We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday to Qawra Palace Hotel”
Review of Qawra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Qawra Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Another very enjoyable holiday at the Qawra Palace Hotel. The staff as usual were very helpful and friendly and we had a sea view room which was ideal for sitting in the sun looking across the bay with our grandson who we took on holiday with us. Ideal location also to visit Malta Aquarium and Car Museum which our grandson loves. As we have a friend in Malta who lives quite nearby it was a perfect location for us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
4  Thank Robert William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,568 - 1,574 of 2,873 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Room cleaned everyday. Breakfast the same everyday. Could do with mushroom and tomato for the vegetarians. Some of.the waiting staff not.very.helpful finding a table for 7 and 3 of them where on wheel chairs.Also the restaurant very cramp with.to menu tables.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Fantastic location, Very pleasant and helpful staff. Loved the food especially in Cafe Royale (where the waiters and waitresses were brilliant)
The pools are very good and the Jacuzzi was very relaxing after a day in the sun.
We stayed in a room on the 8th floor which was nice and clean with good unobtrusive maid service.
Our only minor complaint was the bathroom was a little tired and could do with new sanitary fittings.
Having said this we had a brilliant holiday and will definitely returning in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank W R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited the Qawra palace for 4 nights in April for a short break, the hotel was clean, the food was good and wine cheap at 3 euros a carafe. Location is a short walk from shops but bus stop is right outside the door, we visited the spa which was lovely and used the 10euro voucher that is in your arrival pack making the price very reasonable. Mostly older guests but we are under 30 and didn't feel out of place, entertainment was hit and miss but overall it was excellent and we are intending to return next year, we paid buttons for a great break

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was our first visit to Malta and at first I had deep reservations about this hotel. We arrived mid-morning and were told by the rep we couldn't check in until 2pm, but could leave our luggage in the, luggage room. Unfortunately the reception was so busy it took ages to find out where the luggage room was! It was chaos and although there were 3 people on only 1 was actually dealing with check in. Reception is supposed to be 24 hours, but twice we were told it was closed for an hour for changeover even though there was someone sat there!! Once in our room 8 floors up the view was fantastic, so glad I paid extra for a sea view. The indoor pool is tiny and full once you get about 4 people in. The food was great, lots of variety and plenty of it. Just don't expect what you get at home - it is a foreign country for goodness sake. The staff tend to be very serious and can be abrupt, but it seems to just be their way, so don't take it personally. They seemed to be much more involved with people with children or the older people in the hotel and we felt we fell between the two being in our early 50's and having left our grown up children at home. It's a great spot for exploring as nothing malta is far away, but avoid the hop on hop off buses - it's a rip off, use local buses only 6.50 Euro for a weekly ticket. They can be busy but are frequent and easy to get around on. The staff at Valetta bus terminal are very helpful, so are most of the drivers. No language barrier as everyone speaks English. If you have very sensitive skin avoid the foam massage, lovely at the time, but my skin was really irritated after it. We couldn't get over how cheap it was to eat out, and walked as far as Buggiba and St Paul's Bay. There are lots of bars and snack places and you can easily get a sandwich, Maltese bread is lovely, and drink for two from 6 - 8 euros. The weather was changeable, but it was April and when it was warm it was very warm, so wear Sun protection even if cloudy, it is easy to burn.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

First visit to Malta big surprise, Beirut on a good day Our hotel had one or two good points but mostly bad,With lots of money spent on the ground floor other wise looking very tired our room
on the 4th floor needed a few coats of paint and a decent lock on the door constant noise of pumps and electric motors late at night and very early mornings,Lifts worst i have ever been in so slow no remote for television get one at the desk for 10 euro dinning room in the basement had to walk through the television lounge what with the crowds and the noise of Premiership football and other sport on(Nightmare).Food not that good kept running out of certain items then you had to wait, plates either red hot or cold the best food was either bake beans or the soup and the orange drink.Nothing to do outside the hotel couple of shops and bars but dead otherwise you had to go to Bugibba which is a long walk if your old and it drops of very cold at nights so its pay for a taxi, they say you cant hog the sun beds but they were down there 7 am putting towels on them before the went to breakfast. The wife and i are over 75 and all roads seem to go uphill or downhill, Did i have a good holiday No. Would i go again, Once bitten twice shy. It need a lot of work to bring it up to a 4 star Hotel but it will always be in wrong place.

Room Tip: Corner suites are quite small, Take all day in the lift if you have a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank armeagedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Ideal location , the hotel was nice and clean, most of the staff were very helpful. I would certainly recommend If you have the opportunity go to Gozo for the day. The only downfall for us was we were constantly approached in the streets by people trying to offer viewing of new hotels / promoting timeshare

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view as we were overlooking a courtyard where they kept the rubbish etc..,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siwsan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.3 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,984 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,078 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
4.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qawra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qawra Palace Hotel

Address: Qawra Sea Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £22 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Qawra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Qawra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qawra Palace Hotel Malta
Qawra Palace St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing