We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again”
Review of Damiani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Damiani Hotel
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Basic clean and tidy, staff very friendly no issues with this hotel enjoyed my 7 days stay here would definitely stay here again. Good location five minutes walk from square, good eating place is the bucanneer. Only downside you had to pay 8 euros per night for airconditioning for the room.

Room Tip: ask for room 52 or 42, these are rooms at front with a street view, and also easy access for pool wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 723andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

My wife and I have just come back from an enjoyable week in Malta staying at the Damiani Hotel and Studios.
The accommodation, although basic and not on the seafront, was fine, a reasonably sized studio with minimal cooking facilities but with a decent sized fridge and kettle, (perfectly adequate as we ate out each evening) and a small balcony. Our studio was on the 5th floor overlooking the front of the hotel (room 52), we had emailed ahead to request a room at the front and that was provided.
Everyone was friendly and the room was cleaned very well daily.
The hotel is just 5-10 minutes walk to the square and sea front where there are numerous bars, cafes and restaurants to choose from, most enjoyable meal was at the Bugies restaurant 100 metres up from the square, 3 courses plus tea or coffee for 12.95 euros.
Buses were good to get around the island 2.65 euros for the day or 12 euros for a weekly ticket, we did find you had to go down to the bus station first to guarantee a place on the bus as once they are full they don't stop.
All in all we would recommend the hotel for its cleanliness, friendliness and accessibility to restaurants and seafront.
Dave and Fran from Eastbourne

Room Tip: High floor at the front for distant sea view and some sunshine on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DaveEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel was terrible. The room we were given on arrival was appalling. The balcony looked out on to a slum and the hotel didn't bother to tell us when we book about the construction work on going during our stay. There was no water pressure in the shower and the facilities were poor. After three nights we were moved to the front side of the hotel and the shower was slightly better. The self catering equipment was sub standard and there was one fork in the room. The chamber maids would only clean rooms when it suited them and not working around the needs of customers. The staff on reception were nice and helpful enough but I felt embarrassed for them as we heard loads of complaints from other guests. How this hotel has received positive reviews is beyond comprehension. It is a very poor hotel in a dirty and dingy location. This was a one star hotel at best, one o the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. We booked this hotel on the strength of Trip Advisor reviews which are blatantly false and will never again use trip advisor as the basis for a holiday booking. Too easy it would seem to manipulate.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Biiiiig_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I booked this on line and was pleased with the choice once I arrived. The apartment was clean and modern and had all the facilities that i would need. The staff were all helpful and friendly and this is a well situated hotel and good value for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for 7 nights. It has a reception area with free wifi and access to a computer which was great for sorting out trips etc.Our room was quiet, clean and spacious. For 50 euros per night it was great value and I would recommend it. It is self catering but we mostly ate out.

Chris who did the booking was very helpful and Eva the receptionist was brilliant and all staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

This a very nice hotel I recommend it to anyone who's looking for a cheap but nice,clean, well taken care of hotel, very nice pool, responsive and friendly staff the rooms are clean and modern they are well taken care of by the maids who by the way are very friendly and would talk to me about Malta and tell me the nice places to visit

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hhhghggygf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Positives
+Good size of room for 2 people
+Cleaned well daily
+Price
+Friendly Staff
+Has a swimming pool
+Has a lift
+5 minutes walk from the promenade with restaurants, 2 small supermarkets on the same road of the hotel and 1 larger supermarket 5-minute walk away.

Okay
=The hotel does not have allocated parking, but you can park near by on the roads. However even in September we sometimes had to walk back a long way to the hotel after parking due to a high demand in parking

Negatives
-Room was facing other apartments and therefore little sunlight came in through the window
-Room required renovating, (Rusty shower floor, Ceiling Tile had a leak which was stuffed with a tissue).
-Room was rather hot even in September although there is a fan provided. Air conditioning costs 8Euro per day extra
-There was a door separating the room next door causing noise from next door to be quite loud

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rear are dark all day round, okay if you are site seeing most of the time. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Paul's Bay hotels
0 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,991 reviews
0 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
526 reviews
0 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,694 reviews
0 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,401 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damiani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damiani Hotel

Address: Triq il-Hgejjeg, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in St. Paul's Bay
Hotel Class:3 star — Damiani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Damiani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damiani Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing