We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Qawra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Qawra Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely wk in the Qawra Palace. We were two 30ish friends going for a week of relaxation to Malta, and we were not disappointed at all. After reading mixed reviews about this hotel we were very nervous on arriving, but was put at ease in the airport as there were were a couple there who were returning for the 2nd year!!!!
Rooms were clean and very spacious ok it had a small balony on the side of the hotel but we weren't there to sit on balconies!!!
Food was lovely... we were half board so plenty of breakfast choice and evening meal (something to suite everyone).
Only thing we did find not suitable to us was the evening entertainment, but a lot of people would be seen dancing the night away.
So all in all I would advise all looking to stay here to dismiss negative feedback as we would recommend this accomadation and would definately be going back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank dmflell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    840
    716
    321
    244
See reviews for
693
1,204
93
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,066)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I've enjoyed my stay at this hotel but as always there is room for improvement. THE STAFF: All the staff are well dressed, helpful and polite who seem to look upon your stay as the most important part of their job. They are without doubt the best thing about the hotel. THE ROOM: Well appointed room with fridge and TV with a selection of British channels. As with most overseas hotels it comes with two single beds, chairs sideboards and a toilet/shower room. I was also lucky enough to have a balcony with a sea view. It was let down by silly things like, loose toilet seat, no tea making facilities despite a kettle. Having said that clean and roomy and pleasant to stay in. THE FOOD: Hmmmm this is where I have a few issues. The food was tasty and plentiful but lacked in choice. The meat on offer was the cheaper cuts and at times not much in the way of taste. Breakfast was fine, lunch nothing to write home about and evening meal adequate. Let down by no drinks available at lunch and evening meals so for the Brits no tea with our meals! What is that all about. FACILITIES: No free wifi! 5euros for 3 hours. Remainder of the hotel supply all your basic needs including sky sports for the football, sorry ladies. CONCLUSION: a good hotel that with a few tweaks could be great hotel. Well worth going to but needs to look a the small things that make a good holiday.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea facing room or it's a view of the indoor crazy golf!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbeach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here for 7 days all incl.in January and enjoyed the experience. The single room at no extra was good deal. Used the indoor pool & jac. every day. The night entertainment was mixed, avoided the bingo and used local bars with entertainment couple of nights. Used the restaurant for all meals and found it adequate, the wine was basic BUT IT WAS FREE. The staff were mostly friendly and helpfull and room was clean air con & heating worked. Very handy for the bus station for travelling around, buses had been taken over by Malta from Arriva & were really good value. Mini bus to airport was excellent service Havn't been to Malta for 25 years & found it friendly as before. Considering another winter break & will use same again. Duncan

Room Tip: Go high at front for a good view if you can stand heights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Duncan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 10 days at the beginning of August. We payed for a sea view which was fabulous. We have never been to malta before and were a bit concerned about previous reviews but we absolutely love the island. People are so friendly and welcoming. The room was very clean, as is the hotel and the view from the 7th floor was fab. The food was limited for choice compared to other 4* that we have stayed in but was always hot as were the plates! The tables often took a while to be cleared to the point where we were doing it ourselves as we were running out of room. We exchanged our evening meal for the pizzeria which was nice but we waited one hour for the food and the staff seemed away with the fairies! The room had a fridge which kept bottles of water and beer well chilled and the air conditioning stayed on all day and night even when out and even when the balcony door was open which was a plus. The bathroom really is tiny but was adequate. The pool area was clean and peaceful and in a great location for access to the sea. Going in the sea anywhere around the bay is a must! Public transport is cheap and easy to use and I was pleasantly surprised to find our high street shops in valletta and silema such as next, marks and Spencer, new look, Jane Norman, Morgan, mother care and early learning centre. Internet access at the hotel was very poor and a waste of money so i would advise not to bother but most bars and boat trips had free wifi so just use that if you need to. We would definitely return to malta hopefully very soon and would use this hotel again. We have been informed that it is undergoing refurbishment for next year which is needed. Overall a beautiful island with plenty to do and a must for anybody to visit.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thestokies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Returned from Malta yesterday. Another fantastic stay at this hotel (it was our 4th visit). Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly, professional receptionists. We had requested a high floor and were allocated a room on the 7th floor - just what we wanted. Our room was clean and well presented - we requested two extra pillows and within the hour, they were with us. Great.
The food in the restaurant was lovely, there was always a good choice, to suit all appetites and the staff were very friendly. The biggest difference we found this time were the desserts. In the past we had always found them to be a little lacking but this time...... we were spoilt for choice. At lunch time we could choose snacks from the bar or go into the restaurant.
Another change this time - the inside pool was open (in the past, it has only been open during the winter months), so they Jacuzzis were a lovely extra.
We have always been All Inclusive at this hotel and I think it's good value for money. All members of staff who we saw and spoke to were friendly, helpful and thoughtful.
We didn't book any organised tours and decided to use the local transport to get around. It was only 1 Euro 50 cents for a day ticket. (You could also buy a week ticket for 6 Euro 50 cents). We caught a bus to Sliema and looked around the shops. Then were caught a small ferry across to Valletta for 1 Euro 50 cents. On another day we went to the Blue Grotto, It was a lovely day out and well worth paying 8 Euros for the boat trip. (We enjoyed it so much that we got another ticket and went on again).
Can't wait to return to Malta.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just spent a week at this hotel.
1 Shower Curtain. !!! It's 2014
2 Toilet seat broken
3 A trail of white silicone on the top edge of the bath to stop the shower water getting on bathroom floor
4 Smell of drains when you used the bathroom basin
5. Free shower gel with a plunger to use economically bolted to wall ( like a prison I am thinking)
6 Worn out towels ( I have better dog towels).

Room Tip: My tip DON'T stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ro J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Bitola, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is good, the food was excellent, but the room was a little tight, and it bothered me that the tourists at the hotel were too noisy and too drunk almost every evening. Area around the pool was excellent. I think I will go again there some day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#5 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
5.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qawra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qawra Palace Hotel

Property: Qawra Palace Hotel
Address: Qawra Sea Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Qawra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Qawra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qawra Palace Hotel Malta
Qawra Palace St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing