We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Should be better”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Let me just say I am not a moaner as my other reviews will show and my wife and I are pretty easy to please, but I do need to moan a little bit following our stay at this hotel in September.

Lets start with some positives, the Gillieru is in a fantastic spot right on the harbour at the quiet end of the resort, but just a few minutes stroll to the bustling heart of Bugiba and if you know the right way to walk not very far from Qawra as well. The hotel looks good externally and the view from the back of the hotel is lovely as it looks out over the bay and this is also where the pool and bar is situated, which is a lovely spot to relax and watch the sun go down.
However its here that it starts to go downhill, the pool, bar, and restaurant feel separate from the hotel with the pool joined by a small bridge from the second floor and no way to get down to the bar without going back into the hotel, downstairs and back out and around the side. It feels like 2 separate businesses and from what we can gather that's what has happened, the old owner has died and his sons have taken over but don't get on with each other so one runs the hotel and the other one the restaurant. The problem is this has left the hotel without its old catering staff and this has now been contracted out and they seem to be doing it on the cheap.

We were only staying bed and breakfast but the breakfast were the worst we have had, a piece of fruit (tinned not fresh) and nothing to go with it, only a choice of 2 cereals, 3 very unappetising cooked foods (warmed ham of all things) and the slowest toaster ever. All made worse by a dinning room that is too small for self service which leads to queues for everything, they even ran out of marmalade on our last day! We talked to other guests who have been going there for years and they said that the food used to be great and was served to you at the table, and many of them were complaining about the changes.
Toward the end of our week they did add some extra cereals and fruit, but still no yoghurt or anything to go with it.

As for the rooms, ours was tired and the bathroom had corroded fittings and mouldy sealant, the windows are only single glazed which means quite a bit of noise if you overlook the road, and the TV picture was awful (although it only showed local Maltese channels anyway), the sheets and towels were changed regularly though.

The hotel is being refurbished over the winter and reading some of the latest reviews it looks like the manager has taken some of the guests concerns on board and some of the food issues might have improved.

This could be one of the best hotels on the island, lets hope the owners listen to the guests, put their differences aside and turn the Gillieru back to the 4 star hotel it should be.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front get the sun all day but can be a little noisy, rooms at the back get the best vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheppma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    242
    191
    82
    60
See reviews for
93
418
46
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kiryat shmuel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We did not actually stay at this hotel, but had a bad experience nonetheless.

We visited St. Pauls Bay one night, and then looked for a hotel in order to take a taxi back to Paceville. We happened to stop at the Gillieru Harbour Hotel, and the young man behind the desk specifically told us to wait in the lobby and not outside for the taxi he would call. Within minutes a young woman comes in, tells us she is the driver, and takes us to her car, which is a private car. It is late at night, we are tired, and there is no other option, so we're stuck. She takes us to our hotel, and when we ask for a receipt (which we need to reimbursement), she tells us she just finished her receipt book and will bring one the next morning. There is no receipt the next morning. When I call the hotel the same young man answers, and he remembers us; he says he will certainly ask the driver to bring the receipt. Again, no receipt came, and our trip ended. In retrospect, I doubt that the hotel ever called a real taxi but got someone connected with the hotel to take us home, charge the full amount, and then lie about the receipt. This is shameful, and it gives honest hoteliers a bad name.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Got home 2weeks ago this hotel is very tired needs some TLC, food terrible contractors replaced regular staff wrong move do not go half or full board you will be sorry.
put us in a single occupancy room at 2am nothing to drink not even water asked front desk sorry we have no water or anything to drink amazed.
We complained next day was put in a better room on the second day very nice room overlooking the pool and st Pauls bay, pool ok salt water, staff very nice and helpful.
Bar & retuarant beside hotel run by same family very good had some great times there, Nino & slaove behind bar were great this is a plus point.
MALTA is a great island, advice find a good holiday let very reasonable plenty of places to eat.

Room Tip: room 214 same level as pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank technician1x1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed late September/early October just before planned shutdown for refurbishment.

This hotel has a lot to recommend it but, as others have noted, it is in urgent need of an update and a rethink about the food provided.

Starting with the good bits - location is one of the best in the area, in a quiet residential zone but with fantastic views and just a short walk to the usual restaurants, bars etc. The staff are also superb and don't deserve the way that the management have let them down.

The rooms are not large but adequate size for a couple. They are very frayed round the edges and certainly not up to the promised 4* standard. Our room (511) was acceptable but I did hear some horror stories from other guests! The housekeeping staff did do a very good job of keeping the room clean and tidy though.

The real downside was the food - think 70's Motorway Service Station as regards quality. Breakfast was just about acceptable, if somewhat chaotic, but the evening meal definitely was not. As an example - a dish of pasta made Tesco Value meals look good and was served with packet Parmesan cheese which was well past its sell-by date! We cancelled our half-board after the first evening and ate out for the rest of the time.

Apart from the food we did enjoy our stay and would consider returning after the refurbishment. If you are thinking of staying there then I would strongly advise looking at the reviews once it reopens. The refurbishment should overcome most of the downsides but, if they don't bring the catering back in house, then avoid the half-board option at all costs.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms on 5th floor are smaller but have bigger balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMOTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have been to this Hotel before, a couple of years ago. It may need some updating, (I believe they are starting to do this in November ). but the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff was still as I remember. Rooms were spotless and towels changed every day.
Breakfast was more than sufficient and we left the dinner table in the evening so full we could hardly move. As I am on a Gluton free diet, they made sure that I was well catered for.
It was lovely to be in an Hotel that was away from the main resorts but has frequent bus services just outside to most of the tourist places. Hopefully we shall return sometime soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Yes it is in need of a refurb but can find nothing to complain about - we stayed 24th September to 8th October in room 308 which overlooks Church Street but also has corner view of harbour. Room was large and more than adequate. The bathroom could do with a bit of work but nothing major.

The breakfast was more than sufficient with plenty of choice - can believe however that some people seemed only happy when they were complaining about anything and everything.

Fantastic spot for a great holiday with Buggiba only 15 minutes walk - would suggest walking round the harbour rather than on the street - less tiring on the old legs! Bus stop just up the road near the church which took you to main bus terminal and then anywhere you wanted on the island. Get a day ticket or even better still a week pass!

All in all a fantastic holiday and would consider going again.

Room Tip: We found our room was the best of both worlds with the balcony having sun all day and overlooking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddlesbroughMelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed in room 507. Sun all day on balcony , sea view. Nothing too complain about. Can't see what all the bad reviews are about. Food was good. Pool was refreshing. Overall great hotel and holiday

September 17th to October 1st

Will return

Room Tip: Don't listen too half of the bad reviews there not true. Best room location is side of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.3 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,580 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,800 reviews
1.0 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,493 reviews
1.4 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gillieru Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gillieru Harbour Hotel

Property: Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Address: Church Square, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 01, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gillieru Harbour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gillieru Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gillieru Harbour
Gillieru Harbour St Pauls Bay
Gillieru Harbour Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing