We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disagree with the awful reviews on here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of San Pawl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disagree with the awful reviews on here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

To be fair I stayed at this hotel a year ago but felt the need to review it as i feel alot of the reviews are not a true reflection. I stayed for a week in July with my partner on a B&B basis. The hotel was mid range price and I feel the quality reflected that. I did not expect an amazing modern resort with all the facilities and I think anybody booking it will be able to see the quality of the hotel. People may be completely put off by the reviews but I found that it was clean, the service was good and the breakfast was fine with plenty of options (not amazing food but it was ok to set you up for the day). The pool area was really nice with plenty of sunloungers and a spacious pool. The pool did shade over quite early as it is surrounded by the building which is a little disapointing for hardcore sunbathers like myself! The pool bar was nice, when there was entertainemt at night it was always cheesey and attracted a lot of locals; but atleast it was busy with a good atmosphere rather than an empty quiet bar! Rooms and bathrooms are a little shabby but nothing particually unpleasant about them. Yes weak shower, old towels and small balcony but personally these things would not ruin my stay. Good location as right next to a bus stop, an irish bar, an excurtions shop and convienience stores. About a 15min walk to central bugibba where you'll find good restaurants & bars, boat trips, shops, the main bus station and the coastline. Whilst its been a while since I stayed at this hotel and things may have deteriated or improved, if you have booked this hotel or are looking to book I would say you have nothing to worry about, it is a good base with sufficient facillities and I am sure if you were looking for something luxurios you would have considered a hotel with more stars and better facilities.

Room Tip: rooms that are not pool facing do not have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elliebtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    382
    376
    215
    262
See reviews for
351
584
127
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Many others reviews are very rightly true about settling here with all the bad experiences infront of you like what happened to us - as others in a 4 star hotel said it's only 3 star grade here to Britian this San Pawl is Only 3 diomonds 1 star ratings, Unfriendly Unhelpful rude managers staff upset you more like Ryanair Lines with extra charges, for upgrade, bedroom changes lucky got a fridge in room only bbc world news channel in english no UK news headlines, CCTV every angle like a school or prision what woman discribes the bedroom as prision beds others are right saying broken damaged springs sinking beds noisy worned down, lucky I noticed the large bathroom family room we got 2 kids broken beds 2 adults beds the bathroom was upgraded tidy tiles room 310 but old hanging fan noisy little cold air to clear the hot stuffy room heat on till june is over, staff would not let us upgrade or pay them £40 EURO as travel agents last minute said we could do when we get here for half board so no dinner just same old small breakfast one day saugage eggs beans or bacon scrabled eggs, salads baps, ham toaster went up down burnt your toast stand wait no yoghurts or fruit just an orange or apple staff unfriendly lifting plates drinks before you finished food away if your too late at 9.10 in morns as served just from 7.00 to 9.30.am - no entertainment daily just Fri - Sat local rock disco bar men not nice to english / irish local line dancers living up place Thurs eve dead quite rest of week sundays espeicially lights out in grounds balcony's from 12.30am sign out of rooms on last day by 10.30 luggage left in open space corner near indoor pool which was shut in May refurbished beside Gym room very poor quality area residential localised 3 miles walk to main Bugibba Qawra area of St Paul's Bay sounds nicer till you arrive here VERY HILLY long coast roads to Buggibba bus depo where you can be lost for directions back no ends or big building to guide you like roman Bath Somerset UK ha, Just well we like rocky bus rides rickety uneven surfice roads bendy corners the fast speed bus drivers go at & Jam pack up buses squash you in like london tubes standing in peak times morns or after 4 pm very busy going to shops in main towns of Paceville, St Julians bay & end of bus route 38 mins ride each day from San Pawl to SLIEMA to cross over the ferry ride to isles of Vallenta place high steps hilly historic long way from town to get back to ferries quit from 6p.m buses reguraly from here round back to Sliema M&S Peacocks, Bhs stores bus stop where make sure always get express fast bus 222 From here straight back to St Paul's Bay Bugibba stop used frequantly watch out for petrol station at roundabout then shop fronts the rooster chicken shop for San Pawl Hotel 10 minutes walk back to hot stuffy central heat on hotel basic travel lodge rooms land of no where if you take a left turn outside hotel door go to corner turn left walk straight alone only takes 15 minutes to reach the square shops red line bar, bugibba bus station , chemist, pricewise shop etc.. only found out this quicker walking way last 2 days as if you go the bus way it takes a hour longer up down coast way off the bus roads. Rooms cleeaned beds made tidely each day we got back except sundays & Changed one day in the week well our superior room shower bath was bigger so that'swhy we settled in other rooms shown were smaller but same beds. Better off hotels in main resorts of St Georges Bay, St Julian's Bay are or Sliema would be better upgraded less walking tiring for buses everyday and all entertainments up this way stay out of this area alright for a day trip or coastal explore rocky beaches no sand only pasy Bugibba on ferry 222 -223 coaches to GOZO islands history open top buses very windy spot too but all enjoyable tour gozo all the best anyone just been booked to this area by agents or part of easyjet holidays san pawl hotel are ... good luck eslewhere half board we were meant to picked for sliema Purdock Lodge hotel 4 star on sea front lot better than this exchanged one following good reviews in 2012 ..

Room Tip: ask for superior rooms before booking , upgraded rooms refurbished on the bar side for sun all day a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Indoor pool was colder than the outside pool. I booked superior room because of the ac. I informed them that the ac does not work upon my arrival and they changed me the room at ten oclock in the evening after phoning reception at least 8 times. The new room they gave mechad the ac not working aswell and after phoning an other six times I had to stay with this problem. When I phoned the manager for the last time I wad told on my computer it is marked that it is working and the ac was not working at all. They have a sign saying near the pool bar that food is served till five and after I went to order food they told me it has been closed from 2:30. The dinner and breakfast are not bad except that breakfast is without bacon. Please fix these issues to improve a guest stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kendia03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilmarnock scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

this was my first time in malta.and after reading previous reveiws about this hotel i was a bit concerened,no need for that. this is a great hotel, our towels & room was cleaned EVERY DAY staff wher freindly and helpfull.breakfast was good too.evening meal was a bit bland but for the price we got this at we couldnt complain (£480) half board for a week,Malta was very nice with plenty to see if this is what you want.get the bus tkts from local bus company arriva 12.90 euros and you can go anywhere on island great value. just a word of warning the horse taxis are a rip off so watch them.I would def go back to san pawl hotel lovely place to stay

Room Tip: 2042 not far from lift and veiw of pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank doronron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

The Refurbishment has totally transformed this Wonderful Hotel,it was really good before now oh wow marvellous is an understatement,thankfully it has kept the Homely Friendly Feel,I write this at the Hotel and wish i could stay forever,they have kept all the best staff,Sandra,Hefni,George,Paulx2,Vince,Martin and Mario

Room Tip: First Floor overlooking Pool have Huge Balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank broomy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
497 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Had stayed here as a single a couple of years earlier and found things o.k. Booked a family room which was very crowded as they put an additional cot bed in a room that already had three singles. After a couple of days paid for an upgrade to a superior room which was much better, Found the cleanliness etc to be alright.Booked for half board an the meals were very good. My wheelchair bound sister who is restrictive in what she can eat always found something on the menu to satisfy her.
What really made this hotel were the staff and three in particular. These were Victor,Alana and Antonia Castillo, a mother son and daughter. They were very friendly and helpful, always had a warm smile and you really felt that they cared.
The swimming pool facilities were adequate and the entertainment reasonable

Room Tip: Ask to book a superior room if these are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ripley054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We travelled to this hotel in September 2012. The price was ridiculously cheap and we didn't have too high expectations. Firstly the room was badly in need of refurbishment. The furniture was old and even though we had requested a double room, we had three single beds. The room had an air conditioning unit which wasn't in use which made it a bit when trying to sleep. Our shower wasn't working on the first night and they couldn't move us to another room as the hotel was completely full. To be fair though when we went to breakfast the next day someone came and replaced it whilst we were out. The breakfast was excellent - they had a good range of cereals, fried bacon/ eggs, toast, fruit and a really good coffee machine. The pool was really nice even though a little small. Bugibba was a 10 minute walk away and had a lot of bars and restaurants for people who like to pretend they are in a warmer version of England, but it wasn't our cup of tea really. We did find two really nice Maltese restaurants in Bugibba - Venus and Malet (be sure to check them out). We did hire a car, but be warned it is an absolute nightmare finding a parking space around St. Pauls and Bugibba - some nights we spent 20 minutes driving around looking for a spot. Finally the night entertainment in the hotel is loud and very much of the Benidorm variety! All in all, it's worth it if you want a cheap holiday and just need a roof over your head and a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CA-1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
0.6 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
5.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.8 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 16 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Property: San Pawl Hotel
Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing