We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Holiday”
Review of Qawra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Qawra Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just back from a weeks stay at the Qawra Palace, the hotel is lovely and location excellent for buses if touring. Would strongly recommend paying extra for seaview room as you may be allocated at the back of the hotel where the balconies are that close you could probably dry your neighbour's hair if asked from your balconey. No privacy at all for anyone allocated their room there. We were half board and thankfully not all inclusive as we knew we intended to wo eat out on occasions. The food was not pleasant at all, nice choice of starters and good selection of sweets but main courses were not nice. Staff throughout the hotel were very rude and obviously lacked customer service training. Louise in the Cafe bar was the only member of staff I would say knew how to address and treat a customer. Service in the cafe bar when she was not on duty was dreadful. Dining staff were worse and the idea that you had to sit at a particular 'station' in the dining room was poor. We went to breakfast one day and as there was not a seat available for us, we were moved to a different station and the treatment we received from the duty waiter was downright rude. The staff member on the till in the dining room was the worse I have ever encountered having worked in customer service for over 40 years. The cleaners were the only staff, apart from Louise, who greeted you whenever you met them. I would only recommend this hotel if you are the type who only goes on holiday for the sun and does not mind how they are treated by the staff. I would only come back on a bed and breakfast basis or room only..

Room Tip: Be prepared for a walk uphill to nearest selection of bars. If using local buses be prepared to wai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molly060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,510 - 1,516 of 2,815 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

My friend and I stayed in this hotel last week, we paid an extra 98 euros for a sea view, which is a must. The reception staff are not friendly at all. We were showed into a room on the eight floor and it was filthy. We asked and were given a room on the fourth floor, it was much cleaner but was noisy because of the traffic below. The beds were uncomfortable and the toilet was too small, it was big enough just, for one. The room was cleaned every day which was good but the towels had seen better days. The food however in the hotel was excellent, we were half board and dined there every morning and night, no complaints there. You have to pay for wi fi, 2 euros for 1 hour to use their computers. Only 2 worked. It's not a 4* hotel.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must. The higher the better to avoid the noise of the traffic, but check it out tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HELENASWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great Hotel, staff friendly, food good, rooms cleaned everyday plus clean towels. Only let down was the noise from generators in the night, we upgraded to seaview and was worth it. (Traffic noise ok with windows closed). The entertainment in the evening was ok, but not to our taste, would have been nice to have a sample of Maltese style music to coincide with the Maltese dinner night. But very good family hotel in a great location, which was easy for buses and local Budgeba. Our first visit, but not the last!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rainy522014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Just returned from staying at this hotel. The food is very good with plenty of choice. Hotel staff helpful and rooms clean and tidy. The pool area overlooks the sea and is ideal. Stayed on 7th floor at the back overlooking courtyard maybe should have moved as balcony small and do not like heights but hayho the room was okay with tv, fridge and kettle and adequate bathroom. The hotel entertainment is good. For local bars leave the hotel turning left and left again and you will find some bars up a small hill - Irish bar, elvis bar, and others. Drinks are very reasonable even in the hotel. If you want to see the island would recommend local buses at a few euros for a day pass so you can bus hop all day also walk to bus station as you are sure of a seat then - about 10 minutes from hotel. Do not go on sightseeing buses as they are more expensive. All in all would return to this hotel and Malta again great time in the sun.

Room Tip: Book sea view if possible as courtyard rooms have small balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

If you are going here ensure you book a sea view the other view is awful especially if like me you are disabled and need a ground floor we overlooked the smelly pipes from the kitchen .
The people on the desk answer all questions with "I don't know" if you want wi fi this hotel is so primitive you have to pay by the hour go to one of the Many cafés that have free wi fi plenty around
The room was spotless but be aware tea and coffee making facilities means you get a cup and a kettle nothing else
The entrance looks spectacular but the rest of the hotel could do with updating . We had twin beds pushed together and the sheet never fitted so one of us had to sleep on the mattress

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sylvia3424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

When we arrived we were slightly concerned that our room wasn't ready and we had to wait 3hrs,unknown to us there were at least 2 coach loads following us(we had taxied there).
Food was very good and there was always a good choice at both breakfast and evening meal,and thank-you to Raymond who always greeted us with a friendly smile in the restaurant.
Our room had a sea view at the side of Hotel, if you want a front sea view you are expected to pay extra!For some reason no tables on the balcony only chairs,bit tricky if you wanted a drink and read at the same time.Looking forward to returning very soon,met lots of returners,some over 6 times,and many long time guests staying for a least 2mths.Loved the pool area all very accessible.buses just outside Hotel enabling us to go where ever we wanted for all day ticket of €1.60.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side near front e.g. 346,446,546,etc will give you a sea view without having to pay ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chestercrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel was not perhaps 4* standard, however the rooms were very clean and towels were replaced daily. We did not pay for a sea view and were facing an inner courtyard. The courtyard was not very big and you could clearly see the people on their balconies opposite. However as we did not sit out on the balcony this was not an issue. Some of the people who did have a sea view commented that their rooms were noisy in the evenings and felt they had to keep their windows closed because of this. There was plenty of choice available at meal times, although the evening meal finished at 20.45pm (this may be an issue if your flight arrives in the evening) All inclusive is available from 11am until 11pm. This is limited to sandwiches,cake, crisps ,ice cream and drinks.
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel, the staff were helpful and other guests were friendly. For the price we paid it was a good deal

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.3 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,901 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,553 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.5 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
467 reviews
5.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qawra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qawra Palace Hotel

Address: Qawra Sea Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £34 - £828 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Qawra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Fastbooking, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Qawra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qawra Palace Hotel Malta
Qawra Palace St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing