We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“joke of a hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of San Pawl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“joke of a hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

i have just returned from a week stay at this hotel,it was the worst hotel i have ever stayed in i didnt get a cheap deal so thought i was paying for a good service. the rooms are disgusting and so outdated the service or lack of service from staff are so miserable. full of flies in room and around hotel pool. the meals are awful lack of choice cold and again staff ignorant. the cleaning staff are ok and friendly only good point of hotel. the staff told me they had upgraded my room god help me in the other room if mine was an upgraded version. the showe didnt work properly had a mini fridge that was warm air conditioning was noisy and set for a certain temp couldnt change it to any cooler and asked for pool view got street view of hotel facing and again was filfthy. wouldnt stay here again if paid me. we was a large party who stayed here and we all was very disappointed.

Room Tip: book different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    382
    376
    215
    262
See reviews for
351
584
127
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

I went and stayed at San Pawl in September of 2011. Got a great price booking through Euroresort.net. My "oceanview" room meant if I stood up and looked down towards the sea I could see some at the end of the street. I didn't expect any different.

I was solo, and the room was quite large in the new wing. I'd booked because of central air, which did not work the entire time I was there. Of course, when I arrived, it was a festa and long weekend, so are most weekends, which is a nice thing in a visit to Malta. Come the Tuesday, they were there working on it, but it didn't end of being fixed. I didn't really persue the matter, I expect I would have received a free dinner (or two) had I complained.

The location was great IMO. My balcony wrapped around the corner of the building, had views of the irish bar and chinese restaurant as well as homes/apartments across a bit of square, and the street the hotel is actually on around the corner. Irish Pub sounded like quite a bit of fun, but always quiet by midnight. Light on the balcony was out around 10, I often read until that time, enjoying a can or a whiskey. Fridge in room worked well.

Bed was hard for sure. I only had my room serviced twice, but that was my choice, as jetlag left me sleeping pretty late. Could always find the maid for some more towels though.

I thought the breakfast buffet was quite good. It was a few days before I got up early enough to hit it, cereal, eggs, fruit, yogurt, tomatoes, sausage or bacon, cold cuts, desserts..

Small but lovely pool. No problem to get a lounge or usually mty choice, a chair in the shade.

Short walk to the bus stop, easy walk to the sea.

Jesters right across the street had good food at a very reasonable price, but mostly fried w/ chips. They also operate a bottle shop and newstand. It was a quite time, owners often came to sit late in the evening. After a couple of visits and modest tips, they insisted on buying me a beer or two.

A very comfortable place to call home for 10 days in Malta, but I might not pay extra for air conditioning next time.

PS The chinese takeaway had amazing food very cheaply. I only ate there once, but had I eaten earlier in my stay, I think I would have gone more than once.

Bought a week-long bus pass for the local transit, well worth the 12 or so euros I spent, although I had to pay a premium to come home after a certain (midnight?) time at night.

At half the price of Buggiba, I had a nice room in a relatively quiet neighbourhood, with a choice of places to go at night close to home and save cab fare.

I didn't hear overwhelming positive feedback about the dinners though, I think you can do better outside the hotel, unless you get a very cheap package.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasminebed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We booked our holiday through Thomas Cook and cannot believe they recommend this hotel.

We went as a family of 12 over 5 different rooms and each room had its faults, from pipes sticking out of the walls (ankle catchers) to showers not working, leaving toilets, broken wardrobes (that eat up your clothes and then trap them) broken toilet handles (so you cut your hand every time you flushed) the list is endless. We complained to reception who told us maintenance would fix the problem within the next few days, which they never. We complained again and some of the problems were resolved (we just couldn't use the wardrobe or the toilet).
The beds are so uncomfy and the balcony was tiny with a view of the derelict dirty building across the main road.

The food is vile, I have never tasted anything so bland and disgusting in all my life. You have about 5 or 6 meal to chose from for tea and each meal was worse than the one before. For breakfast you had watery scrambled eggs, bean juice (I would like to say baked beans but there were none) and bacon or sausage on alternative days. The best thing at breakfast was the coffee and juice machines they had, but you were not allowed to use them at tea time, instead to had to wait 30 minutes after sitting down for a member of staff to come and take your order. After you had finished your evening meal you had to pay for the drinks you had ordered - KEEP YOUR RECEIPTS as the reception staff like to charge you for 'unpaid' drinks on check out (we paid every night and they tried to charge us until we shown them our receipts).

The pool was tiny and the only good thing about the pool area was that you didn't have those 6am people who like to take hostage the sun loungers, there was more than enough sun loungers to go round. There is no entertainment or kids clubs around the pool, there is a small pool table and a pinball machine that doesn't work.

The staff were unhelpful, everything you asked was like a chore, apart from the cleaners. The cleaners were friendly and always said hello, they kept the rooms tidy but we did have a few tiny ants and one roll of toilet paper to last a week.

The evening entertainment was dire, a different man on a keyboard all night and nothing for the kids at all.

This has to be by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

The harbour was lovely and only a 5 minute walk away, and the main square was about 15 minutes away with lots of bars and restaurants, we spent most of our nights there. There was an English Bar about a 2 minute walk away which was fantastic, they had quizzes and card bingo and lots of other entertainment on.

St Pauls Bay is lovely and the people (outside of the hotel) are really nice and friendly. Just avoid the San Pawl Hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KLS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is nice for a cheap hotel. Friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms - what more do you need from a place where you only sleep at night?

We didnt use the common areas much, but we did get to see the breakfast buffet. Horrid stuff if you like healthy food. But take your breakfast by the beach and youll be fine

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trommes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We have brought our 9 yr old grandson away for his first holiday abroad and as we have been to Malta many times thought it would be nice for him, as we wanted to be quite central we booked the San Pawl what a poor choice it has turned out to be. We booked a so called superior room so we could have air conditioning which we have but the room although large has filthy net curtains and the heavy curtains are hanging off the hooks, the beds seem like a slab of wood with a mattress on an these are very old and thin. The food is not great and not enough selection. The pool is ok and the evening entertainment Monday to Thiursday is the same thing you get all over the Island, but come the weekend don't even try to get a drink or a seat in the bar because veen though you have paid good money for your holiday the hotel deem it ok to open the bar and dance area to the local community and if it is raining this switches to the indoor bar which is next to the childrens games room so you cannot here what you are saying to each other and then the locals complain if you shut a door even though it is your holiday the manager does nothing about it. Have been speaking with a very nice lady who although Maltese lives in England she has said that she would never stay at this Hotel again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bromleybich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We were put in 3046-tiny triangular room over looking the pool but it was spotless.
No fridge or aircon despite upgrading online through on the beach! The ceilng fan was old and i didnt cut it in the 36 degree heat! Sleeping was a nightmare - beds were like concrete and the balcony was super tiny!

Cannot comment on the food as we never ate/drank there - we went to jesters directly across the road - the family run pub/restaurant was very good and cheap. 1.50 euro for a Bravista lager which was the cheapest around,

Hotel is in a good location, 5 mins walk to St Pauls front and 15 mins to Bugibba Square.

We enjoyed our time in Malta but we would only return to San Pawl if they make aircon and fridge as standard!!

It is closing for refurb shortly for 6 months, lets hope they iron out the niggles.

Lexi

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed here on a package with Thomson at the beginning of August. A lot of the reviews of the hotel are very negative, but it is one of the cheaper hotels in town.

Rooms are basic, but clean enough. The towels are changed daily and the room is swept, bathroom done etc. Bedding is changed less regularly but I would say changing it daily is wasteful, there was no problem when our son was ill with changing his bedding and the maid was very helpful with this. There was a small balcony and TV in the room (ours seemed to have a remote without having to ask for it). I don't agree with the comments about air conditioning, it is just a matter of getting used to the heat and adopting sensible habits like leaving the room with the curtains closed when the sun is shining on the window, the locals don't have it either and don't have the benefit of being able to wander around in shorts. The ceiling fan was working fine in our room, but the controls were a bit bizzare.

Breakfast and the evening meal were fine, breakfast is full english + continental and oddly a salad. Dinner is a salad bar or soup, a choice of 4 or so main courses (the best of which was the rabbit stew (fenek) and fruit/cakes etc for dessert. Drinks in the restaurant are quite expensive but no more pricey than a restaurant in the UK, they will save left over wine for the next day (not a facility we were in need of!) Just watch out if you have a nut allergy and avoid the cakes!

The swimming pool is nice, but can get a bit overcrowded mid afternoon. Seemed perfectly clean.

We went to the bar once or twice, it is OK but a bit expensive (3 euro per beer). There is a shop selling chilled beer opposite the hotel entrance so we sat and watched the crooners on the balcony. The entertainment is dreadful, but it pays to keep a sense of humour about these things as you hear a crooner singing 'cotton eyed joe' for the 5th time in the week. Oddly, the singer on Thursday seemed to be better so why they don't give him a better slot is a mystery to me. Entertainment always finished by midnight when we were there.

The staff are perfectly friendly once you realise that the maltese attitude is more relaxed than in the UK, we found all the hotel staff to be helpful generally, for example by phoning our rep when our transfer was late or the kitchen staff, seeing our son looking at the hotel cats, giving him some food to give to them.

The hotel is located in a fairly quiet area, there is a bar opposite and a few restaurants, but nothing major. There is nothing dodgy about the area and it is perfectly safe to walk around. You can walk in about 10-15 minutes to the main resort of Bugibba where there are more restaurants, bars etc. Local buses leave from a stop about 5 minutes from the hotel, to Valetta and other destinations. This is great value compared with tours, 2.60 euro for a day ticket.

Overall we enjoyed our holiday, the hotel is perfectly OK but not great, come with reasonable expectations and you will enjoy your holiday.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with larger balconies on the first floor, you could ask for these but they may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francophile099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
0.6 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
5.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.8 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 16 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Property: San Pawl Hotel
Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing