lots of drinks to choose from from water/orange juice to hotchoco and coffee! all food was fresh and replenished often so there was no skanky bits of dry bacon which you can sometimes get at buffet type b and bs.

Staff- helpful, good English speaking and friendly. all staff whether a maid or the receptionist said hello/good morning and were always polite and friendly

facilities- pool was clean and well kept, plenty of sunbeds and well maintained throughout our visit. the indoor pool was also open, clean and looked after. there was a games room for children and also a shallow paddling pool. there was free wifi for all guests but it was a little slow at times.

Room Tip: as for pool view- AWAY from lifts as they are noisy in the mornings!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise_harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are glad you had a pleasant stay at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Nice staff, full of noisy kids on vacation. Poor internet connection, only in some points in the lobby, where people are crowding for the same reason.
Food ok, cleanness so-so, no beach at all( it says it is situated ten minutes away from the shore, that is stony.
Not far from the bus stop, but all buses are always late in Malta:))

Room Tip: Both the rooms facing the street and the ones facing the pool are terribly noisy, so....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Novembertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

thanks for your comments. Unfortunately we do not have control over the noise generated by in house guest (irrespective of age). what we can assure is that we ask all guests (and any applicable group leaders) to respect fellow in-house guests in order for all to have an enjoyable stay.

As to the beach in the vicinity, this is not an amenity of the hotel but in Bubigga there is both a rocky beach as well as a small sandy beach a few minutes walk from the hotel in the direction of the Bugibba centre.

We will also ask our WIFI service providers to check the signal of the WIFI in the lobby to ensure it is in proper working order

Regards
The Topaz Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Took a very last minute 3 night break through Choice Holidays (booked Friday night and flew Saturday) to Malta and was offered the Topaz Hotel.
Apart from a slight room glitch not helped by arriving at 3 in the morning I found the hotel more than adequate.
Large but well run with super friendly and helpful staff throughout - excellent large room with balcony and kitchenette ( T433 ) - good choice for breakfast and clean poolside.
As others have mentioned the only downside is that they are taking large groups of young foreign students who tend to mill around the reception area.
Would i come again - probably not as it is not really my sort of holiday - would I recommend it for couples and families - certainly!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shorttriptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your comments and positive review

Regards
Topaz Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attard, Malta
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We went for a day by the pool which is very big and lovely. Nice atmosphere and lots of deckchairs and umbrellas. We even had lunch in the pool restaurant, food very good and excellent service. My daughter came to this hotel for a week-end break and she was very satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review and we are glad you had a good time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsascala, Malta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just arrived from 5 nights at Topaz. Good choice of food, bedding was changed and room cleaned daily. Pool at times was crowed with French students which were very loud and arrogant but at certain time it was very quite. Rooms are spacious and very friendly staff especially the staff that worked at the pool bar and around the pool. Good value for money and would recommend it. In fact I will be going again for three days in September. Ozone WiFi is slow and not worth it. You can use WiFi at reception area.

Room Tip: Pool view is brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Jackie

Thanks for your review and kind words

We will certainly see with Ozone about the WIFI service issue

thanks
Topaz Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Having recently stayed in this hotel, I cannot say that it is a 4 star one. I can only assume that the on site spa bumps up the rating.
My partner and I were only staying for a 3 night break and needed a base hotel. However, I would still expect to be comfortable. The first room we had was abysmal. Okay, we got the double bed as requested but the pool view was only made available by a 3 foot by 3 foot window and in the corner edge of the room. I opened the curtains but the second on the right hand side was covering a wall! Then there was the sound of the groaning lift which people used all the time because walking 6 steps to get to the pool on the first floor was too tricky (the students were the main offenders). Thankfully we were moved the next day to a room with a balcony. The sacrifice had to be for the shower as this was now a tiny cubicle space with an old curtain.
The language school that was based there caused the largest headache. The students were rude, noisy and unsupervised. After having a day of exploring and wanting to go back to the hotel to relax was not on the cards. They dominated the swimming pool area.
The breakfast was passable and the cocktails were lovely. The staff were also helpful. The price of the hotel shows that it is only a 2* and if you are staying here, do not expect peace & quiet. I would not be going back nor will I recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Janine

Many thanks for your review. As you mention in your review, our staff sought to offer a room change following your in-resort complaint as the first room wasn't entirely to one's liking and the alternative room was accepted.

As to the noise caused by other guests, irrespective of their age or origin we ask all guests (and group leaders) to respect other guests although having said that we do not have control (or the responsibility) of a person's behavior.

We welcome the positive comments about the food and the cocktails as well as the scoring about cleanliness and staff.

Were we can improve we will certainly look into it.

Regards
Topaz Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.9 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#5 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topaz Hotel

Property: Topaz Hotel
Address: Triq Censu Tanti, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3025, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Topaz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Topaz Hotel is a 326 room non-smoking 3 star hotel (as classified by the Malta Tourism Authority) that first opened its doors to customers in 1987. Situated in a quiet part of St. Paul's Bay (Geographical co-ordinates: 35.9469, 14.41209), 700 metres from Bugibba's main square and 800 meters from Bugibba's sea front promenade and its rocky beach. The Malta National Aquarium, the Empire Cinemas as well as the Bird Park are also in the vicinity of the hotel. The accommodation is split over 5 floors in three buildings (with an underpass linking two buildings) having six lifts and has rooms with balcony with internal residential street views or views of the outdoor pool (subject to a paid upgrade) as well as rooms without a balcony. All rooms include a bath or shower and the use of a fridge. A safe is available at a charge of €1.50 per room per day. A flat screen TV with various channels completes the room amenities. The rooms are air-conditioned and heated (times may apply) and rooms may be checked in from 14:00 and all rooms have to be checked out by 11:00. The hotel operates a 24/7 reception desk as well as a pub (closed in the summer months) and a restaurant serving self service buffet meals, a hairdresser, a massage parlour a souvenir shop, hospitality desks, vending machines with hot and cold drinks. The topaz is a free wifi hotel. all areas including the rooms have free wi fi access via facebook entry. The hotel has a multi-use area, 2 small conference rooms and a large hall. The hotel also provides a free four day a week service to Mellieha Bay during the summer months, bookable at the reception desk. The large outdoor pool, which was re-constructed in 1995, has free sunbeds for in-house clients. Bus stop "Pijunieri" is around 300 metres away from the hotel and can take you further north or towards Valletta. The Topaz hotel team wishes you a good stay with a good/price relation service. Anything we can do to ensure this kindly contact our duty managers, head receptionist, housekeeper, maintenance team member. The Topaz Hotel staff shall see to your requirements whilst you are still in resort as nothing can be done after your departure.Kindly contact our duty managers whilst in resort. Any requests for anniversary, birthday, newlyweds, special occasion presents, food and drink can be quoted separately by our catering department. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotel.de, LoveHolidays, TravelUp and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topaz Aparthotel Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Topaz Aparthotel And Casino
Topaz Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing