We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star at best, by noisy street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We checked into this hotel on 2nd March and were put in a room overlooking the street at the front of the hotel. To say this was a noisy location would be an understatement. The hotel is on a bus route and they start to accelerate up the hill from in front of the hotel. The windows hardly keep any noise out and you hear any vehicle that goes past. On top of that they were digging up the street when we were there making the rooms at the front of the hotel unusable. This said they refused to move us unless we paid a 60 Euro upgrade charge to move to the seaward side of the hotel. A friend spoke to the hotel management and got us some discount off this but we still had to pay 42 Euros just to get a room we could sleep in.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarrogateMal_dives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
There are newer reviews for Gillieru Harbour Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2011

This is a small hotel with friendly and accommodating staff. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The housekeeping supervisor, Rita, is a 'star' - a really kind and welcoming lady.The food is more than adequate in quantity, and a good choice was always available. The position of the hotel is perfect; it's quiet but close to the bus stops. I just loved going to sleep with the sound of the waves and waking up to them as well! I was able to have the good rest I so desperately needed.Do NOT be put off by the 'Mediterranean drain' smell in reception - it's nothing to worry about and I think merely the result of it being an older building!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frannie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Just returned from 4 nights in Malta. Had no great expectations of the hotel, given the price we had paid, but found it to be well run, clean with frinendly, helpful staff. OUr spacious room had a fabulous view across the harbour with its own balcony. The bathroom was - as in many hotels - a bit tired but it was clean enough, although the shower (which we never in fact used) was at a rather odd angle across the bath, so we just stuck to the bath. The buffet continental breakfast was fine - juice, variety of breads & rolls, meats and cheese - and a cooked breakfast was available for a few euros. All in all we would have no problem recommending this hotel - don't expect 5-star but for that style of hotel it was absolutely fine.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuart787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

My friend and I had a 3 night stay at this hotel and it was great value. The room was clean and adequate enough although it could do with refurbishment (tatty bathroom and tv (remote at reception so you pay a deposit), balcony doors a bit stiff, I found my bed & pillows uncomfy). The staff were friendly and the breakfast was fine, the usual continental style with plenty of options and fresh fruit. We didn't eat the the hotel restaurant but it looked nice. The fish one across the road was good and there's a really nice Italian place at the top of the hill where the main bus stops are, Mezza Luna. The location is nice and quiet but only a short walk to the toursity area of Bugibba and the bus stops are just up the hill (get a timetable if you can).

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GigCoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Nice clean hotel with reasonably friendly Maltese staff (Maltese quite dour until they know you). Breakfast was continental and is served until 10.00am. get down before 9.00am as when we arrived at 9.15am on the Friday all rolls had gone as well as the orange juice. On the Saturday the orange juice had been replaced by an orange drink - think they used what they had rather than buy fresh supplies as too early in season. Hotel is in a lovely position and the rooms on the bay side have balconies and excellent views over the bay. However DO NOT ACCEPT ROOM 215 as it is above the kitchen as there is a compressor that runs ALL DAY AND NIGHT. I expect some other rooms on the 2nd floor will also be affected. However it is a good place to go. Don vito resturant acrooss road from hotel is very good and Green Lable white wine is 6 euros a bottle and is nice.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank highteas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

First room (316)was sea facing and extremely cold.Crack sealed up with sellotape on balcony glass door and very drafty. Could'nt put heater on for the noise it made and no sunshine at all in these rooms. Was told to move to room 307 for 1 day untill room 304 was ready. Room 307 very small and still noisy. Eventually allocated to room 304. Large but like the majority of rooms the mattresses were well worn and smelly as no mattress covers are used here. The sheets were only changed once during my 2 weeks. Turned from top to bottom occasionally .I dont think I ever had a towel without a hole in it and I noticed that they wer'nt always clean either. However if you caught the maid she would give you new ones straight away. Hotel staff were brilliant and the eveing meals are delicious.Breakfast was continental but I opted for bacon and eggs each day.Lovely.!! The noise from the road is horrific in the church view rooms but a lot warmer in winter months.Also Italian students use this hotel at weekends in the winter months and sleep is impossible unless you are deaf and switch off. After a bad start things did get better and you sort of mould into this hotel due to the staff and its location for everything. No wheelchair access for sun roof on fifth floor and only step access to pool area on second level. Shame as both are nice . The long promenade from the hotel is flat and easy access buses are in force in July.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler6555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Just 10 mins away from the noisy commercialised Bugibba. Enjoyed the village tranquility. The good food and hospitality at Don Vito Restaurant just up the road from the Hotel was a bonus. (phto enclsed). Friendly Maltese always ready to talk and help.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abb147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.3 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,614 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,867 reviews
1.0 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
172 reviews
3.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gillieru Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gillieru Harbour Hotel

Address: Church Square, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 01, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £38 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gillieru Harbour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Gillieru Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gillieru Harbour
Gillieru Harbour St Pauls Bay
Gillieru Harbour Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing