We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another great holiday”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is my fifth visit to the hotel and had another great holiday. The breakfast was better but agree the fruit juice had never seen fruit. Our room facing the church was clean and the new shower superb and we did have shelves. Marie Rose is a saint and really looks after you. I agree it's not Uk 4 star but I didn't pay the price of a uk 4 star. As for location superb

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    226
    172
    78
    58
See reviews for
85
384
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The holiday brochure made this sound our ideal location "Prestigious", "Traditional Characteristics" in other words old and decrepit, this was like a sketch from Faulty Towers!!!
I'm not a one to complain normally, and usually accept something's are not what they say they are, but felt compelled to write this review.
On the first night the toilet didn't work, the solution according to the handyman who came out to fix it was, lift the lid and tip it from side to side till the button popped back up?
That was the least of our problems, the air conditioning was none existent, when you had the fan on it was too noisy to sleep and with out to hot (don't get room 106)....
The lift kept breaking down on a regular bases one night with us in it, my partner was hysterical by the time they opened the doors and we could climb out!!!
Its such a shame as this hotel has one of the best locations and views in the bay? the staff are friendly and helpful, just lacking in resources.
Oh and if you like sausage and egg every morning for your breakfast you will love this hotel....
This is by no way a 4star hotel, be warned!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveroberts696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I agree with most of the comment by other people. I was so disappointed by this hotel. I don't know where it got a 4 star rating I would not even rate it as a 2 star hotel. On the night of our arrival we were checked in by a grumpy old man he was rude and not very helpful so first impression was very bad. He gave us the key to our room explained nothing to us he muttered something about what time breakfast started and finished. Our room was on the fourth floor and as everyone else has said the sheets on the beds were grey and did not fit beds, the towels were old and there was a smell in the bathroom. The air conditioning was not great it went off during the night. Also the safe in the room was tiny and we were charged €15 for 5 nights.

The food in the restaurants was terrible so I was glad we were only B&B. We did eat one night in the Italian Restaurant in the hotel and I would not recommend anyone to eat there. The service was slow and no one could explain the menu to us when we asked a few question about some of the dishes. Overall the food was not great.

I will not return to this hotel and I would not recommend it to any of my friends.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhondawalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Whilst I agree with most the other reviews on this hotel i.e. lumpy pillows, poor sheets etc, we found the new shower rooms to be very good although they need to have somewhere for you to put your shower gels and all the other stuff we take with us! No shelves anywhere in the bathroom. We were only B&B and found the food acceptable for the price we paid but don't understand why you could not get your own hot food when everything else was buffet style. The fruit juice was disgusting and we ended up buying cartons and taking them in to breakfast with us. Just glad we were not half board. I can understand Mary-Rose looking fed up as she seems to be bombarded with complaints of which she has no control. MANAGEMENT of this hotel is needed by the owners and this is obviously lacking or they are not interested in
the need of their guests. We did not see any management around the hotel all the 10 days we were there. Nevertheless, we really enjoyed our holiday and the hotel has a real charm and is in a lovely position it is such a shame that all the problems cannot be sorted out. It is in a nice quiet area and within walking distance to Bugibba and Qwara where there are plenty of bars, restaurants and shops. We found it very cheap to eat and drink in these areas much cheaper than Spain etc. Come on Management get your act together and make this hotel a success again especially when it comes to the food (re-employ chefs etc to give this hotels restaurant back its reputation of lovely food) as it would be such a shame for it continue as it is. However, we will be going again if only for the position of the hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have two patio doors and balconies which makes the room very light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HonestWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Back again for more punishment (13th time) after the recent upgrade if you can call it that.

The Gillieru holds many special memories for me and my family and we have 'put up with' the various complaints on here about old looking bed sheets, no entertainment etc. This year though things have taken a nose dive.

We had hoped that the restaurant which was passed to a 3rd party would have improved. Sadly it has not. Lettuce soup followed by artichoke slices as a main put us off on our first day and we quickly changed to bed and breakfast.

Breakfast is now a strange one. It is an English breakfast of sorts with tomatoes, sausages and square eggs. The problem is that it is brought in from the other side of St Pauls Bay and is often luke warm or on one morning stone cold. The Maltese bread is no longer cut up for you. You have to cut it yourself.

Some will be delighted to know that the pool bar is up and running. Again though this appears to be sub contracted out as the same people run the low grade Italian restaurant in the same place once the evening kicks in. The pizzeria is no more sadly.

What of the upgrades? Well the tv's are an improvement. A sort of flat screen on the wall which has a number of foreign channels and a couple of English language movie channels. You still have to get the remote from reception.

The showers are a big problem. You no longer have baths but a walk in show which is at the same level as the floor with no door. This of course means that the floor gets flooded every time. A lack of foresight there.

The air con has been upgraded. Although better, they have a habit of turning off outside of the times which the hotel turn it off. 10 minutes on one minute then they stay on for 2 hours then turn off again.

The lifts are on their last legs. They broke down several times and have a total mind of their own. One day it was stuck on level 1 for 10 minutes and on one occasion both lifts were out of action at the same time. Apparently an upgrade is coming in October when the hotel is to be closed again for another 4 months.

The once delightful Mary Rose on reception had a decidedly grumpy attitude this year which is a shame. Although to be fair, she was working a 7 day week nearly 12 hours a day. Maybe we should forgive her?

The cleaning of the rooms was very good this year. Our cleaner was efficient generally with sheets changed promptly.

We heard that one person had the decorators in their room whilst they were in it. They were chipping away at the wall with a mess on the floor.

Another disturbing issue is the number of people allowed to casually walk in and use the pool facilities. One day there were 20 Italians 'hogging' the pool area, leaving guests with no where to go.

Overall the Gillieru is at its lowest ebb seen by my family and I. It is such a shame, it is in a fantastic location but has stood still with time. It's recent upgrade of the showers is shocking whilst the food issue is quite frankly unbelievable. How many hotels of any rating do you know that have it shipped in from 2 miles away?

Will I go back for a 14th time? I don't know. It really will be a case of whether my heart rules its head or not.

Time to sell up Gillieru and let someone else have a go at running what was one of the delights of Malta.

Room Tip: the seaview wins every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank maltaveteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Hotel is situated right on the seafront, pool deck surrounded by small harbour on three sides, pool views of the sea towards St Pauls island. Interior of the hotel is dated, lifts are small, slow unreliable and wall to wall brown carpeted. Rooms are ok, beds have firm mattresses, and linen was actually changed every day on our two week stay, though half the time beds not made up completely just bottom sheet laid out and top one remaining folded on foot of bed, as if an option to have it on, depending on who was cleaning the room(duvets eventually put on top of wardrobes as not seen to be needed. Towels bit grey or thin on occassions, pine furniture in room. I had a fifth floor seaview twin balcony room, (513) package with Chevron, disappointed initially with them for putting us in standard rear twin at back of hotel overlooking street, which is fairly quite, paid for upgrade to seaview, which was worth it, missing the sound of sea and sunset views already! Bathrooms have been upgraded, so good showers flushing toilets and hot water, though was at a trickle rate in the basin.
Breakfast room dismal, like some victorian parlour, floor to ceiling net curtains, heavy brown curtains, why they don't have an optional use of the surrounding terrace is beyond me and the place would certainly benefit with some mediterranean colour, also the radio is blurting out music at various volumes, not necessary. Food was cheap and industrial, limited on selection and daily variation, my son joked about cardboard tasting cereals, no muesli, standard jam sachets of thin strawberry or marmalade, Grannys pride, more like Grannys spittle post suck of of appropriately flavoured boiled sweet. The cold meat looked highly processed, bacon on Sundays only the thin streaky type with the white bone bits, economical cuts. We've stayed at two previous hotels in Malta, (Park hotel Sliema and Primera in Bugibba) both had far better variety and quality. If you can book self catering at this hotel you'd be fine as there are plenty of places close by that will provide better fair at reasonable prices (£3.00)
This hotel has the advantage of being by the sea, has friendly staff, and is quiet ( unless there's a feast celebration then you'll have to put up with firworks and mortars been shot every hour from 8am)and within strolling distance of the centre of Bugibba, or bus stop is just outside.

You'll also be charged £15 a week for the use of room safe, which is steep. I'm afraid someone took my good sunglasses within the reception area, dropped out of pocket :( kept hoping they would be returned) anyway not hotels fault. Minibar fridge in rooms, friends in room 216 said theirs didn't work.

Overall location excellent, but forget the food, oh yes sunbed saving is prevalent, the English are doing it at 6 and 7 in the morning!

Aircon works well though we didn't use it as we kept balcony door open most times, prefer the noise of sea to aircon unit.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are worth having, they have more sun and you can watch the setting of the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aronmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location; right on the harbour and at the end of the promenade from Bugibba. If you like quiet but easy access to the holiday biz this is ideal. downside is that it does need a bit of money spent on things like new towels and sheets, general decor and the air con.In saying that it was spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable despite thin pillows. Staff were pleasant and helpful. breakfast was fine, not a big choice but o.k. The fuit juice was not really worth drinking though.Several guests we talked to on half board said evenng meal was no good and some guests have been coming for years so it can't be too bad.Would i stay here again.....yes because of the location ( sea view worth paying for !), pool area nice and lots of lovely restaurants near by. It was a budget holiday price we paid so we got good value for money and a view to die for...can't complain

Room Tip: wifi available in lobby, not in rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alison c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Paul's Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,421 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,360 reviews
1.0 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
2,614 reviews
1.4 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,268 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gillieru Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gillieru Harbour Hotel

Property: Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Address: Church Square, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 01, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gillieru Harbour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gillieru Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gillieru Harbour
Gillieru Harbour St Pauls Bay
Gillieru Harbour Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing