We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not great out of season”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice but not great out of season”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My best friend and I stayed at this hotel for three nights over easter. The hotel was lovely and we had a great stay but it was disappointing that we couldn't use the outdoor pools as it was not in peak season and the indoor pool was very small and closed at 7pm. The breakfast was nice but I was glad we only had B+B as this meant we didn't have to have buffet meals at all times.
Overall great location and enjoyable stay, shame about the building work outside our window at 7am however!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Sarah P,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

As a management team, we do take all comments very seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues.

Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.

With our warmest regards
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    1,063
    535
    197
    112
See reviews for
731
1,264
135
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The location is well placed for all the local bars/restaurants etc. Pool area a bit cramped.Evening entertainment a bit Barry Manilow. Watch out for the timeshare touts when you are walking towards Qawra.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LondonTommyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We went to the Dolmen Hotel for 11 days
I must say that the reviews I read previous saying some bad reviews was not the case
On arrival which I might add was 8.30 PM the desk clerk was very helpful booking us in quickly and informing us that we could get dinner before the restaurant closed for the night
We had a room on the ground floor due to my wife having to use a wheelchair
The room was massive it could easily sleep 8 people
The food was first rate plenty of selection and staff were very friendly and polite
The staff in the Delos Cafe Bar and The Temple Bar were also very helpful and friendly
We went all inclusive and we wanted for nothing regarding drinks and food to the point we had to much choice
The only point I would mark down would be for clearer clarification of what is available on the all inclusive deals
Also maybe a use of colour coded bands for guests as it seems that members of the public can access via the street access at Cafe Delis and use the facilities for free
Also there seems to be quite a few conferences being held the staff seemed to cope well during meal service time but some people attending seem to think they own the facilities irespective of guests who have paid a fare sum to be there
It might be better to planning business lunch time away from guests to solve this issue
I have no issue on returning next year again to this hotel to enjoy the relaxing time they gave me and my wife

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank AirdrieBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear AirdrieBubbles,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Dolmen Resort Hotel and for your much appreciated feedback.

We are glad to read in your review that you would return for another stay at the resort and that you have enjoyed your stay. The points you have highlighted have been well noted and shared with the team. It is through such feedback that we can continue to work to improve on the experiences we offer at the resort.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and certainly look forward to welcome you back for another visit

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Overall, The Doman is not a bad hotel. The location is actually wonderful, except for the construction near the property. Location wise, it is near the shore, with its own private beach and very close to the bus terminal, which was very useful when going out and about on Malta. There are convenient shoppes near by as well. There is a bank near the hotel as well. So, location wise, it's fabulous!

The breakfast was alright as well. The selection was very good. Food was average. Definitely a lot to choose from for various types of breakfast desires. They offered 3 styles of eggs, as well as a large variety of bread and pastries, cereals, beans, bacon, sausage, fruit, etc

The Room was alright. Ours faced the rear, and the street that basically the buses went down to get to the terminus. So, we had some noisy evenings with the buses driving past. We had a fridge, which was good. My main gripe about the room was the bed! well BEDS! The bed was two twins pushed together... They were even made up separately. The beds pushed apart when trying to cuddle up with my hubby. I found the beds, also, very uncomfortable. I had a very rough sleep on the mattress. If the beds were better, and at least made up to BE a Large bed, rather than two pushed together, it might have been a bit better experience for me. I would strongly recommend the Dolmen to either put something into their documentation to notify people of the two beds for a Queen/King type setup. OR actually USE those mattress sizes for that type of bed setup.

Overall, Thank you for the service, Dolmen. I am not sure I could consider visiting the Dolmen again. Maybe if I had better bed arrangements. I compliment the location and the service but the quality of the sleep and rooms needs a bit more improvement.

(Side note: I wonder if people booking via Hotels.com or other travel site gets put in the back row, facing the street and the poor beds. Just a thought. I had a similar experience with a hotel in England, in Torquay that seemed to do that... put the internet bookers in the 3rd floor, room facing the train track rather than the lovely beach line, like ALL the other rooms in the hotel! But it was just a thought that occurred to me while typing out my review of the Dolmen and remembering reading some of the other reviews.)
.

Room Tip: Tip: if you get the beds with the two mattresses pushed together, you may not get much cuddle time w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lnxjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear lnxjenn,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your constructive comments.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the areas where we have fallen short of your expectations. This is certainly not a situation we are happy with, since we strive to maintain the highest possible levels of standards and facilities in order to meet the expectations and desires of our guests.

Indeed your comments have been taken very seriously and have been shared with the Management Team, in order to help us improve further the service that we have to offer.

Thank you once again for your feedback. Your constructive comments will only assist us in continually improving on the services we have to offer to our clients.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have visited this hotel twice for weekend stays.
On my first visit I had an excellent experience and did not have any means of complaint.

On my second visit, I had a problem with the room but the problem was readily sorted by upgrading my room and also providing a complementary bottle of wine...
I was more than happy with the solution provided and myself and my family had a great stay.

The hotel has lots of means of entertainment and is in an excellent location with a good sea-view from most of the rooms.
There is room for improvement but overall the hotel provides excellent value for money and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room from second floor upwards and you should not regret it. Should there be any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I_am_REM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear I_am_REM,

Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback that you have very kindly placed on Trip Advisor and shared with fellow travelers.

We are so pleased that you were satisfied with the service and facilities that you experienced during your stay at the Dolmen Resort.

Thank you once again for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow - Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have been staying at the Dolmen resort hotel for a number of years now and this is by far the most modern and best one in Bugibba.

Most of the rooms in the hotel are fully modernised with the exception of a few, of which you will know on entering your room. If you are provided with a none modernised room, you should go directly to reception and ask them if your room can be changed to a refurbished one. They are very accommodating with this, however, if the hotel is fully booked, you may have to wait a day to change rooms. This should not be an issue for most folk.

The hotel is huge and has lots of entertainment for children and families and even if you are a couple, then you will still enjoy yourselves. The dolmen have a night club, a casino and a lovely sea food restaurant right on the sea front, along with a lovely chill-out wine bar. It is also the hub for various water sports, snorkelling etc.

There is a lot of choice for breakfast however, this is a very very busy time so be prepared. Dinner has such a vast choice and always best to get to the dinning area early, that way you miss the mad rush. Try it see :-)

Please note that you have to pay extra for a sea view, however we prefer the opposite, that way we can sit on our balcony at night and watch the world go by.

Overall, we like this hotel and always go back, it's a second home to us in Malta. It's next to the bus station of which comes in handy especially when we take our trip to Valletta. The open top tourist bus are a great way to see Malta (no hire car required as this is a wee island) and these go by the hotel which is even better.

We will be going back again this year. Ps they have a small gym, not the most modern but will do if you are fitness freak and there is a lovely spa of which the treatments are wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Curlyqueen,

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to place such a fantastic review about the Dolmen Resort Hotel.

Our aim is to make your stay with us as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, so we are very pleased to see that you were satisfied with the service of our staff and all of the facilities we have to offer to each and every guest.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Resort and on behalf of the rest of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With warm wishes,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Lovely hotel beautifully set. Check in was fast and efficient especially given the size of the hotel. Lots of facilities: 5 pools (one indoor), spa and wellness centre, gym, private access to shorefront area (Malta is short on beaches but great at adapting whats there to make it enjoyable), bar, casino, etc all of which were open despite the early season. Sadly the bar pool only opened on our last day.

Hotel is situated right beside a bus terminus and as a weekly ticket only costs 6.50 euro this makes getting places a lot easier.

Its a busy full function hotel so lots of conferences and weddings during the week but these never encroached on our stay.

All in all fully recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xxxJMKxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear xxxJMKxxx,

We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Dolmen Resort and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Malta!

With our warm regards
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
4.4 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,957 reviews
0.7 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolmen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolmen Resort Hotel

Property: Dolmen Resort Hotel
Address: Qawra Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2402, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolmen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful located at the waters edge, the 4 star hotel boasts 375 guest rooms and 38 highly finished superior rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Mediterranean Sea and St. Paul's Islands. All bedrooms and suites are fully air-conditioned, centrally, heated and have their own private bathroom, safe deposit box, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio, mini-bar and hair dryers. The majority of the rooms have a balcony or terrace.The hotel's general facilities include a Conferece Centre, Casino, an A La Carte Restaurant, Buffet Restaurant, Piano Lobby Bar, Cafeteria, Swim-Up Bar, Night Club and Caribbean Style Beach Club offering a variety of water-sports, a Diving Centre, Bars and Restaurant. Four outdoor swimming pools are located within the hotel together with one dedicated for children. The newly designed Spa incorporates state of the art Therapy rooms with the latest equipment as well as a Fitness Room, Indoor Pool with hydro massage and sauna. Animation Activities are provided on a daily basis together with a kids club during the summer months. A regular entertainment is held during the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dolmen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Dolmen Hotel St Pauls Bay
Dolmen Hotel Malta
Dolmen Resort Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing