We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wknd break with friends” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Topaz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Topaz Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
San Gwann, null, Malta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“wknd break with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

we went there on Friday for a wknd break till Monday we were a group of 20 and we are very happy because it was a good break the hotel was clean and our room was big and clean and the ac was ok aswell , we was on hb basis the food was good more than our expectations and the pool is nice we spent 4 days there that we cannot say nothing wrong on this hotel we realy enjoyed it and for shure we will go there someday

Room Tip: corner rooms un the south
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iman Lourdes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    517
    263
    110
    75
See reviews for
285
599
112
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

An excellent hotel to be in at St Paul's bay. We as a couple we stay for three nights on a summer offer. For Euros 208 we stayed in a room on HALF BOARD basis overlooking the pool. A sizable one to accommodate many residents,young -not so young- senior citizens. But the best of the pool is that you have your mind at rest with kids having their own shallow pool. The service is excellent. Breakfast and dinner,buffet, were lavish and of varied choice. We felt like tourists in our own country. What I mostly appreciated is that Mr.Robert Arrigo is always present and answering questions himself too. I would obviously be going again this same summer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilbugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your comments

We are glad you had a pleasant stay at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked a weeked break at The Topaz Hotel and it turned out to be a mini holiday. The hotel is excellently situated in the centre of Bugibba very near to the sea, pubs and shops. We took a very good offer and it turned out to be very good value for money, with clean and excellent service during our stay and a large variety of food served during the buffet breakfast and dinner. Excellent value for money and would highly recommend it to others!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naxxar, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I book a weekend break with my wife at Hotel Topaz. Honestly was just expecting a get-away location just to relax. But the hotel was far better then we expected. Room are great and service was top notch! We ended not leaving the hotel and let ourselves be spoilt. And to add to things the prices are very affordable when compared to others

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLoveToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review

we strive to give all guests a good service and a pleasant stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Resided in this hotel for 3 weeks whilst taking care of my French group coming to Malta to learn English. Have nothing to complain about, the food was pleasant and the staff there is very helpful. The hotel is also located close to all amenities in the area. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review and comments
we are glad you had a pleasant stay at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is very clean, pool area is lovely and daily maid service made it a comfortable stay. However, many of the hotel facilities are closed such as bar and restaurant (there is one available bar and restaurant by pool area). We had planned to visit the hotel spa but either missed the opening hours, or there was simply nobody available to speak to at the spa. Area is very nice but if you are looking for a relaxing stay at the hotel, be sure to avoid summer holidays as many students who travel there together are by the pool or lounging around in the lobby in large groups and can be very noisy. Overall an average stay, would not visit again due to previous mentioned reasons and we did not get a good night's sleep, air con/fan did not make much of a difference and mattresses not very comfortable (also had to push two single beds together even though we paid for a double room)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Molly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review

The hotel has a massage parlour and not a spa. times can be found in the information sheets in the rooms and the hotel notices.

We will make sure to have the aircon/fan checked out to see if there is any fault although we noticed that no report was made during your stay as we could have seen to repair any fault, if there was, to solve the problem.

We also would like to confirm that whilst there were students in resort in some past weeks, the majority of the said groups are no longer in resort from the 4th August onwards and in the coming days more the reaminig groups would have checked out from the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Located exactly off d promande of St' Paul's bay facing an amazing view of d sea from d Rooms and pool area.
Great bfast/buffet/diner and very friendly helpful stuff one of d best in d area .
Well done Managment and stuff

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are glad you had a pleasant stay at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.9 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,494 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#5 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topaz Hotel

Property: Topaz Hotel
Address: Triq Censu Tanti, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3025, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Topaz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Topaz Hotel is a 326 room non-smoking 3 star hotel (as classified by the Malta Tourism Authority) that first opened its doors to customers in 1987. Situated in a quiet part of St. Paul's Bay (Geographical co-ordinates: 35.9469, 14.41209), 700 metres from Bugibba's main square and 800 meters from Bugibba's sea front promenade and its rocky beach. The Malta National Aquarium, the Empire Cinemas as well as the Bird Park are also in the vicinity of the hotel. The accommodation is split over 5 floors in three buildings (with an underpass linking two buildings) having six lifts and has rooms with balcony with internal residential street views or views of the outdoor pool (subject to a paid upgrade) as well as rooms without a balcony. All rooms include a bath or shower and the use of a fridge. A safe is available at a charge of €1.50 per room per day. A flat screen TV with various channels completes the room amenities. The rooms are air-conditioned and heated (times may apply) and rooms may be checked in from 14:00 and all rooms have to be checked out by 11:00. The hotel operates a 24/7 reception desk as well as a pub (closed in the summer months) and a restaurant serving self service buffet meals, a hairdresser, a massage parlour a souvenir shop, hospitality desks, vending machines with hot and cold drinks. The topaz is a free wifi hotel. all areas including the rooms have free wi fi access via facebook entry. The hotel has a multi-use area, 2 small conference rooms and a large hall. The hotel also provides a free four day a week service to Mellieha Bay during the summer months, bookable at the reception desk. The large outdoor pool, which was re-constructed in 1995, has free sunbeds for in-house clients. Bus stop "Pijunieri" is around 300 metres away from the hotel and can take you further north or towards Valletta. The Topaz hotel team wishes you a good stay with a good/price relation service. Anything we can do to ensure this kindly contact our duty managers, head receptionist, housekeeper, maintenance team member. The Topaz Hotel staff shall see to your requirements whilst you are still in resort as nothing can be done after your departure.Kindly contact our duty managers whilst in resort. Any requests for anniversary, birthday, newlyweds, special occasion presents, food and drink can be quoted separately by our catering department. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays and Hotel.de so you can book your Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topaz Aparthotel Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Topaz Aparthotel And Casino
Topaz Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing