We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week stay November 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I was very worried after reading the reviews here and travelled to Malta not expecting very much.
We were met on arrival by Nellie and all my fears faded away. We had the most lovely room,side view of the habour and balcony towards the Church. Yes some things were tired but so clean and everyone was so friendly, we both really enjoyed ourselves.
we stayed bed and breakfast so didn't eat any meals in the hotel, the breakfast was great, with unlimited cups of coffee,which started the day off to a good start.
We liked the quiet location and look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaryDut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

We have recently been in this hotel. Although it is rated as 4 star gold, please be aware that in Malta hotels are overrated. If I had to star this hotel, it would be a 2 star gold. Everything is basic. The lifts got stuck twice in two days. They are terrible. I always used the stairs. The shower is basic as well. Although I couldn't really have a comfortable shower coz the shower-head is very low and stuck on the wall. We had to ask for showercaps, but they provided immediately. Cleanliness is basic as well. The Rooms are very dark, with no proper lighting. The refrigerator switches off when you leave the room (coz it is automated when you put the hotel key in a special socket on the wall). No carpets. Television is lousy.

Food:

The food is delicious. BUT they are misers! It is not a buffet...you can only take either meat or fish or chicken (only one option). If you ask for more they give you THE LOOK! There is no proper English Breakfast with bacon and eggs and sausages. It is either Bacon, or eggs, or sausages. No proper options for dessert as well. On Sunday they gave us an apple pie and we had no choice!!!

Value:

Quite cheap.

Conclusions:

This is a 2 star hotel with very good food (not buffet) and views. Otherwise, it is very basic. Staff is very friendly, with the exception of one or two waiters/resses. I also noticed that they treated locals in a very unfriendly manner when compared to us tourists. Good value for money, but don't have great expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview and you will be rewarded with a very pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JSM0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Pleasant hotel in an excellent and quiet position and that also made it a problem as there was nothing to do in the evening except eat and drink! No local nightlife. My sister and I were on B&B with a group and found the staff to be very helpful but cooked breakfasts did not pass my test of edibility. The 2 evening meals we had there were not great but were eatable. The adjacent fish restaurant was so much better with very knowledgeable staff. We tried the local fish, brought fresh to the door!
Bed linen and towels well worn but clean and acceptable, changed daily.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Prifmawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Just returned from 10 days at this hotel. We were nervous after reading very critical reviews before going, but were pleasantly surprised. Not a four star hotel, but easily could be. Suffers from lack of investment. They could very easily make it a whole lot better if they would just renew towels and linen, although it was always clean and replenished frequently so old and threadbare not inviting to use. Breakfast was a bit dull but adequate. We were only bed and breakfast and not overly impressed with evening meal on arrival so chose to eat out rest of holiday. The fish restaurant was excellent. Hotel staff friendly and helpful, cleanliness excellent, location outstanding (ask for a sea view). Please spend a little money on this hotel to raise its standards or I fear custom may drop off!

Stayed: October 2012
4  Thank ShellFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

just spent two lovely weeks in this hotel , a stunning location , hotel was a bit tired but room was clean, an ideal place if you want peace and quiet or the bizz . Most of the staff were friendly ,MARY-ROSE at the reception desk was a mine of information. Would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: rooms at the poolside are quieter and have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel in August 2012. Wow it would have been better placed in the 70s rather than the year 2012. Stay clear of room 409. dodgie electrics, fringe did not work, light shades were all burnt and scortched dont switch on or they will go on fire, With daily temps in the high 40s & nite temps in the high 30s our A/C just did not function at all. After complaiining to the reception and the rep of thomas cook we had no responce at all. We ended up mugging the maid for a fan. The bathroom well if you could call it that it resembled the black hole of culcuta. Well the breckfast was a right farce it seemed baked beans and german sausage plus the odd morning you got what looked like a fried egg, we wont mention the toaster it will take up to much room!!!!!!.

Room Tip: north rooms have the sun most of the day until dusk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alex w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Hotel was quite basic with few facilities but the location on the harbour was fantastic. Staff were very helpful but sheets were very thin and worn. Balcony was quite small with room for just 2 chairs and small table. Fridge not only out of order but disgusting interior. Reasonable breakfast. Bathroom essentials, shampoo, shower gel etc not replaced until I actually asked. Lovely to sit outside Bar each evening and pleasant walk along front to nearby restaurants -especially Georges. On the whole very dated and in need of refurbishing. Thankfully paid extra for sea view.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Paul's Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,667 reviews
1.2 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
494 reviews
1.0 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,944 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gillieru Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gillieru Harbour Hotel

Address: Church Square, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3256, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £31 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gillieru Harbour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gillieru Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gillieru Harbour
Gillieru Harbour St Pauls Bay
Gillieru Harbour Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing