We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in the area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best hotel in the area.”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We enjoyed our week here despite the unusually bad weather last week (Nov 26th 2013).
It's a large hotel with proffessional staff and all the facilities,
Great views from the restaurant and the cafe
The indoor pool by the spa is very small, but outdoor pools and sunbathing areas (by the hotel AND by the sea) would be great in the summer season with many outdoor bars .
we were B+B and there was plenty of choice (but the Orange juice wasn't nice).
The local bus station is 200 yds behind the hotel and the busses go everywhere for 2.60 per day ticket and are frequent.
Lots of restaurants and bars and ice cream places nearby!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimAtBeeb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear TimAtBeeb2013,

We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Dolmen Resort and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Malta!

With our warm regards
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    1,024
    516
    192
    110
See reviews for
699
1,218
131
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed at the this hotel for 1 week. Firstly it is not the easiest hotel to find as the main entrance is round a sort of back street. Once we found it after asking several people the staff were friendly and our surprising apartments which were very clean and spacious bothe with balconies and sea views, were a welcome site. We ate in the cafe the first night and the food and service was very good. Unfortunately there was a snooker/pool competition going on and the hotel was very very busy. Breakfast was buffet style and was plentiful and full of variety, but there was never enough cutlery. would i go back -- yes.

Room Tip: go for the apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cumbytax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Alpal2013,

On behalf of the Dolmen team, I would like to primarily thank you for making the time to kindly post a great review on Trip Advisor.

Rest assured that as a team we certainly engage in doing our utmost to make each and every guests' stay comfortable and pleasant, irrespective of their purpose of travelling.

So we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service of the hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I stayed at the Dolem Hotel from Friday 29th November – Sunday 1st December. Upon arrival I was advised that my room wasn’t ready, which was fine, however when I enquired about where I could get some lunch I was directed quite rudely to the restaurant or café. The restaurant was easy to locate however the café was not so much and the lack of information from the reception staff was partially to blame!

Once I returned to the reception I was given my room card and told where the lift was – there was no further service provided and I felt the overall level of customer service was awful! The room I was given was extremely dated to the extent that on their website Dolmen state that each room has an LCD Plasma TV - I had an old style television (which did the job it was intended for ) but no control - some room are mis-sold!

Luckily I was in Malta working so did not partake use any of the facilities on the Friday evening.

I awoke on Saturday morning and found that the effects of the rain storm on the Friday evening had slightly leaked onto my window sill – the window had not been touched by myself. Once again I was out working all day on Saturday and returned late afternoon and saw that the maid had placed a towel on the sill. I chose to eat dinner at the hotel in café Delos and this was satisfactory for my needs.

To my shock I awoke on Sunday morning to find my floor sodden with water from the rain storm that had continued all day/night on Saturday! I was checking out at 10.30 so decided just to get up and get ready to leave! Whilst checking out I informed reception of this major problem to which I received a response of “oh” and then demanded to pay my bill of 101.29 – my invoice was printed by STOKES at 09.42.

Overall I found the level of customer service awful at the Dolmen (particularly from the reception staff), the room was extremely dated and I do not expect to be greeted in the morning by a large amount of water that has leaked through the window!

I was told about the quality of this hotel prior to my visit and it came highly recommended however I was less than impressed and will never be returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Charlotte B,

We reviewed your comments following your recent stay with us.

Rest assured that as a management team we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.

We do thank you for the comments, which will definitely help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel staff, please do not hesitate to send an email and we will be delighted to address it with you directly.

Sincerely,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

It depends what you are looking for I suppose. For me this hotel was a mistake. It is a hotel that caters for the masses and in many cases " the great unwashed". Reception staff were courteous and polite but with cool and detached tolerance ( and who can blame them as some of the guest were indeed a challenge). The food, like everywhere in Malta was excellent quality. The Spa was very professional and we had a great massage. The disappointment there was that we couldn't use the little spa pool because it was full of locals swimming and leaping about, so it wasn't entirely the relaxing stress free experience that we paid for. The beds, pillows and linen were tolerable but very tired and worn. My husbands mattress smelt of dried pee (Room 602). The sadness for me was that when I got home I found my gold with blue agate ring was missing. It was in the room in a small box inside my bag under some clothing In the back of the wardrobe ( I couldn't get the safe to work). I should have locked it in my case so I accept some responsibility, even though your property should be safe in your room. I know that it was taken although I can't prove it. However, it's only a piece of jewellery so I hope the person involved enjoys wearing it or gets quite a bit of cash for selling it. It was a gift to me from my husbands family so I will miss it. Be warned to keep your valuables locked up. I could relate a lot more about this hotel but really I can't be bothered. An experience never to be repeated.

Room Tip: To the management - Replace the mattress on the bed near the window in room 602.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Marisa T,

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get, so we may resolve any and all issues.

Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel staff, please do not hesitate to send an email so we may address it with you directly.

Sincerely,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This was my second holiday at this Very nice hotel, very clean and helpful staff throughout. The animation team were really great and ran excellent keep fit classes each morning. The best hotel I've seen in Malta.

The only downside was the building work at the hotel opposite but the Dolmen can not help that and it is one of those things.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Wendy P,

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to place such a fantastic review about the Dolmen Resort Hotel.

Our aim is to make your stay with us as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, so we are very pleased to see that you were satisfied with the service of our staff and all of the facilities we have to offer each and every guest.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Resort and on behalf of the rest of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With warm wishes,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our vacation here was in early September. After a flight that departed at 5 AM in the morning, we arrived at 11 AM. Unfortunately we could not check in until 2 PM, which was a bit of a shame but there are restaurants 5 minutes away. We picked one and had our first Maltese meal, and recharged a little. The staff was polite, courteous, and more than helpful. They answered all of our questions and gave us all sorts of recommendations.
We had an all-inclusive stay. The food (buffet) was just delicious. Well heated and a broad variety of choices. Lots of cakes to choose from for dessert as well! The restaurants were very good. I particularly loved Batubulan, which is a grill restaurant with a lounge. The lounge is open all day and we often went there for one of their delicious cocktails. The view from the lounge is gorgeous and the seats are comfortable.
The room was air-conditioned, clean, and everything worked well. More importantly, the cleaners paid the utmost respect for our privacy while cleaning.
The swimming pools were well kept and clean.
There is a bus station nearby with buses going practically everywhere in Malta, and when we were there there was a tour operator in the lobby who sold tickets to hop on-hop off buses. Among others those buses got us to Valetta, Mdina (must see), and the Blue Grotto.
Honestly I can not say anything other than that this is a very recommendable hotel, well worth its price.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with sea view, take it. The back is not as pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Sabrina V,

Thank you so much for the favorable comments that you have kindly placed following your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

We certainly do our utmost to provide good service and quality facilities so your satisfaction is ours too.

We hope to welcome you to Malta once again and thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilseck, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Arriving at the Dolmen hotel on a Tuesday as part of a pre-packaged tour, we discovered that we don't have free wifi because you have to book with the hotel in order to get that. The price 1 euro an hour for wifi. There is not even free wifi in the lobby. OK..on the the check in, the staff are not nice, kind or courteous, they are condescneding to say the least. The rooms, NOT 4*, not even close, the beds are out-dated and look old, there is no color whatsoever in the room. No alarm clocks and the TV didn't have a remote that worked. There was minimal toiletries in the bathroom so thank goodness we brought our own. At first our balcony door was broken, that they did fix promptly. The hotel did and does not look like the website at all. The room was also not very clean. A few times we saw supervisors talking to the cleaners but it seems to go unheeded. On to the dining room, I feel that based on the volume of people that come into the dining room, the staff did a good job of serving hot food. I am an extrememly picky eater so it was difficult for me. However, the people I was traveling with felt that the food was pretty good. It was a buffet for all meals that was included in the price of the tour we took. I have to say that one good note was that on Thanksgiving, the staff deocorated the room in red and blue and wore Amercian flags on their aprons. This was an extra special touch and they also served turkey and typical American Thanksgiving foods. Again, the service was less than desirable, the staff seem to be surly and not real helpful. The one other thing about this hotel, it is quite a distance from Valletta so if you want to stay in the city, don't pick this hotel, it is at lest 45 minutes to the city by bus. There is also a LOT of construction going on in the area and that is also a downfall to the hotel. Just know that overall this is not a 4 star hotel. It is a 3 at best.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Jeri B,

Firstly, allow me to thank you for making the time to share with all your overall experience on the Maltese Islands and indeed at the Dolmen Resort.

Rest assured that all your comments have been well noted and have been passed on to the respective managers for their immediate attention.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we do look forward to have you stay with us once again,

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.7 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,642 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolmen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolmen Resort Hotel

Property: Dolmen Resort Hotel
Address: Qawra Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2402, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolmen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful located at the waters edge, the 4 star hotel boasts 375 guest rooms and 38 highly finished superior rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Mediterranean Sea and St. Paul's Islands. All bedrooms and suites are fully air-conditioned, centrally, heated and have their own private bathroom, safe deposit box, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio, mini-bar and hair dryers. The majority of the rooms have a balcony or terrace.The hotel's general facilities include a Conferece Centre, Casino, an A La Carte Restaurant, Buffet Restaurant, Piano Lobby Bar, Cafeteria, Swim-Up Bar, Night Club and Caribbean Style Beach Club offering a variety of water-sports, a Diving Centre, Bars and Restaurant. Four outdoor swimming pools are located within the hotel together with one dedicated for children. The newly designed Spa incorporates state of the art Therapy rooms with the latest equipment as well as a Fitness Room, Indoor Pool with hydro massage and sauna. Animation Activities are provided on a daily basis together with a kids club during the summer months. A regular entertainment is held during the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dolmen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Dolmen Hotel St Pauls Bay
Dolmen Hotel Malta
Dolmen Resort Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing