We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice sized, good value rooms but bad breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The rooms were kept clean and had everything we needed in them. The hotel was fine, location was okay and we were able to see malta easily from there. The main down side to the hotel was the breakfast which felt like a school dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sls198730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Sls198730,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for finding the time to highlighting your stay at our Resort. Your feedback is very much appreciated and has certainly warranted our sincere attention in order to fully address the feedback you felt necessary to outline.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Dolmen Resort Hotel,

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,143 - 1,149 of 2,984 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

excellent service and we are very satisfied with the service . sure We will go again..Large and very clean rooms. excellent food. a variation of food for breakfast. Staff very helpful and friendly.. It was our 7 th stay at Dolmen. I really recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JGrech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear JGrech,

Thank you for taking the time to place such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor.

We do our best to provide our guests with a pleasant and comfortable experience as your satisfaction is of utmost importance to us. Rest assured that the entire Dolmen team is only too pleased to make your stay with us an Exceptional one.

Your comments are truly appreciated by the team and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again.

Thank you once again and best wishes,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We are really satisfied with our choice to come to the Dolmen Resort. First of all there is actually a Dolmen in the Resort belonging to Malta's neolithic Gargantya Phase, dating c. 3300 calBC. It is the only Resort in Malta with a stone monument. The Hotel is an excelent 4 star, clean and in good shape. Beautiful rooms with spectacular sea views and a very varied and tasty dinner buffet will complete your vacation. It has also a nice SPA but with only one sauna. Perfectly located with the bus station at 1 minute walk, this is really a plus since in seconds you can take any bus to anywhere you may want. Sooner or later we'll be coming back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Marco A,

Greetings from the Dolmen Resort and the Maltese Islands!

Thank you for making the time and posting a review following your stay at our resort, it is with great pleasure to read that you found our rooms delightful.

Looking forward to having you back at the resort and the Islands.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Nothing too much trouble to make your stay an enjoyable experience in every department. The reception manager sorted a major problem out for us regarding our tariff which was no fault of the hotel for which we were very grateful. Chefs and dining room staff coped remarkably well when hotel was busy food replenished and tables cleared very efficiently. Animation team very
amiable and always available when needed. No charge for dressing gowns beach towels and one tariff for safe in room however long your stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bat1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Bat1944,

Thank you so much for the favourable comments that you have kindly placed following your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

We certainly do our utmost to provide good service and quality facilities so your satisfaction is ours too.

We hope to welcome you to Malta once again and thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Recently stayed at the Dolmen for the European 8 ball Pool Championships. Staff are exceptionally helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Everyone worked long hours to ensure that we had a very successful Championship. Rooms are very clean and our allocated housekeeper did everything just as we like including respecting our privacy.

I am on an extremely limited diet due to several food allergies/intolerances and was a little worried about being away from home and wondering whether the hotel would be able to cater for my needs. No need to have wasted any energy on worrying. Omar and Rennie, two of the chefs, made sure that my food was prepared as required and only contained ingredients that I am able to eat. What superstars (wish I could have brought both of them home with me). They always made time to enquire afterwards as to whether I had enjoyed the meal and to discuss what I would like the following day.

Would we go to the Dolmen again - without a shadow of a doubt. Anybody who has food allergies or intolerances (or even both) should seriously consider this hotel - we're sure you won't be disappointed. Just let them know in advance and you too can enjoy delicious meals prepared as required with a great deal of care and attention to detail.

Only downside for both of us - soft bed. We have a bed like a wooden plank and found it difficult to sleep on what seemed more like a cloud.

Hope to be back again very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PoolRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear PoolRef,

On behalf of the team at the Dolmen Resort, I would like to thank you for the great review you have so kindly placed on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your comments and mention our colleagues for their professionalism. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service of the hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With best wishes,

Sincerely,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A friend and I have just returned from 5 days in Malta, we stayed at the Dolmen and overall the stay was very good, rooms were clean and tidy although are showing some age in the bathrooms.

We were on a B&B basis and the breakfast was fine, but could be improved with proper sausages rather than the hotdog type on offer.

Our rooms were on the 3rd floor (340 & 344) 340 is somewhat larger than 355 whcih I suspect is down to the hotel being laid out on an arc, the views were inland and not really that impressive, but I wasn'y looking for a view and the price paid was reasonable.

We had a late arrival at 1am and it would have been nice to find maybe a bottle of water in the room, or maybe some tea making facilities, but the lack of these is no big issue.

Upon arrival my room had an odour of stale smoke and as a non smoker I popped downstairs to reception, they advised that all rooms are non smoking but they include an ashtray in the room for use on the balcony, I suspect that in the real world many guests will therefore smoke in the room itself, that said the front desk staff immediately arranged for someone to pop up with some air freshener and after 5 minutes with the balcony door open the room was fine.

We generally ate out other than for breakfast, but on one rainny afternoon we decamped to the bar, only to find that the food offering was from a rather limited menu, the full menu is not offered off season, which is madness you would expect a hotel to be able to offer a menu regardless of the time of year.

The spa facility is surprisingly good and look out for offers, we had 25 EURO off vouchers in our room on arrival. T&C's applied but these were more than reasonable.

I can't comment on the evening entertainement as we were generally out and about.

The hotel is one minute walk from the bus terminus with frequent departures to various destinations, route 12 seems to be the most popular to Valetta, but if it's busy and you ahve time to kill jump on one of the others that end up in Valetta but take a little longer to get there, at least that way you see some of the Island.

Staff were all friendly and were willing to sort issues and provide information when asked.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauly-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just arrived back from Malta last night. We stayed at the Dolmen for 4 nights and generally the hotel is was lovely. The room was 602 and it was very clean with a great sea view. The room had all we needed but it lacked a bit of comfort....it could have done with a small rug and some cushions.....but this is only a small thing! The cleaners were lovely and they cleaned the room on a daily basis unless you asked them not to. However I could not say the same for the reception staff.....there was one lovely girl called Kateianna who was very pleasant but the rest were very abrupt and rude and made you feel that you were bothering them when asking advice!! I have to add that the breakfast was wonderful and had a great variety to suit everyone. I think we would return to the Dolmen however I would be reluctant to ask the reception any questions!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shauna40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Shauna40,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your constructive comments.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the areas where we have fallen short of your expectations. This is certainly not a situation we are happy with, since we strive to maintain the highest possible levels of standards and facilities in order to meet the expectations and desires of our guests.

Indeed your comments have been taken very seriously and have been shared with the Management Team, in order to help us improve further the service that we have to offer.

Thank you once again for your feedback. Your constructive comments will only assist us in continually improving on the services we have to offer to our clients.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.7 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
525 reviews
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,873 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolmen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolmen Resort Hotel

Address: Qawra Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2402, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £42 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolmen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful located at the waters edge, the 4 star hotel boasts 375 guest rooms and 38 highly finished superior rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Mediterranean Sea and St. Paul's Islands. All bedrooms and suites are fully air-conditioned, centrally, heated and have their own private bathroom, safe deposit box, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio, mini-bar and hair dryers. The majority of the rooms have a balcony or terrace.The hotel's general facilities include a Conferece Centre, Casino, an A La Carte Restaurant, Buffet Restaurant, Piano Lobby Bar, Cafeteria, Swim-Up Bar, Night Club and Caribbean Style Beach Club offering a variety of water-sports, a Diving Centre, Bars and Restaurant. Four outdoor swimming pools are located within the hotel together with one dedicated for children. The newly designed Spa incorporates state of the art Therapy rooms with the latest equipment as well as a Fitness Room, Indoor Pool with hydro massage and sauna. Animation Activities are provided on a daily basis together with a kids club during the summer months. A regular entertainment is held during the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dolmen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Dolmen Hotel St Pauls Bay
Dolmen Hotel Malta
Dolmen Resort Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing