We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel”
Review of Qawra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Qawra Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Just got back from a 3 week all inclusive stay at the Qawra Palace. Room allocated was 5th floor inside ( we had not paid extra for sea view ) and this was fine as not much time spent in room. Majority of rooms are inside facing with small balcony so if you intend to stay in room best pay extra for seaview. Room was clean and of good size - bathroom big enough!. Kettle inroom if needed. Food was very good with good choice throughout. Staff very friendly, and particularly the bar staff where all inclusive drinks were served with a smile. Plenty of sun beds available with charge of 0ne Euro for a matress if needed although the weather turned a bit cold towards end of November. Outside bar only open when weather suitable - snacks available there and in lounge bar when outside closed. Entertainment was generally good sometimes with live singers and 4 piece band on a saturday. F1 and football fans catered for either in lounge bar or the nightclub area where some sports are shown on big screen. All in all you get what you pay for in this value for money hotel which is in a great location. We would stay again but a bit earlier for the better weather.

Room Tip: Lifts are quite slow and can be very busy so choose low floor if not able to use stairs. Choose seav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank funtravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,657 - 1,663 of 2,886 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

Booked sea view again which is a little extra cost. Friends were on the inside they loved the upgraded rooms some got the afternoon sun, which we did not, we were not in a upgraded room, but absolutely fine, yes dated, beds (new) were comfy, changed every 3/4th day. Towels changed everyday. Flat screen tv with now English programmes a good improvement. Yes restaurant was busy but if you wanted to sit with friends they did their best to accommodate. Lots of choice, delicious soups, 2 meats, pasta, fish, a very substantial salad bar, sweets wonderful, much improved ice cream, only had one meal when the veg was cool, we were here for 4 weeks, could not complain.
What we paid it worked out cheaper than living at home, thank you Qawra Palace.

Room Tip: Front rooms fantastic sea views, extra cost, can suffer road noise, loose sun about mid day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rose100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here for a week half board with other family in November. Contrary to what I had read on Trip Advisor, I thought the palace was fine. Yes it may be dated and somewhat old fashioned but for the price and inclusive airfares, you can't go wrong ! Hubby and I live in Australia and trust me you could get nothing close to this in Australia for the price. The bedroom were spotless and serviced daily, clean towels each day. We had a room on the side but found it fine, for everyone to have a small balcony what do u expect ? We thought the food was good, great selection at both breakfast and dinner, no problems getting a table at any time. Given the number of people catered for they do a super job, my husband became addicted to their gelato ! The only down I can mention is the front desk staff...not very helpful or friendly, but in contrast the Coffee Shop staff were great and lovely food available at all hours. We arrived late on our first day and missed dinner but were given lunch on our final day in lieu - no complaints and would gladly return. It is after all somewhere just to sleep and freshen up.

Room Tip: We had a room on the side which was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonandElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Was booked into a sea view room for 1 week. Room very tired looking, in need of decorating. We were half board and out of 7 breakfast meals all were cold, and the 7 evening meals only 2 were hot. choices not that good either had pork most evenings. Several tables were reserved for specific pensioners as they stay at the hotel every year. Restaurant staff were friendly and our chamber maid was great, the reception staff were less than friendly

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wyers939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Will be returning to the Qwara Palace in December and we can't wait!We have stayed here 8 times now and we always stay half board. No complaints about the food I'm a chef and think considering the number of people being catered for they do a remarkable job! Being familiar with the rooms we request which room we'd prefer when we book our holiday and so far we have been given it. Staff are helpful and friendly and now recognise and welcome us back! Coffee shop is second to none! If you want silver service and plush accommodation then I suggest you pay ridiculous money and stay at the'Hilton' . My opinion is you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lisamorgan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here during early November. Was given huge 4 bed room for just 2 of us. The bathroom was very small, but clean. We were on half board & found the selection of main courses in the evening very good but a lot of the meals looked better than they tasted because they were often quite bland. Breakfasts were good. All the staff were very friendly & helpful. Being out of season, there were a lot of elderly people staying for the winter but they were happy to join in the activities put on in the daytime. Didn't stay in for the evening shows so can't comment on those but there are several bars quite close with live music most nights.

Room Tip: Choose seaview rooms if you spent much time in your room. The cheaper rooms don't have much of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geelbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Qawra Palace is probably the best "all rounder" of hotels in the Qawra area. My wife and I have just returned 19-11-13 after a 2 week stay. I requested a top floor prior to arrival and was granted same, room 833. This was ok, it's an inner room with restricted view but the balcony gets the Sun from 9am - 1pm with little or no Wind. The Sea View rooms are great but expensive for long stays. The room was serviced daily by friendly, helpful staff. It was clean,but the bath/ shower was small and poorly finished. The restaurant was just OK, with always something to eat.Breakfast was enhanced by the inclusion of "porridge" on the menu, after several days of relentless nagging by many of the guests. Winter entertainment is OK for us Senior Citizens, afternoon dancing most weekdays, with dancing every night to the regular artists. Week-ends are very popular with "The Locals" who tend to take over the dance floor. The same Staff have been there for many years, which says something ?. The location is brilliant, good pool area next to the sea with plenty of sun beds (in Winter) and the bus station not too far away. Some of the buses stop outside the Hotel. We've been to this hotel many times and will return. It's not an English 4 star hotel, but take Malta for what it is and enjoy it. Wifi is available but charged for in the hotel. McDonalds is free,well worth the walk on a nice day

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are very good, Sun from dawn till 11am Winter. Long waits for lifts at busy times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.3 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 13 in St. Paul's Bay
3,006 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 13 in St. Paul's Bay
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 13 in St. Paul's Bay
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,104 reviews
4.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qawra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qawra Palace Hotel

Address: Qawra Sea Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £37 - £834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Qawra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Qawra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qawra Palace Hotel Malta
Qawra Palace St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing