We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“winter holiday 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Dolmen Hotel is perfectly located. It is 2 minutes walk to the seafront and is beside the bus station. We found the staff very pleasant and helpful. Food excellent, though self-service. Loved the Maltese music in the restaurant on one of the evenings. Music and dancing in the bar every night. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had third floor room with sea view. Lovely!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Emer M,

We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Dolmen Resort and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Malta!

With our warm regards
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,867)
There are newer reviews for Dolmen Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,122 - 1,128 of 2,867 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Excellent on arrival, super quick and efficient check in. We were then shown to our room, which appeared to be several miles from reception. When we finally arrived, the room much much smaller and not quite as luxurious as the photos suggested. We had a sea view balcony room directly above the casino. No noise at all from the casino and free wi fi which was a bonus. Our view was somewhat restricted although we could see the sea, no panoramic view. On inspection, the room was clean, however, when I pulled back the bed sheets, there were spots of relatively fresh looking blood on the sheets - yuk! This was soon rectified by the house keeping staff though. Very worn hotel, very tired looking and in need of some TLC. The corridor to our room had it's own cat, although a sweet little thing, it used the decorative pebbles in the corridor as a cat lit tray - and obviously peed wherever it wanted as this particular area stank of cat wee! The pebbles were bleached daily, but we did see cat poo frequently!! We had a lot of rain whilst we were there, and the hotel leaked - a lot. On the very top floor there was at least 30 towels soaking up the leaks, and most of the water was cascading over a ledge onto the roof of the casino (an atrium style internal area) I could hear the contact water dripping from my bed! Take your own hairdryer. I ended up having a very bad hair week! Also, ask at reception for a kettle, they provided us with one when asked. We stayed on a B & B basis, and the breakfast was good, not great but adequate. The bar staff are fab, friendly and courteous. If you're after a bit of fun don't bother staying here, it's full of middle aged, rather peculiar guests. Definitely won't return to this hotel - if you want average, this is the one for you!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spiller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Spiller7,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your constructive comments.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the areas where we have fallen short of your expectations. This is certainly not a situation we are happy with, since we strive to maintain the highest possible levels of standards and facilities in order to meet the expectations and desires of our guests.

Indeed your comments have been taken very seriously and have been shared with the Management Team, in order to help us improve further the service that we have to offer.

Thank you once again for your feedback. Your constructive comments will only assist us in continually improving on the services we have to offer to our clients.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Having seen all the various good reviews on this hotel through Trip Advisor, we decided to book a holiday in between Christmas and the first week in January 2014. On arrival at the reception, we couldn't help but notice the Trip Advisor plaque displaying.. Hotel winner 2013. We were not disappointed because it is certainly worthy of such a just reward.
The very large hotel was spotlessly clean throughout. The staff were fantastic, always on hand to help in any situation. There knowledge of the transport services and local attractions were remarkable. The sea view with balcony adjoining our spacious bedroom was amazing. Last but not least, if you're trying to diet then this hotel is not for you. The food is nothing short of sensational!!! We attended the New year gala and to our amazement, the quality of the food and the service were on a par with any Michelin star restaurant that we've ever eaten in. All this plus wonderful entertainment by Joe Brown and his band of top singers and musicians had everyone on their feet in the packed, well decorated dining room/ball room until the early hours.
In short, we will definitely be returning and my advice to anyone is...Get it booked!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view with balcony. If you need anything for the room...just ask, they're all extreme...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Stephen J,

Thank you so much for the favorable comments that you have kindly placed following your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

We certainly do our utmost to provide good service and quality facilities so your satisfaction is ours too.

We hope to welcome you to Malta once again and thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were looking for a New year getaway which included a New Years Eve Gala Dinner and so booked this hotel half board to get the New Years Eve dinner and expected it to be okay however we were highly impressed from the moment we arrived. reception staff were courteous and check in took only a few minutes. The room was clean and tidy and spacious. Food was well above average and fresh every day [not surprising when the 378 rooms were full the week we were there. The catering staff were brilliant and the New Years Eve Gala Dinner was 8 courses and a 12 piece band played all night. Location was good in fact Malta itself is great value for money. This hotel has a spa, gym, conference centres and a lot more. If we had to comment on any negatives 2 pieces of gym equipment did not work and one that did was dangerous.Once we reported it they dealt with it promptly. It could also do with tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Having read some of the negative comments from others I am sure that, had they spoken to the Manager or reception staff it would have been dealt with quickly.We will be hopefully staying at this hotel again in the future and as other reviews confirm they have regular people revisiting regularly and I can understand why.

Room Tip: This is a large hotel and is regularly full so when you book ask for a sea view room and anything el...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulBmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear PaulBmusicman,

Thank you for taking the time to place such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor.

We do our best to provide our guests with a pleasant and comfortable experience as your satisfaction is of utmost importance to us. Rest assured that the entire Dolmen team is only too pleased to make your stay with us an Exceptional one.

Your comments are truly appreciated by the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thank you once again and best wishes,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Terrible breakfast to start with some staff was helpful some slightly rude .we paid 150 euros my partner and I for the nye night we did enjoy it but the free wine was terrible
The gym was at best adequate .you pay for the car park and safety box .we had a view of a building site so for the last 2 nights we decided to go to the radisson which was excellent and safety box and parking was free .

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Si S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Si S,

Firstly, allow me to thank you for making the time to share with all your overall experience on the Maltese Islands and indeed at the Dolmen Resort.

Rest assured that all your comments have been well noted and have been passed on to the respective managers for their immediate attention.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we do look forward to have you stay with us once again,

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I once again stayed at the dolmen resort hotel St. Paul's bay Malta (December 14th-23rd) and again the hotel,staff and food could not be faulted!! Once again we were upgraded to a suite and we would like to thank them for this and a fantastic holiday. Hopefully we will be going back over about May and will be staying at this hotel!! If you want a lovely,friendly,good food and clean hotel this is the one for you!!!
Eric and Liz x

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Elizabeth T,

Thank you so much for the favorable comments that you have kindly placed following your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

We certainly do our utmost to provide good service and quality facilities so your satisfaction is ours too.

We hope to welcome you to Malta once again and thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

as people have read we are no strangers at the dolmen as timeshare owners.but after paying thousands for the next 10 years,exclusive-club have told us we can not use the dolmen.this has nothing to do with the hotel.does any other members have the same problem?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smurrayScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
5.3 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,775 reviews
0.7 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
438 reviews
4.4 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolmen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolmen Resort Hotel

Address: Qawra Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2402, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £47 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolmen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful located at the waters edge, the 4 star hotel boasts 375 guest rooms and 38 highly finished superior rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Mediterranean Sea and St. Paul's Islands. All bedrooms and suites are fully air-conditioned, centrally, heated and have their own private bathroom, safe deposit box, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio, mini-bar and hair dryers. The majority of the rooms have a balcony or terrace.The hotel's general facilities include a Conferece Centre, Casino, an A La Carte Restaurant, Buffet Restaurant, Piano Lobby Bar, Cafeteria, Swim-Up Bar, Night Club and Caribbean Style Beach Club offering a variety of water-sports, a Diving Centre, Bars and Restaurant. Four outdoor swimming pools are located within the hotel together with one dedicated for children. The newly designed Spa incorporates state of the art Therapy rooms with the latest equipment as well as a Fitness Room, Indoor Pool with hydro massage and sauna. Animation Activities are provided on a daily basis together with a kids club during the summer months. A regular entertainment is held during the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dolmen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Dolmen Hotel St Pauls Bay
Dolmen Hotel Malta
Dolmen Resort Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing