We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MALTA IS GREAT, AS IS THE DOLMEN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I was in Malta for some business and turned it into a short holiday. The dolmen was fantastic. The room was fine, with a balcony and air conditioning that worked, very modern. The lay out of the place is excellent with several pools on terraces leading to the sea. Though there is no sand, the tiled beach area is large and comfortable, with beach chairs, umbrellas and an attentive staff. Kids tended to stay in the kids pool area, adults by the sea. A great mix of families, couples and singles of many nationalities. Buffet breakfast was overwhelming standard, but, many different restaurants in the area for great local and Italian dishes. And, the island is simply beautiful, Valletta an incredibly gorgeous, small, well planned baroque city. And the Caravaggio of John the Baptist , in the cathedral of the same name, is a must see for anyone, art lover or not. A great spot, too often overlooked.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Joseph M,

Thank you so much for the favorable comments that you have kindly placed following your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

We certainly do our utmost to provide good service and quality facilities so your satisfaction is ours too.

We hope to welcome you to Malta once again and thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,

Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,545 - 1,551 of 2,944 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

once again our holiday to the dolmen could not be faulted.front desk always more than helpfull
the girls,the porter,the manager jonathan,they all cant do enough for you.thanks again.
also the staff in the temple bar,the deli,the lido,and pool bars,do a great job.see you all in about eight weeks.

Room Tip: sea and pool view rooms are always better but the sun can get very hot.if you want cool shady balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smurrayScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear SmurrayScotland,

We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Dolmen Resort and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Malta!

With our warm regards
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Just come back from a 2 week stay in The Dolmen Resort Hotel. Fantastic hotel. There were 3 of us that shared a room which was a good size and a big bathroom. The room was lovely and clean and was cleaned everyday by Radostina who was a lovely friendly lady with a smile and a greeting for you. The food was fantastic. We stayed half board and I have never eaten so much everyday for a long time. Bugibba it self was a lovely place with fantastic views over the bay. Gorgeous sunset every night. Staff were helpful and friendly, the dining room staff very pleasent and attentive. Reception staff were mostly very good. One or two seemed a bit grumpy. Malta is lovely and Valetta a fantastic place to visit. English is spoken every where and all the people are very friendly, even airport staff great. Weather was very hot but pool always had umbrellas to shade you from the burning sun. I loved my stay and so did my sister and mum. Would love to come back here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view as the front of the hotel over looks bus station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish00706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed in Dolmen for 1 week while on a diving holiday. Didn't eat in the hotel as there are loads of different places to eat nearby. Really nice pool area, although they are unattended so kids tend to do what they like around them, can be annoying if all you want to do is swim. People at reception had a strange manner but seems to be the way in Malta. Overall good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RM356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear RM356,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

As a management team, we do take all comments very seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues.

Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.

With our warmest regards
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed n the Dolmen for 10 days. The rooms were fine, the staff kind and helpful but very special was the animation team. They give the hotel a unique atmosphere. They make a room for play, laugh, dance and fun and these young people manage to combine it all - across national boundaries and age limits.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear Charlotte B,

Firstly, allow me on behalf of the Dolmen team to show our sincere appreciation for making time to share with fellow travelers your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at the Dolmen Resort and we do look forward to welcoming you back again in the future, and in the eventuality I am inviting you to contact us directly.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Just returned to from a lovely holiday at the Dolemen. The hotel was lovely, very clean, Staff was really freindly especially in the cafe deloris the only complaint would of been the reception staff on arrival not smiling, I know it was late at night but a smile goes a long way. on arrival to our room 250 we was disapointed not have the sea view which we asked for, we was going to complain in the morning but decided we would stay. The bathroom door well who wants a see through door especilly when you are in the bathroom and the door opens and the cleaner enters and the first place they come to is the bathroom not good. Mini bar in the bedroom was a good idea but with being all inclusive I think it should of been free since it only had soft drinks in a a couple of beers in. But priced very reasonable a kettle in the room would of been good. food in the hotel was very good.the drinks in the all invclusive was good and a very good choice and it was nice being waited on, it would of been even better if you could use the poolside bar as well in the all inclusive. Entertaiment was good especially the line dancing but you could not join in as all the locals hog the floor and you feel intimidated We had a late check out and could not extend the room but was told we could use the showers in the spa, they was not very well kept dirty towels left on the floor empty bottle of shampoo every were and floor very slippy The hotel was very central lots going on plenty of thing to do, would definatly go back

Room Tip: ask for sea view when booking and when you check in make sure to ask if it is sea view before going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sweetieLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear SweetieLancaster,

Firstly, allow me on behalf of the Dolmen team to show our sincere appreciation for making time to share with fellow travelers your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

Rest assured that we have also taken note of your suggestions as these help us to improve further our services and facilities.

May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at the Dolmen Resort and we do look forward to welcoming you back again in the future, and in the eventuality I am inviting you to contact us directly.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Went on sunday 24th of July for 9 nights.
Everytime we go away theres always something wrong with delays or the hotel or something else.. But this holiday was just the best.
The Dolmen Hotel is excellent, we paid £540 for B&B with a sea view (room 469) for 9 nights, We went for my partners 40th, some other family members also came to Malta but couldn't afford to stay at Dolmen so they styaed at Bugibba complex, which was like a prison!! Warning don't stay at bugibba complex!!!! They spent all there time at our hotel using its facilities, we tried to book them into Dolmen with us after 2nd night but the hotel was full for all of our duration here..
The room we had must of had the best views as we were on the 4th floor in the middle of hotel overlooking the pool and the sea, it was beautiful sat watching the sunset. The rooms were cleaned everyday, towels changed when u leave them in the bath.. and they change bed linen if u ask the cleaners to do it.. The bathroom was a good size all modern and clean. Shower not as powerful as i liked it but it works fine. The aircon was great, it was very hot outside so was lovely to have good aircon that works.. we actually had to get under cover at night as it was so cool, we turned it down the next night. I'm glad i brought my own hairdryer else would of been there a while trying to use theres, it wasn't powerful.
The Breakfast was lovely, had everything u could wish for, full english, fruit, cheese meats breads etc... the coffee and juice was good too.
We used the pool with the swim up bar mainly which was great, prices were good. U can put your drinks on the room bill so u dont have to worry about taking money with u. There are 3 other pools too, the one by cafe' Delos is quieter if u want a peaceful swim.. The other 2 pools are down by the sea and are salt water pools.
There are lots of bars in the hotel to choose from, the main bar in hotel does buy on get one free on any drink 1900-2000 everynight which was good. We loved cafe' Delos the food was amazing and the cakes... that coffee and walnut cake is to die for, u can get a latte for 1.50 which is cheap compared to back home.
I could babble on all day about this hotel and malta, recommened to couples and familys. I'm hoping to come back 1st of october with my 8yr old son as he would love it. All in all people this a great 4 star + hotel, All the staff were friendly and helpful, the entertainment staff by pool were great for keeping kids and adults entertained. almost forgot about the spa.. I treated us to a full body massage on his birthday which was great and cost 60 euro each for full body massage, facial, indian head massage and foot reflexology.The manager even put a birthday card and a voucher for a bottle of wine through our door for Waynes birthday which we thought was lovely. Could not fault this hotel one bit.. Highly recommened to all..
Thanks for a great holiday, hopefully be back in october :-)

Room Tip: Get a sea view, its worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmyD83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear AmyD83,

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to place such a fantastic review about the Dolmen Resort Hotel.

Our aim is to make your stay with us as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, so we are very pleased to see that you were satisfied with the service of our staff and all of the facilities we have to offer each and every guest.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Resort and on behalf of the rest of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With warm wishes,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.7 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
495 reviews
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,844 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,886 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolmen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolmen Resort Hotel

Address: Qawra Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2402, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £45 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolmen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful located at the waters edge, the 4 star hotel boasts 375 guest rooms and 38 highly finished superior rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Mediterranean Sea and St. Paul's Islands. All bedrooms and suites are fully air-conditioned, centrally, heated and have their own private bathroom, safe deposit box, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio, mini-bar and hair dryers. The majority of the rooms have a balcony or terrace.The hotel's general facilities include a Conferece Centre, Casino, an A La Carte Restaurant, Buffet Restaurant, Piano Lobby Bar, Cafeteria, Swim-Up Bar, Night Club and Caribbean Style Beach Club offering a variety of water-sports, a Diving Centre, Bars and Restaurant. Four outdoor swimming pools are located within the hotel together with one dedicated for children. The newly designed Spa incorporates state of the art Therapy rooms with the latest equipment as well as a Fitness Room, Indoor Pool with hydro massage and sauna. Animation Activities are provided on a daily basis together with a kids club during the summer months. A regular entertainment is held during the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolmen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Dolmen Hotel St Pauls Bay
Dolmen Hotel Malta
Dolmen Resort Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing