We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
northumberland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
Reviewed 16 January 2011

First room (316)was sea facing and extremely cold.Crack sealed up with sellotape on balcony glass door and very drafty. Could'nt put heater on for the noise it made and no sunshine at all in these rooms. Was told to move to room 307 for 1 day untill room 304 was ready. Room 307 very small and still noisy. Eventually allocated to room 304. Large but like the majority of rooms the mattresses were well worn and smelly as no mattress covers are used here. The sheets were only changed once during my 2 weeks. Turned from top to bottom occasionally .I dont think I ever had a towel without a hole in it and I noticed that they wer'nt always clean either. However if you caught the maid she would give you new ones straight away. Hotel staff were brilliant and the eveing meals are delicious.Breakfast was continental but I opted for bacon and eggs each day.Lovely.!! The noise from the road is horrific in the church view rooms but a lot warmer in winter months.Also Italian students use this hotel at weekends in the winter months and sleep is impossible unless you are deaf and switch off. After a bad start things did get better and you sort of mould into this hotel due to the staff and its location for everything. No wheelchair access for sun roof on fifth floor and only step access to pool area on second level. Shame as both are nice . The long promenade from the hotel is flat and easy access buses are in force in July.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler6555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    231
    183
    80
    59
See reviews for
88
398
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Just 10 mins away from the noisy commercialised Bugibba. Enjoyed the village tranquility. The good food and hospitality at Don Vito Restaurant just up the road from the Hotel was a bonus. (phto enclsed). Friendly Maltese always ready to talk and help.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abb147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We enjoyed the location of the hotel. Its a pleasant stroll along the seafront to Bugibba square, and is close to several bus-stops. There are good views of the harbour and St Pauls Island from the pool and from the rooms with a sea view.

The rooms are basic, but adequate, but could do with a face-lift. Nothing particularly bad, but a few minor touch-ups would help. Doors jamming, rusty plugholes etc. We did have a problem with the sheets not fitting the bed properly (as the double was 2 singles pushed together) and work each morning in a tangle of sheets and sleeping mainly on the bare mattress.

Breakfast was also basic - cereals, some processed meats, cheese, bread and toast.

Reception was helpful with bookings and giving directions. I do object, however, to paying a large sum for a deposit box (20 euros per week), particularly when other guests had complained of thefts from their room. We were not affected by this as we used a deposit box.

Generally a reasonable hotel which could be good with a few minor tweaks.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deltaseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrow in furness
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

This hotel is typically Maltese ,old fashioned and in need of a complete overhaul !!
The central heating was useless ,rooms very basic and lots of flying ants whenever we opened the balcony door !!
However the location is really great !!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spikey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2010

I can only echo recent reviews. Very happy with our choice in terms of size and location - ie quieter, scenic spot but within easy reach of busier areas for convenience. The room was basic but clean - a nice touch was provision of UK as well as EU socket! We took a travel kettle but rarely used it as refreshment prices were fair. We faced the square and the traffic noise (buses, lorries, boy racers...) was slightly irritating but not enough to ruin the holiday (and we are fussy about noise!)
Breakfast was continental and fine - the waiting staff were efficient and helpful. We never ate in so can't comment on evening meal.
The receptionist was friendly and a good source of information on buses etc.
The restaurant across the road - Ristorante Rosi - served very nice food. Not cheap or touristy but of good quality. There were plenty of cheaper options along the way into Bugibba for when budgets wear thinner!
We had an open-top sightseeing hop on/off tour around the North of the island -15 euros each- which we enjoyed and used as a way to get an overview and also visit Mdina (recommended). Otherwise we had no problems with the local buses, which were very cheap, if slightly reckless! Valletta was absolutely beautiful in terms of architecture and views and great for shopping! We recommend it.
For beach, a trip North to Paradise Bay is recommended - take the bus to the Gozo ferry and then double back and turn right. Idyllic and well organized for sunbeds/parasols/eating etc. Safe for snorkelling and sea kayaking (available for 3.50 euros for an hour).
All in all we thought this hotel was in a very good spot and were happy with the facilities - the view from the pool terrace is gorgeous. Would use again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDamson_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We booked late (<4 weeks before travelling), so not surprisingly we didn't get a room with a view or balcony. Despite that, we found our room comfortable enough and adequately furnished (pine bed with bedside lockers, wardrobe, and dressing table and chair). There were little niggles, like not being able to use the TV without paying 12 euro deposit for a remote control, for which we can thank previous visitors, who evidently leave the hotel with the remote in their luggage! To be honest, we didn't bother as there are better things to do than watch TV.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, dealing with a variety of requests from supplying swimming towels, to advising about bus routes.
Various bars are open for snacks and drinks throughout the day, so you hardly had to leave the hotel and poolside (with plenty of sun beds and umbrella shades) all day. Drinks at the pool bar - whether beer or coffee cost 1.5 euro, so not over-priced. I should say more about the pool: it is built on a deck above the Gillieru Restaurant - jutting out into the sea so that you have views right across St Paul's Bay. The water is very salty; not for serious swimming, but you can float in the sun for hours! Alternatively, you can swim in the sea if it's not too rough - there is no beach, the coast being limestone rocks, but the areas for swimming are cordoned off from the boats/marina area and have steps for climbing out. It was obviously the favourite of all the locals!
St. Paul's itself is just an overgrown fishing village, not particularly picturesque inland, but with plenty of bars, restaurants, small supermarkets, banks etc. Nearby and within 5-10 mins walking distance along the promenade, is Bugibba with more touristy eateries and shops.
We were there on a half-board basis - meals were varied with a choice of starter, main course and variety of deserts, but nothing specifically vegetarian. Fish, being local, was my choice most evenings, though the chicken, beef and pork dishes looked very appetising and fresh vegetables were served too. Breakfast consisted of a plentiful variety of breads, jam and honey, sausage meat and cheese, though on some days it was tasty cheese, on others plastic-wrapped slices. There was always fresh fruit, though generally only apples, pears, bananas and grapes. Extras, such as yoghurt (1.euro) or any "cooked English breakfast" dishes could be purchased from the menu.
The buses, as you will no doubt read in any guide book, are a variety of old British Army and other surplus left-hand drive vehicles, such as you would no longer find in the UK - all in the red and yellow national colours. The fares are ridiculously cheap (54 cents each from St Pauls Bay to Valetta), and slightly over 1 euro to nearby Mosta (on a different line). Buses are quite frequent and the routes criss-cross the island, providing a great way of sightseeing.
As the mini-bus that took us back to the airport drove through bigger resorts, such as St Julian's, I was really glad that we had stayed in St Paul's.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Bules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We travelled with Thomas Cook holidays. As it was a late booking we were unable to get a sea view room as had been recommended in other reviews. This did not prove to be a problem as the room we had,505, was south facing , had two balconies and a view of the square. As there was no- one above it was very private. The room was perfectly adequate . The shower was a bit low tec but just about did the job. Breakfast was in a pleasant dining room and although there was no hot cooked food included it was available at extra cost. Few people needed this as what was available -juice , cereals, fresh fruit, meats, cheese,breads and preserves in unlimited quantities,was enough.
The hotel is small enough to have a personal feel and big enough to offer the facilities of a larger place.
We used the Hotel Fish Restaurant once. It was not to be recommended. I was given the wrong meal but although there was an apology this was not reflected in the bill. We'd waited so long for the food that I accepted it but ended up eating something that I would not have ordered. Also, there was supposed to be a discount for residents. 10% was deducted from the food only but this was negated by a 4Euro cover charge. The restaurant opposite the hotel, Mama Rosi, is excellent and the Chinese next to it is excellent value and did good duck.
The location is good for walking to the more touristy Buggiba and for catching the bu.However, it has to be said that the bus often arrived at the nearest stop full and did not pick up. It's a long way to Vallette standing up on bumpy roads.
If we went back we would hire a car to be able to access more remote places. We would have liked to visit some pre-historic sites but by public transport it isn't viable.
Reception staff were helpful in booking tours. The T.Cook ones are overpriced.
All in all we would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeverleySueandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Paul's Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,698 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,315 reviews
1.0 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,641 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gillieru Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gillieru Harbour Hotel

Property: Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Address: Church Square, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 01, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gillieru Harbour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gillieru Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gillieru Harbour
Gillieru Harbour St Pauls Bay
Gillieru Harbour Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing