We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No fuss”
Review of San Pawl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is nice for a cheap hotel. Friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms - what more do you need from a place where you only sleep at night?

We didnt use the common areas much, but we did get to see the breakfast buffet. Horrid stuff if you like healthy food. But take your breakfast by the beach and youll be fine

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trommes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

979 - 985 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

We have brought our 9 yr old grandson away for his first holiday abroad and as we have been to Malta many times thought it would be nice for him, as we wanted to be quite central we booked the San Pawl what a poor choice it has turned out to be. We booked a so called superior room so we could have air conditioning which we have but the room although large has filthy net curtains and the heavy curtains are hanging off the hooks, the beds seem like a slab of wood with a mattress on an these are very old and thin. The food is not great and not enough selection. The pool is ok and the evening entertainment Monday to Thiursday is the same thing you get all over the Island, but come the weekend don't even try to get a drink or a seat in the bar because veen though you have paid good money for your holiday the hotel deem it ok to open the bar and dance area to the local community and if it is raining this switches to the indoor bar which is next to the childrens games room so you cannot here what you are saying to each other and then the locals complain if you shut a door even though it is your holiday the manager does nothing about it. Have been speaking with a very nice lady who although Maltese lives in England she has said that she would never stay at this Hotel again

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bromleybich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We were put in 3046-tiny triangular room over looking the pool but it was spotless.
No fridge or aircon despite upgrading online through on the beach! The ceilng fan was old and i didnt cut it in the 36 degree heat! Sleeping was a nightmare - beds were like concrete and the balcony was super tiny!

Cannot comment on the food as we never ate/drank there - we went to jesters directly across the road - the family run pub/restaurant was very good and cheap. 1.50 euro for a Bravista lager which was the cheapest around,

Hotel is in a good location, 5 mins walk to St Pauls front and 15 mins to Bugibba Square.

We enjoyed our time in Malta but we would only return to San Pawl if they make aircon and fridge as standard!!

It is closing for refurb shortly for 6 months, lets hope they iron out the niggles.

Lexi

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed here on a package with Thomson at the beginning of August. A lot of the reviews of the hotel are very negative, but it is one of the cheaper hotels in town.

Rooms are basic, but clean enough. The towels are changed daily and the room is swept, bathroom done etc. Bedding is changed less regularly but I would say changing it daily is wasteful, there was no problem when our son was ill with changing his bedding and the maid was very helpful with this. There was a small balcony and TV in the room (ours seemed to have a remote without having to ask for it). I don't agree with the comments about air conditioning, it is just a matter of getting used to the heat and adopting sensible habits like leaving the room with the curtains closed when the sun is shining on the window, the locals don't have it either and don't have the benefit of being able to wander around in shorts. The ceiling fan was working fine in our room, but the controls were a bit bizzare.

Breakfast and the evening meal were fine, breakfast is full english + continental and oddly a salad. Dinner is a salad bar or soup, a choice of 4 or so main courses (the best of which was the rabbit stew (fenek) and fruit/cakes etc for dessert. Drinks in the restaurant are quite expensive but no more pricey than a restaurant in the UK, they will save left over wine for the next day (not a facility we were in need of!) Just watch out if you have a nut allergy and avoid the cakes!

The swimming pool is nice, but can get a bit overcrowded mid afternoon. Seemed perfectly clean.

We went to the bar once or twice, it is OK but a bit expensive (3 euro per beer). There is a shop selling chilled beer opposite the hotel entrance so we sat and watched the crooners on the balcony. The entertainment is dreadful, but it pays to keep a sense of humour about these things as you hear a crooner singing 'cotton eyed joe' for the 5th time in the week. Oddly, the singer on Thursday seemed to be better so why they don't give him a better slot is a mystery to me. Entertainment always finished by midnight when we were there.

The staff are perfectly friendly once you realise that the maltese attitude is more relaxed than in the UK, we found all the hotel staff to be helpful generally, for example by phoning our rep when our transfer was late or the kitchen staff, seeing our son looking at the hotel cats, giving him some food to give to them.

The hotel is located in a fairly quiet area, there is a bar opposite and a few restaurants, but nothing major. There is nothing dodgy about the area and it is perfectly safe to walk around. You can walk in about 10-15 minutes to the main resort of Bugibba where there are more restaurants, bars etc. Local buses leave from a stop about 5 minutes from the hotel, to Valetta and other destinations. This is great value compared with tours, 2.60 euro for a day ticket.

Overall we enjoyed our holiday, the hotel is perfectly OK but not great, come with reasonable expectations and you will enjoy your holiday.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with larger balconies on the first floor, you could ask for these but they may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francophile099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed here 14/8/12 to 28/8/12
The restaurant staff were really nice most the reception staff were nice except one lady she was a mini hitler we asked her why our room had an air con unit in it but it didn't work, she said because it's not a superior room (but I heard from guests in those 'superior' rooms that the aircon didn't work and neither did the fridge!) we had a fan on the ceiling which we had to run full pelt all day and night it was 36 degrees while we were there we had to sleep with the patio doors open (our room was next to the landing window which were always open so people could've climbed onto our balcony!) and wet towels on the bed to keep cool! The entertainment was awful we went into town every night and watched the 1 English channel when we got back every night! The pool was disgustingly dirty we saw it cleaned twice in 2 weeks, me and my daughter both had ear infections from it (a cost of nearly €100 for treatment!) there was always a scum on the top my daughter saw pooh on the bottom it was always gravelly and had various things floating in it) we only went in the sea after that! The food was ok, drinks were expencive and there was a note up saying 'only food/drink brought in the hotel was permitted food brought outside was forbidden' !
We found the rep Calum Wright was VERY helpful and the trip on the fernades that he recommended was the highlight of our holiday, would definantly go to Malta again but not in that hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiley75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

A horrible hotel in a sketchy part of town, this place is not worth the money. The superior rooms have makeshift fans and bad air-conditioning. The rooms are old and dusty. The beds are springy and uncomfortable. The pillows were like used cotton balls stuffed in a sack. The locks on the balcony door didn't work well and the door lock was joke. Another resident opened our door with his room key. The safe was an extra cost per day. We arrive to see it there with no lock! The tv was old and decrepit. To get a remote you had to leave a 28€ deposit! The pool was nice in theory but always full of strange hotel guests who didn't really know how to behave. The breakfast looked like it all came from a machine or a box. The coffee was out of a machine. The cheese was still in plastic wrap and the added variety from day to day was eggs scrambled in water or eggs over easy that tasted like and looked like plastic.Every night there was a live act that would play by the pool. The sound of bad accents and pitchy voices would echo throughout the hotel and surrounding streets. I wondered how the neighbors were able to live around there. My stay was so horrible that I would never recommend or ever stay at this establishment again. Not worth the 70€ a night that we spent. You are better off renting an apartment or paying extra for a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsAfromBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

san pawl hotel, well were do i start. I read some of the reviews below and thought i would chance it and wow wernt they right. the rooms were very STANDARD , no aircon, no fridge to keep drinks cold etc, the beds were never changed in the week we stayed there and when we first walked in the room i thought the fan wasnt working so i told the receptionist and he shrugged his shoulders and said maintence wasnt in untill morning and it was an extra 500 euros to upgrade. the simming pool area was diabolical, the bottom of the pool was constantly gritty and never cleaned, the water was mercy from all the sun tan loation and the pool area was infested with flys. the bar staff by the pool didnt want to know you if you wasnt maltease i waited for 15minutes before i walked away as they wouldnt serve me a drink. The gym was never open, the toilets down stairs in the foya were disgraceful. other than the hotel, the staff, malta was amazing and i will definatley return but stay in a better hotel.

Room Tip: get a room with aircon, if you cant then DO NOT STAY HERE
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonesm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,690 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,982 reviews
0.9 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £17 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing