We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent trip for money”
Review of San Pawl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent trip for money”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I hope that previous reviews don't put people off visiting Malta and the hotel. me and my partner have just got back from a weeks holiday and I was excellent the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was immaculate. we went on brilliant trips including a free trip provided by Thomas cook. tritton cruises are definitely a fab company to travel with we went to gozo and cominio with the and it only cost 15 euros was a fab trip would go back and day. food was spot on with a wide variety at breakfast and different tea time meals every day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    387
    381
    218
    262
See reviews for
356
591
128
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The reception staff are looking to make their own money. Look out for return transfer Make sure you have the number of the "taxi" that dropped you. Also not very friendly. I had a shirt stolen from my room. How can you complain about that, didn't take money or passport but will take cloths.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lohijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed at the San Pawl for 7 nights in March 2012. The choice was driven by the Group that I was with - I was on a diving holiday (see review of Aquatica Diving for more on this) so simply selected the same hotel as the Dive shop who'd organised the trip was using.

In very simple terms, you get what you pay for. It's cheap - and you don't get a Rolls Royce for the price of a mini!

The downsides... My bedroom was very basic indeed. Bed was a mattress on a chip board base, the shower and bathroom small, and the TV had a two pin plug which would not fit into the three pin socket on the wall. Mattress was soiled. The toilet could cope with simple tasks, but was simply not up to dealing with more complex issues (if you see what I mean!!).

In fairness... the room had a small balcony, and was cleaned every day to a standard that I would try to aspire to if I was doing it for myself. The staff on reception and indeed thoughout the hotel were always very pleasant and friendly.

There's a bar immediately opposite the hotel, which is friendly enough and provides low cost food throughout the day. It's a bit of an ex-pats place, but there again I think a lot of the bars outside of the main centre of St Paul's are exactly that. Speaking of which, it's about a 15 minute walk to the main Square in the Centre of town.

The only meal I ate there was breakfast, which was happy enough, but again the basics of bacon, eggs, continental buffet, with juice and coffee dispensed from a machine. Plates invariably collected by staff very quickly after you'd finished eating.

As I was out every day, I can't comment on facilities such as the pool.

In short, if you want a cheap holiday, and are happy to stay in a room which really is basic, then the place is fine. Not the place though to go if you aim to impress your husband / wife / boyfriend / girlfriend / lover!

Room Tip: Go for one of the higher floors - there's entertainment in the bar on some evenings until 12.00...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAG_the_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Just got back from a week at this hotel. Only cost about seventy quid so a cheap holiday but I would have been gutted to have paid anymore.
Staff friendly enough.
Quite central location.
Rooms not great. Very old bedding and very uncomfortable beds/ pillows. (MDF base to bed). Random leak in bathroom. Air-vents allow birds to nest and wake you up at dawn. Cleaners seen cleaning the windows with used bath towels and wiping outdoor tables with the cloth they used to wipe the ashtray.
Food- not good at all. Very bad canteen food. Limited salad and hardly any fruit. Mains with nothing to go with them.
Dirty cats wandering around pool area.
Beds all broken around pool area and outdoor chairs rarely wiped down.
Indoor pool- dirty. Holes in ceiling.

The hotel seemed as though it had been abandoned for years and reopened recently. Very dilapidated. Nothing luxurious about it. Just a place to sleep and then get out for the day. More like a hostel in that respect.

bar attached- terrible for anyone under 65.
Not bad for a cheap holiday but don't go half board- food cheap enough in local restaurants. Don't do it unless it is very cheap!!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ali_mastin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We booked this as a low cost break and our expectations were low as it was very cheap. All we were hoping for was clean and friendly accommodation. Unfortunately our expectations were not met!! Our first impression was of the grumpy rude old receptionist that did not even look up when we entered reception. Our room was not ready even though we arrived at 1pm so we went and sat outside for a drink to be met with a dirty pool area that stank of cat urine! Later during the week we saw cats parading around the pool with their morning catch of mice / rats. Surely things could only get better - NO!!

The room was very basic and not at all clean and the beds and pillows were so uncomfortable it was difficult to get a good nights sleep!

The food was absolutely awful and even though we had paid to go half board we ate out as the choice was very limited and what was there was not nice at all - we even stuck to toast for breakfast.

Some of the younger staff were friendly and helpful but this did not come anywhere near compensation for the dreadful week we spent here.

I would thoroughly recommend that you find alternative accommodation if you are visiting Malta as this could very easily have spoilt our holiday completely.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

Currently staying at the San Pawl and I have to say that the hotel is very good. The food in the dining room is excellent, very hot, and with a good choice, and the hotel in general is excellent value for money.I have found the staff to be bery good, efficient and courteous. The attached Rhythm Bar serves drinks at a reasonable price and is very relaxing. However, if you fancy a good old fight and a ruck, the singer on Sunday night, Freddie Newland, will upset anyone. He is rude, obnoxious and definitely likes the sound of his own voice. God forbid you if you even try to sing along to a song at the same time as him or even cast a cursory glance at the tv in the bar if its on whilst he is singing as he wlll humiliate you in front of everyone. And it's not a joke or an act, he means it. The poor bloke who was singing along at the same time as him, clearly enjoying himself and having a good time, ended up being chastised by Freddie as he had the nerve to sing at the same time as him. Good job he didnt come over and have a go at me or he would have ended up wearing the chair I was sat on and I am quite a placid person. Yes thats how bad I think his attitude was. Management at the San Pawl, if you read this, get rid of him as this has spoiled what was a good week for me. Would have been a 5 rating but for unsteady Freddie.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank laislapequena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I went to the San Pawl Hotel in Oct 11 with my daughter for a wek and again in Jan12 also for a week only to find both holidays relaxing and pleasent.
The food was of good quality and choice and the staff very good also were the cleaners,
Very central for the sea,shops,bars and buses.
And you allways get someone that will complain like a certain person while I was there in January he was there for a month and on his LAST DAY kicked up a fuss.
He had been moved twice and up to a supieriour room plus a heater as he siad he was cold.
He also complaind about food but he was offered to a different hotel but declined.
What more can you do for people like this I expect he wanted compo when he got home.
I felt sorry for the rep and staff as they dent over backwards to satisfy the Moaner.
So do not read as gospel some moans about this hotel they are Friendly and very helpful to help mak your staya good one and also what you to return again and again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TARXIEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
0.6 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
5.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.8 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 15 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Property: San Pawl Hotel
Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, HostelWorld, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing