We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dolmen Hotel Malta(St. Paul's Bay)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Santana(St. Paul's Bay)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Topaz Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Salini Resort(St. Paul's Bay)
US$374
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Porto del Sol(St. Paul's Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Arzella Rooms(St. Paul's Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (817)
Filter reviews
817 results
Traveller rating
164
284
210
91
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
284
210
91
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmary roseoverlooking the harbourpaul's islandwet roomlovely hotelgreat positiontravel kettlefruit juicebus stopcold meatswalk in showercooked breakfastquiet areatowels changed every daychanged dailyroom with a sea viewsmall fridge
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 817 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just had a ten day stay here - didn't start so well. Friendly staff, clean rooms with good housekeeping service. Takes 15 minutes to walk towards lots of restaurants and shops. Bus stop nearby. However, a few blips - We were initially put in a very basic room - overlooking the bins! It turned out to be the courtesy room in the staff annexe. Next morning we were told we would be transferred to sea view room - with balcony. This was fine but it would have been helpful to have been told that when we arrived - night staff unaware of situation. The breakfast was fine but were concerned about the breakfast arrangements from a health and safety point of view. The restaurant is closed for renovation - and a basement type area is being used. Poor ventilation, residents in danger of being scalded with spillages as the room is not fit for purpose - simply not big enough, people had to wait for tables, overcrowded - my party took our breakfast upstairs to the café area = which was a bit dodgy - negotiating doors - or simply going out into the street with your breakfast and returning to the café! thus avoiding the doors We thought maybe refunds for breakfast could be offered so people could go elsewhere, use the bar next door with prior arrangement for breakfast? The staff were courteous and helpful BUT it would have been helpful if notices/written information were used - apologies for the inconvenience of the restaurant being closed, apologies for our initial stay in the courtesy room. I would return for another holiday there - when hopefully it is more smoothly run. Best wishes to the staff who are doing their best

Room Tip: Room with a sea view and a balcony
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 303IreneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max G, General Manager at Gillieru Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Irene,

Thank you for your review but I have some comments I would like to clarify. The room you were initially placed in is not a courtesy room, its true its on the ground floor and its true it overlooks the back of the hotel. Matter is that we gave you a beautiful sea view in the next day. Night staff are only aware of changes if they are premade or if the room allocated woud need to be changed for some reason or other. I wish that the hotel was all Sea view but unfortunately it is not. I can assure you that breakfast area is safe as its a hotel restaurant anyway so all the precautions have been taken, we have also improved breakfast by offering a much vaster range of products including mushrooms, grapes, strawberries , yogurt etc. Have also increased our variety of breads and sweets and upgraded other products. One may also opt to eat on the terrace where coffee and tea may be obtained from the bar. I can also assure you that if we offered a refund on breakfast on the tour operator rate it would be a very insignificant amount.

I thank you for the comments on the staff and I am sure that I also met you myself whilst with us on your vacation. On your next vacation to the Gillieru I can assure you that our beautiful restaurant will be operational and should you wish anything in particular please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. Booking direct with us is also an assurance of room allocation since it is a much more efficient way of booking your holday.

Regards. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just came back after a week's holiday was a bit disappointed with our 1st room o the 5th floor which would have been ideal for a single person the balcony only had one chair as that was all you could fit in this got rectified the following day after seeing the receptionist who was lovely and got a lovely room overlooking the pool and sea ,hotel spotless good position but found the drinks to be a bit expensive as is with most hotels a ramp would have been ideal down to the pool for my sister in law who is in a wheelchair other them that we would return

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank 378,987,654,321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max G, General Manager at Gillieru Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest ,

Thank you for the review and sincerely hope to See you again shortly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our first stay here 6 of us had a great time the staff are so nice and Maryrose is just how the previous reviews mention so knowledgeable and helpful as are all the staff. Hotel is being modernized and to be fair parts of it do need it. That said we will be back next year a great place to stay and i really can not praise the staff enough all of them.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank trikeman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max G, General Manager at Gillieru Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Trikeman67

Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to hosting yuo again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

returned for the 2nd time to this hotel stayed for one week 10th to 17th June had very nice time peaceful and relaxing we are in our 50s and most of client's are 40 + so if your looking for wild place to stay this hotel isn't for you. ask for sea view rooms we stayed in 413 very nice and clean basic but all you need maids are very polite and do good job there is building
work going on which is due for completion next summer but you wouldn't no it very quite 1st floor is complete restaurant should be done end of June and short 10 minute stroll takes you to restaurants and bars would I go back to this hotel YES 100%










Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max G, General Manager at Gillieru Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review , we sincerely appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our 4th time here & it certainly lived up to its standards. Martyrose on reception was once again her excellent friendly helpful self. Anything you needed just ask Maryrose & within no time she had it sorted for you. Danielo also on reception was very welcoming & always had a smile on his face. We will certainly be back. Thank you.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank charmur15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max G, General Manager at Gillieru Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Charmur15

Thank you for your lovely review , we really appreciate your comments .

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews