We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value, basic but clean rooms, nice location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gillieru Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“great value, basic but clean rooms, nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

My friend and I had a 3 night stay at this hotel and it was great value. The room was clean and adequate enough although it could do with refurbishment (tatty bathroom and tv (remote at reception so you pay a deposit), balcony doors a bit stiff, I found my bed & pillows uncomfy). The staff were friendly and the breakfast was fine, the usual continental style with plenty of options and fresh fruit. We didn't eat the the hotel restaurant but it looked nice. The fish one across the road was good and there's a really nice Italian place at the top of the hill where the main bus stops are, Mezza Luna. The location is nice and quiet but only a short walk to the toursity area of Bugibba and the bus stops are just up the hill (get a timetable if you can).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GigCoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    224
    168
    78
    58
See reviews for
85
380
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Scotland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

Nice clean hotel with reasonably friendly Maltese staff (Maltese quite dour until they know you). Breakfast was continental and is served until 10.00am. get down before 9.00am as when we arrived at 9.15am on the Friday all rolls had gone as well as the orange juice. On the Saturday the orange juice had been replaced by an orange drink - think they used what they had rather than buy fresh supplies as too early in season. Hotel is in a lovely position and the rooms on the bay side have balconies and excellent views over the bay. However DO NOT ACCEPT ROOM 215 as it is above the kitchen as there is a compressor that runs ALL DAY AND NIGHT. I expect some other rooms on the 2nd floor will also be affected. However it is a good place to go. Don vito resturant acrooss road from hotel is very good and Green Lable white wine is 6 euros a bottle and is nice.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highteas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

First room (316)was sea facing and extremely cold.Crack sealed up with sellotape on balcony glass door and very drafty. Could'nt put heater on for the noise it made and no sunshine at all in these rooms. Was told to move to room 307 for 1 day untill room 304 was ready. Room 307 very small and still noisy. Eventually allocated to room 304. Large but like the majority of rooms the mattresses were well worn and smelly as no mattress covers are used here. The sheets were only changed once during my 2 weeks. Turned from top to bottom occasionally .I dont think I ever had a towel without a hole in it and I noticed that they wer'nt always clean either. However if you caught the maid she would give you new ones straight away. Hotel staff were brilliant and the eveing meals are delicious.Breakfast was continental but I opted for bacon and eggs each day.Lovely.!! The noise from the road is horrific in the church view rooms but a lot warmer in winter months.Also Italian students use this hotel at weekends in the winter months and sleep is impossible unless you are deaf and switch off. After a bad start things did get better and you sort of mould into this hotel due to the staff and its location for everything. No wheelchair access for sun roof on fifth floor and only step access to pool area on second level. Shame as both are nice . The long promenade from the hotel is flat and easy access buses are in force in July.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler6555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

Just 10 mins away from the noisy commercialised Bugibba. Enjoyed the village tranquility. The good food and hospitality at Don Vito Restaurant just up the road from the Hotel was a bonus. (phto enclsed). Friendly Maltese always ready to talk and help.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abb147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

We enjoyed the location of the hotel. Its a pleasant stroll along the seafront to Bugibba square, and is close to several bus-stops. There are good views of the harbour and St Pauls Island from the pool and from the rooms with a sea view.

The rooms are basic, but adequate, but could do with a face-lift. Nothing particularly bad, but a few minor touch-ups would help. Doors jamming, rusty plugholes etc. We did have a problem with the sheets not fitting the bed properly (as the double was 2 singles pushed together) and work each morning in a tangle of sheets and sleeping mainly on the bare mattress.

Breakfast was also basic - cereals, some processed meats, cheese, bread and toast.

Reception was helpful with bookings and giving directions. I do object, however, to paying a large sum for a deposit box (20 euros per week), particularly when other guests had complained of thefts from their room. We were not affected by this as we used a deposit box.

Generally a reasonable hotel which could be good with a few minor tweaks.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deltaseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrow in furness
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

This hotel is typically Maltese ,old fashioned and in need of a complete overhaul !!
The central heating was useless ,rooms very basic and lots of flying ants whenever we opened the balcony door !!
However the location is really great !!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spikey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

I can only echo recent reviews. Very happy with our choice in terms of size and location - ie quieter, scenic spot but within easy reach of busier areas for convenience. The room was basic but clean - a nice touch was provision of UK as well as EU socket! We took a travel kettle but rarely used it as refreshment prices were fair. We faced the square and the traffic noise (buses, lorries, boy racers...) was slightly irritating but not enough to ruin the holiday (and we are fussy about noise!)
Breakfast was continental and fine - the waiting staff were efficient and helpful. We never ate in so can't comment on evening meal.
The receptionist was friendly and a good source of information on buses etc.
The restaurant across the road - Ristorante Rosi - served very nice food. Not cheap or touristy but of good quality. There were plenty of cheaper options along the way into Bugibba for when budgets wear thinner!
We had an open-top sightseeing hop on/off tour around the North of the island -15 euros each- which we enjoyed and used as a way to get an overview and also visit Mdina (recommended). Otherwise we had no problems with the local buses, which were very cheap, if slightly reckless! Valletta was absolutely beautiful in terms of architecture and views and great for shopping! We recommend it.
For beach, a trip North to Paradise Bay is recommended - take the bus to the Gozo ferry and then double back and turn right. Idyllic and well organized for sunbeds/parasols/eating etc. Safe for snorkelling and sea kayaking (available for 3.50 euros for an hour).
All in all we thought this hotel was in a very good spot and were happy with the facilities - the view from the pool terrace is gorgeous. Would use again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDamson_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.3 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
1.1 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,492 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gillieru Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gillieru Harbour Hotel

Property: Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Address: Church Square, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 01, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gillieru Harbour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Gillieru Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gillieru Harbour
Gillieru Harbour St Pauls Bay
Gillieru Harbour Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing