We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Damiani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Damiani Hotel
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at The Damiani for two weeks in June. Despite what some people say it's in a nice quiet location and quite a short walk to the square if you find the right route. We contacted them in advance and asked for a room at the front which they kindly did. The cooking facilities are basic, a single hob and halogen oven but we knew enough decent restaurants that it wasn't a problem. There was plenty of hot water and the shower over the bath was what weI expected for a holiday hotel. The room was cleaned everyday, even on days when we told them they didn't need to do it and there was always clean towels. There was washing up liquid, a sponge and tee-towel provided but we found the cups too small so bought some, they were nice enough to bring home and a good reminder.

The pool area is superb and kept clean at all times, they bar downstairs is good and they got big screens set up for the football which was nice.

We are not the sort to ask many questions in reception but they were helpful in letting us stay in the room longer on our last day which was appreciated.

You get what you pay for at this hotel,

Room Tip: Phone or Email via Facebook page and ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ritchiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    79
    27
    5
    10
See reviews for
30
83
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I feel this is a tricky review to write - why ? - because of the price we paid and the fact that we had never been to Malta before. So here goes.
Our flight arrived in the morning and we were pleasantly surprised that a studio was ready for us to go to straight away, I did get a phone call a couple of days before flying out to ask if we were still going and what time we got in, a very nice touch I think. First impressions of the studio (no 48) was it was a good size. It had a double and a single bed, a sofa - which was a sofa bed, a large wardrobe, set of drawers, old portable tv which was absolutely useless, dining table, 3 chairs and a kitchen area at the end of the living space.
This consisted of a fridge with small freezer compartment, which we had to defrost, a table top cooker of oven/grill and 2 rings and an additional 2 ring appliance, toaster and kettle. In my opinion really all you need for a holiday kitchen. On the negative side the hot water in the kitchen was extremely slow running and the hot water tap handle kept falling off as the stop was missing and there was no plug in the sink. I had taken a washup sponge so put the washup liquid, which is provided, on that and washed the dishes under running water. There was crockery for 3 some of which were chipped and the glassware was a mismatch. The bathroom was large and we found the water pressure ok and we always had plenty of hot water. A couple of cracked tiles and some ingrained mould around the soap tray over the bath but nothing that bad. The wifi worked in the room most of the time for us, in the evening you had to move nearer the door to get reception, that really wasn't a problem. We never paid the 8 euros a night for the air con, we slept with the balcony door open and we soon got aclimatized.
The room was to the front of the hotel with a smallish balcony which got the sun in the morning. It does overlook 2 bars which to start with we thought would cause a problem but they weren't too bad. The view wasn't great but heah it was of Malta and being at the front was certainly better than being at the rear which overlooked private flats with the washing an goodness knows what on show.
Our room was cleaned and the beds made every day and you can have your towels changed daily should you wish. Use the sign on your door.
Of course there is always the roof terrace by the pool to sit on. There is a sea view from here and there are tables and chairs should you want to eat there and of course sunbeds. I think they were possibly the most uncomfortable sunbeds I ever used. Didn't put me off though as I was up there every afternoon. The pool is a godsend for cooling down. I recon it's about 8 x 4 meters. The main problem with the pool was the scum around the water line. It wouldn't take much to wash this away with a bucket and a cloth. It was never that busy when we were there.
The apartments are central and within easy walking distance of the sea (no beach ), Bugibba square where most of the restaurants and popular bars seem to be, the bus station (a tip we were given is to get on the bus at the stop before the bus station, which is just up from the Square ) etc. We did a couple of trips on the local bus, Mdina and Valletta and it was no problem. Both worth a visit. We also did a half day cruise tour of the caves and Comino which we enjoyed but half a day was enough.
The supermarket to the right and on the other side of the street as you leave the apartments has most things you may need just don't expect a smile.
If you fancy a posh looking lido a new one has just opened up next to the aquarium, up from the Square, it is 10 euros a day for lesser sunbeds or 15 euros for the big thick white ones. There is an infinity pool. It did look lovely but I was put of by the music they seemed to play constantly.
Now the Damiani apartments are they value for money - probably yes. Would we stay here again I'm afraid not. Mind you I don't think Malta has won our hearts.
Thanks to Rutger who was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just arrived back in England after ten days at this place check in ok then we got to our room we thought we was in Iran we was facing blocks of flats for the Maltese people washing hanging over the balcony one Maltese fellow had us up 630am chopping wood to make a fence music up blasting away the room ok on safe in room bathroom so so kitchen we used the little fridge and kettle the telly all we got was lines going on it the wifi not all that you may be lucky to get it one day not the next the room cleaners need to have a lesson in cleaning they come in took the bag out the bin put towels in bathroom that was it it was a sham of a place the bar one night it would be open the next night closed the pool was ok just needed a very good clean we will not be going back again think twice before you book

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just got back from 10 days at the Damiani and we both had a brilliant time, the rooms were more than we expected for the price, large room with all utilities and also decent sized bathroom with powerful walk in shower was more than adequate. There was a good sized and well kept pool with good views of Buggiba from roof terrace.

Hotel has its own bar with lots to offer, many of the prices beat those found at the local establishments so a great place to kick back.

Staff were excellent and would go out their way to help! Big thank you to William, Charles and Rutger for a great service and making us feel very welcome!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L00k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for 10 nights. Like all of my reviews I make the judgement on what I paid versus what I expect for the money. I paid about £20 per night and had a room on the 4th floor facing the front of the hotel.
The rooms were clean. A bit of mould around the bath seal, but nothing to worry about. Cleaner came around every day and you get clean towels every day if you want them. We had a double and single bed, a settee, and a small kitchen area with two cooking rings, an oven, and a fridge. We only used the fridge.
The sockets in Malta are the same as the UK so there is no need of adaptors for British holidaymakers. They have irons and hairdryers you can have from reception. There's no fee, but there's a €10 returnable deposit.
Everyone on reception was helpful, for example, helping us print off boarding passes. The hotel sells bottled water at €3 for 6 two litre bottles...Similar prices to the Supermarkets. They also arranged a taxi for us to go to the airport.
The Damiani is about 10 minutes walk down the hill to Buggiba square.
I have given this a rating of five. It's not the Hilton, but then again, it's not €200 a night. Brilliant Value!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billysouthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I spent 11 days on this place to find an apartment to live. It's a nice place with a good value for money with some amenities and some surprises.

The room was a "flat" with a small kitchen with cooker, a small fridge and all that we need to cook inside. Also, one double bed and one single bed cleaned every day (including Sundays). The hotel have a good pool on the roof with a nice view from the ocean and the staff is friendly. They have a good internet connection for free with a good signal inside the room.

The bad points are: I had a problem with the fridge that I talk to the manager to solve but he never check it. Also, the TV just have 2 local channels in a small television.

It's was a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmichelazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel was fantastic value. Huge room. Could not believe that for this price we got a sea view! Beautiful rooftop pool. A few minutes walk to the resort area by the sea. 15-minute walk to main bus station. Fridge and kitchenette. Great staff, very accommodating and helpful. The pool area was beautiful, luxurious and clean, with great view.
The kitchenette was not that well equipped. We would have liked a coffee machine. You have to ask to borrow a hair dryer; it is not part of the bathroom furnishings. Had to ask for extra (enough) towels a few times, but really, this is a budget hotel so you have to manage expectations. Remember (we didn't) that you must bring UK power adapters NOT Europe.
Malta is beautiful and very easy to explore by bus. We were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of Damiani!

Room Tip: We asked for a room on a high floor with a sea view, and that's what we got on the 5th floor. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BestAlsFan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Gillieru Harbour Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.1 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 15 in Qawra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damiani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damiani Hotel

Property: Damiani Hotel
Address: Triq il-Hgejjeg, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in St. Paul's Bay
Hotel Class:3 star — Damiani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Damiani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damiani Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing