We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort for 4 stars but faculties let it down majorly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Hi I stayed here with some friends recently and was very excited by the website and the fact this is a 4 star hotel.
However on arrival there was rowdy football teams and young people who shouted and had parties all the time. For me this was a big put off espically since it was tolerated by the hotel.
The bad:
- the rooms were that thin you could hear people having sex or moving above
- The 'free wifi' advertised on the dolmen website is a lie and there is no free wifi. All you get is 30 mins of free wifi per stay. Once it's gone it's gone and you pay 1 euro a hour for internet. The internet isn't powerful enough for laptop use and only tablet.
- The swimming pool and spa is constantly fully booked so if your going for 7 days or 2 weeks then I'd book well in advance. The swimming pool is also very small and shallow. Therefore it cannot fit more than 5 people in it. The whirlpool also never works and the sauna is the same in that it is extremely small and can only fit around 5 people in it.

The good:
- The hotel staff do try and help you and understand/speak good english
- The resort is in a safe location
- The maids will change your bed everyday and do a good job, no need to ask!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrrapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Mrrapper,

Thank you very much for taking the time to register your experience on Trip Advisor. We are extremely sorry to find out that so many little things that make up, what should be a great experience, did not meet your expectations.

Your comments have been shared with the Management Team in order to help us improve further the service that we have to offer so that similar incidents will not reoccur.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies and thank you once again for your feedback.

With our warmest regards
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,867)
There are newer reviews for Dolmen Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,081 - 1,087 of 2,867 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

This hotel has some good facilities (especially the Spa) but is is need of refurbishment. The rooms are a good size but mine didn't smell fresh. The Spa does some excellent treatments and the Spa employees are delightful. The same standard of service is not evident in the rest of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a sea view on a higher floor.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Stuie72,

We reviewed your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. Rest assured that we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get from past guests.

We do thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014


Sometimes I wonder what palaces people live in that they find so much to criticise about the Dolmen Resort. We stayed for two weeks from 20th February and had a great time. We each had a huge room on the fifth floor and a sea view which was a constant delight day and night, whatever the weather. Generally it was fine and warm. The rooms were well appointed, clean and comfortable including TV, hair dryer, lashings of hot water etc. if you want to make drinks buy or take a mug upstairs and we used a small electrical element that heats a cup of water.

Breakfast is the best meal with a large choice of bread, cereals, fresh and tinned fruit, scrambled or fried eggs, potatoes, beans, sausages (more like frankfurters than English sausages) and bacon most days. Choices of coffee, tea and juice from a machine, not bad, cold meats and cheese, and croissants etc.

We had dinner included in our package and the difficulty in catering for huge numbers is that not all foods react well to buffet preparation. But there is a choice of salads, two soup options and always some decent fish or meat choice, plus free wine and a variety of soft drinks. I particularly liked the freshly carved pork, sliced roast beef and poultry, preferably in a sauce so it didn't dry out. Desserts are mainly a selection of cream cakes that I was not keen on, but the plainer iced cakes were lovely and light and most days there was a choice of fruit, fresh and tinned and ice cream. You serve yourself and take as little or as much as you like and the staff are charming; nobody hurries you if you want to sit and talk after the serving times.

I went to a little hairdresser shop nearby and had a more than adequate wash and set for only €10. Using the buses is easy and we hopped on and off using a €1.50 day pass to Valetta, Mdina, Seliema and the Gozo ferry. But you are advised to get on at the termini if possible as they get very crowded.

My only adverse comment is that people expect wifi to be included nowadays and although I made a €10 ticket last about a week I was always conscious of the money running out. However for the price of a coffee you have excellent fast free wifi at McDonalds just along the promenade (or in most towns), also at the Aquarium restaurants, so one can keep in touch.

In short, we had a lovely break from the English weather in a friendly island and in a comfortable hotel. The staff were all charming and helpful and I would come here again like a shot.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank LisaP_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear LisaP_7,

On behalf of the Dolmen team, I would like to primarily thank you for making the time to kindly post a great review on Trip Advisor.

Rest assured that as a team we certainly engage in doing our utmost to make each and every guests' stay comfortable and pleasant, irrespective of their purpose of travelling.

So we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service and the location of the hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I read several reviews of different hotels before I finally plumped for the Dolmen. The last time I visited Malta this hotel was just being built and other hotels were very good.

Several years on, the 'other hotels' are now shabby, at least externally, but the Dolmen is as good as you're going to get in Malta. The reception area was good and the staff friendly and helpful. The bedroom was enormous! It's the largest bedroom we have been allocated in any European hotel. Lovely sea view, large balcony, two double beds, clean and functional bathroom, lots of storage space. We did not encounter any noise from the anywhere else.

The dining room was OK; the only problem was the Germans, French and Spanish who do not share our views on queuing therefore there was some barging and 'pushing in' from many of the guests. This, however, is not the hotel's fault. We were very disappointed to see some guests arriving for dinner dressed in shorts and t-shirts when it states quite clearly that long trousers should be worn. Fortunately this was dealt with and it didn't happen a second time.

The only other area where an improvement ought to be made is in the bar. One bar is not enough. It would be better if guests who wish to watch Champions League football were given a separate bar where the sound could also be on the giant television then those who wish to enjoy the live entertainment could do so without the intermittent cheering from the football fans. We wanted to enjoy both the football and the entertainment but not at the same time!!!

My husband would have welcomed air conditioning in the gym.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a high floor with a sea view
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Rosemary C,

Greetings from the Dolmen Resort and the Maltese Islands!

Thank you for making the time and posting a review following your stay at our resort, it is with great pleasure to read that you found our rooms delightful.

As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues.

Looking forward to having you back at the resort and the Islands.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Small town but very relaxing break , went with my best friend here and we both just enjoyed the sheer relaxation and the luxury of doing absolutely nothing for 5 days. The breakfast had a good selection and we could always get a sun bed by the poolside.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Tanya D,

On behalf of the Dolmen team, I would like to primarily thank you for making the time to kindly post a great review on Trip Advisor.

Rest assured that as a team we certainly engage in doing our utmost to make each and every guests' stay comfortable and pleasant, irrespective of their purpose of travelling.

So we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service and the location of the hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The self catering apartments in the Dolmen Hotel have been refurbished since our last visit two years ago.They are quite large and comfortable with a good balcony looking over the sea.The housekeeping is every day and you were supplied with lovely fresh towels daily. The only thing I would change is the very small cooker which is located rather awkwardly in a corner.We like to cook and I thought they might have changed this arrangement during the refurbishing.However It is a very pleasant apartment for a holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We went for a 5 night all inclusive break. As the season hadn't started a lot of the hotel was not being used (some of the outdoor pools were closed and the cafe closed for refurbishment) but this didn't detract from the quality of the break. All staff were very polite and more than willing to help in any way. Besides a small problem at check in (put down as full board when it should have been all inclusive) which was dealt with quite easily and without fuss.
The room was fine. The meals were of an excellent quality and the service first class. All staff in the restaurant and Temple Bar were very accommodating, The cleaner really did ensure our room was spotless.
All in all a great experience which we will look to repeat in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartinW338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear MartinW338,

Thank you so much for the favorable comments that you have kindly placed following your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

We certainly do our utmost to provide good service and quality facilities so your satisfaction is ours too.

We hope to welcome you to Malta once again and thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
5.3 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,775 reviews
0.7 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
438 reviews
4.4 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolmen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolmen Resort Hotel

Address: Qawra Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2402, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £46 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolmen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful located at the waters edge, the 4 star hotel boasts 375 guest rooms and 38 highly finished superior rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Mediterranean Sea and St. Paul's Islands. All bedrooms and suites are fully air-conditioned, centrally, heated and have their own private bathroom, safe deposit box, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio, mini-bar and hair dryers. The majority of the rooms have a balcony or terrace.The hotel's general facilities include a Conferece Centre, Casino, an A La Carte Restaurant, Buffet Restaurant, Piano Lobby Bar, Cafeteria, Swim-Up Bar, Night Club and Caribbean Style Beach Club offering a variety of water-sports, a Diving Centre, Bars and Restaurant. Four outdoor swimming pools are located within the hotel together with one dedicated for children. The newly designed Spa incorporates state of the art Therapy rooms with the latest equipment as well as a Fitness Room, Indoor Pool with hydro massage and sauna. Animation Activities are provided on a daily basis together with a kids club during the summer months. A regular entertainment is held during the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dolmen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Dolmen Hotel St Pauls Bay
Dolmen Hotel Malta
Dolmen Resort Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing