We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good value for money”
Review of Topaz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Topaz Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel is located in a very nice area of the village. The Service was always satisfactory and overall it was a very pleasurable and relaxing weekend. Not to mention that this hotel offers very good value for money. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words and review

we are happy that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

956 - 962 of 1,681 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Visited topaz with a group of friends, we were greeted by great staff amd very well taken care of even Street maybe to many parties.... fantastic buffet amd great English Breakfast. Location is easily accessible and surrounded by great beach destinations

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review

we are glad you had a pleasant stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Good hotel with a good location which is close to all amenities in the area. Staff were friendly and the room clean. The food was plentiful and varied. As i said for the price paid this is a great place.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Malcatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review

We are glad to see that your stay with us was a pleasant one

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Excellent service and cleanliness. Their vending machines are impeccable and also have tea for those who dislike coffee! Very relaxing ambience. Highly recommended for a well-deserved refreshing break.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rin287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your comments

we are glad to see how our amenities are appreciated and your stay was a pleasant one

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was a great hotel for what we paid.... before i booked i was a bit skeptical but since arrival i was satisfied with all that the hotel offers. I am Happy with the Service food and all that The hotel had to offeriert.great experience.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Seb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for review

We are glad you have a pleasant stay at our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a stay with my wife at the Topaz Hotel and I do not have enough words to praise this hotel. First class was the b'fast and dinner always good fresh Mediterranean food with an excellent service. The rooms are are of a good standard, quiet and like all the rest of the hotel spotless clean. The pool and the pool area was very relaxing with crystal clear water in swimming pool. I will certainly return to the Topaz Hotel and will not hesitate to recommend it to all my friends.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank 21,378,350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review

We are glad to see that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Arrived at the Topaz on 24.07.14 after an early flight from Manchester, checked in and was told to take a lift down one floor from reception go along a corridor to another lift & then go to our room on the fourth floor. We thought this a little strange but went along with it, we passed the gift shop & place where the fish nibble all the dead skin off your feet (manouvered our cases over the hosepipe straddling the corridor and tried to ignore the damp musty smell as we passed) went down in the first lift along the corridor & got to the second lift which wasn't working ( a regular occurrence at the Topaz) so up four flights of narrow dimly lit stairs with 3 suitcases we went passing bags of rubbish left in the corridor on our way. On entering room 4474 we were met with a dated dark room with no air conditioning, no balcony furniture and a broken toilet which didn't flush (my husband fixed this), we then realised we were across the road from the Topaz hotel in an annex building, we joked that there would be no nipping back to the room from the pool if we forgot something as it'd probably take all day !!
We went to the pool area, which was busy and attempted to get a drink at the bar, after waiting ten minutes whilst the one member of staff made milkshakes we gave up and went to explore the area ending up on the seafront about ten minutes walk away which was lovely.
As we'd had an early start we attempted an afternoon siesta, then the chaos began. Doors banging, kids screeching, running up and down corridors hammering on various doors as they went, it was relentless and this was 4.30pm ???? Yes the infamous language students were in the building, my husband asked them to be quiet, when this didn't work he shouted at them to have consideration for others in the building, this didn't work either.
As we'd heard the management had not shown any concern when previous guests had encountered these children ??? (12 years upwards with little or no supervision) we contacted Travel Republic who immediately acknowledged the problem, they had obviously had complaints before & agreed the accommodation & its inmates behaviour was not acceptable, they advised they would look at getting us moved to another hotel probably the day after as it was getting late by this time. We gratefully accepted this, stating we would try & put up with it that night. Around midnight we had just returned to our room after a lovely meal in town when what sounded like a riot began, when we looked out there must have been approx 200 young students stood outside the main entrance chanting and shouting, it was chaos again & would probably have been quite intimidating to have to pass through. We couldn't shut the balcony doors as we had no air-con, this was not quite how we'd imagined a few relaxing days away would be !!!!!!
The following day we went out of the hotel as we couldn't stand to be around these rude , arrogant youngsters, we searched the internet for other available hotels in the area and whilst in a local bar it seemed to be that everyone we spoke to knew about the Topaz's reputation and weren't surprised at what we were experiencing.
We went to reception and asked to be moved,Travel Republic had contacted management who offered us another room which they assured us would be quieter. We agreed to have a look at it, it seemed to be in the process of a re-furb, the bedroom furniture was built in and looked brighter and modern, don't think they'd got round to the kitchen units in there as they looked a little tired, there was a form of air-con, balcony furniture and the room overlooked the pool, we agreed to give it a go on the understanding that if we had a repeat of the previous nights behaviour they would move us to another hotel.
Some of the communal areas we encountered throughout the buildings smelt a little damp and musty and the lobby area was also over run with students every time we went through it.
The whole atmosphere at the Topaz left us wanting to spend our time away from the hotel, not what we had wanted from our relaxing break !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Many people locally are aware of the Topaz's reputation and all say book somewhere else, do yourself a favour and do just that, don't entertain this place !!
Granted the rate we paid was reasonable for a four star hotel, but this at best is a two star !!!
If the Topaz needs to take in students to survive then maybe they should state this on their booking criteria, the hotel has potential to be a nice place once fully re-furbished it's a shame it probably won't get the chance !!
The Maltese people we met outside the hotel were very helpful and friendly and this is why we will probably return in the future but never ever to the Topaz !!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank julie_owen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review

We would like to inform all guests that majority of student groups have now checked out and the remaining days will see further check outs.

We apologize for this inconvenience. We ask all guests of any age/origin and group leaders to respect other in house guests and avoid causing nuisance.

We will also address the issue of long waiting time at the bar with our bar staff so that we improve on this.

The topaz hotel is structured in separate blocks which combined together make the footprint of the hotel.....the wings of the hotel are accessible via a corridor and comes onto the other side of the road - the location of the block does not mean it is a separate hotel and it forms part of the hotel and enjoys all the amenities.

We cooperated with your agent (and local supplier) with whom the booking was made and sought to find the best solution for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,390 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,957 reviews
0.9 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topaz Hotel

Address: Triq Censu Tanti, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3025, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £27 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Topaz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Topaz is a 326 room non-smoking 3 star hotel (as classified by the MTA). In a quiet part of St. Paul's Bay (co-ordinates: 35.9469, 14.41209), 700 metres from Bugibba's main square and 800 meters from Bugibba's sea front promenade. The accommodation is split over 5 floors in three buildings (with an underpass linking two buildings) having six lifts and has rooms with balcony with internal residential street views or views of the outdoor pool (subject to a paid upgrade) as well as rooms without a balcony. All rooms include a bath or shower and the use of a fridge, free safe and kettle. The rooms are air-conditioned and heated (times may apply) and rooms may be checked in from 14:00 and checked out by 11:00. The hotel operates a 24/7 reception desk, a pub (closed in the summer) a restaurant serving buffet meals, hairdresser, a massage, a souvenir shop, hospitality desks, vending machines. The topaz is a free wifi hotel. Duty Managers available 24/7 for any assistance required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topaz Aparthotel Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Topaz Aparthotel And Casino
Topaz Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing