We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looking forward to coming back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Pawl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Looking forward to coming back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here in Aug 2013 on our first trip to Malta and were very happy with the hotel. We booked a superior room over looking the room which was lovely as we could sit and enjoy a drink on the balcony in the evening. The hotel was clean and tidy and the staff were friendly and always willing to help. The location of the hotel is fantastic and it was easy to travel around to explore the different areas of Malta. I couldn't fault the hotel and I think some of the comments on here are unjust so much so that we have booked again to come in August this year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your review, we look forward to having you back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    370
    369
    213
    258
See reviews for
342
574
124
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last May and have booked again for this May ! Last year it was my first holiday to Malta and we enjoyed it so much booked again. I'm looking at some of these reviews and again wondering if it's the same hotel I stayed in but I understand there are always people who are never happy roll on May look forward to not being disappointed

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your review , we look forward to having you back with us .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We were book to stay at the topaz but it closed so after reading some of the reviews we went with an open mind . But sadly the hotel dirty one's you went passed the reception . The room they put us in was small . So ask for a change which they did , pool side but the room they gave us smelt of smoke it was every in every thing we got air fresher s . The hotel had cats running all over the place , the kitchen door was open all the time with all the food out on show.All the staff used the kitchen to get to their rest room
The hotel smelt of cigarette smoke and cat's wee made you feel sick. The food was bland and not not much choice . The breakfast , if you had fried eggs, bacon one morning you sausage no bacon the next and scrambled eggs the next the evening meal was not much better all the meat was sliced in gravy . The trouble with the management dont like the true . We only stayed 1week out of the 5weeks we had booked and went and stayed at a better hotel The Santana hotel the best we have stayed at on malta .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Sir/madam

Thank you for your review, I do not agree with you that the place is dirty beyond reception as this is totally untrue and unfounded. Breakfast consists of the following and I will let others judge if its enough : Tea, coffee, hot choc, mocachino, 2 types of juices, ham, salami, mortadella, cheese, butter , marmalade and jam, varieties of bread, 3 types of cereals, scrambled or fried eggs and boiled eggs, sausages or bacon , beans and fresh tomatoes, lettuce and fresh fruit. Is there anything else that we should place there ?? Please bare in mind that this is a 3 star property and as a 3 star you are getting more then the value being paid. Our kitchens closed to staff so I do not understand what you mean, they are well kept and spotless. Meat with gravy ?? Do you expect to have meat without sauce on a buffet without it drying out ? I would expect people to get real here and not just write reviews for the sake of putting down a hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed the Santana but please note that this is a 4 Star Hotel and maybe with a better rate they could provide you with more eggs for breakfast if that is all you were interested in, Thank you again for your review I would have appreciated meeting you whilst on holiday so maybe you could have showed me the faults you are talking of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I do not normally write reviews but as i have now stayed in this hotel 5 times i felt that i really should.
The last time i was here was in July 2013 and we had a lovely holiday. We had a few problems with towels but this was quickly resolved. We booked (and would always book) a premium room.
The room was lovely and spacious and air conditioning is a must for me in Malta. We looked out over the road which was in some ways lovely, as it was quiet at night and we got a sea view (from the side). The balcony is big enough to fit a couple of chairs and a table and we enjoyed a quiet drink in the evening air. The rooms could do with a bit of updating (which i hear is happening) but this doesn't ruin your holiday at all as we were out most of the day.
This hotel is in a perfect location. walking distance to the harbor and a bit longer to the main square of Buigibba where there are plenty of pubs and restaurants. If your luckly you can even get caught up in the local fiesta which is a must and you can really join in with the festivities.

This year we didn't stay for any of the entertainment but the year before we did and it was brilliant our friends who we took out to Malta for the first time really enjoyed themselves.
The staff were lovely and friendly and remembered us and always said hello.
I am really excited to come back and try out the new restaurant which was refurbished just after we left. And also to see the rooms tarted up a bit.
I think i will always come back to this hotel as i have so many fond memories here!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fern F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Fern,

Thank you for such a lovely review. We are here to please you and make sure yu have a great stay with us.

Regards

Max Gatt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed here on august 2013 and had a great time and im looking at going back in july 2014 the hotel and food was nice reception was nice,situated well within buggibba centre and right near the bus stop for easy transportion to gozo ferry. I would advise people to ignore the negative reviews this hotel has there's nothing wrong with this place.

the only 3 things that needed work was the gym which was quite poor and the room was a bit dirty and not cleaned properly and wifi was quite expensive but these are minor things that can be put right without much effort 9/10 well done san pawl

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your review , you now have free WIFI in the bar area too :) , I just wish that the reviews that we get here are justified as most are not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

The rooms were not at the highest standard of cleanliness, we had to go to reception every evening of our stay to request clean towels as they didn't leave any when 'cleaning' our room. On arrival to the hotel we were put in a tiny room with no air conditioning, we had to pay a further £150 to stay in a bigger room with air conditioning. The staff were very rude and were not willing to help or were very reluctant to. The breakfast in the morning wasn't worth getting up for. I don't recommend this hotel as it ruined our summer holiday.

Room Tip: dont chose a room at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that you had to pay for the upgrade but you paid for a superior room. The room you booked is a standard room. Breakfast not worth getting up for I really cannot understand as we have a large variety of products which I will list and let others judge: Juice, Tea, Coffee, Hot Choc, Moccahino, cereals, bread . butter , jam , marmalades, salami, ham , cheese, bacon, eggs, sausages, tomatoes, baked beans etc . Is this not worth getting up for?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

bar not open during day, bar area very cold even after many complaints, TV in room only had BBC world news, no entertainment apart from Friday and Saturday nights when hotel is over run by locals felt pushed out
Friday and Saturday meal times felt like a second class person because all attention was give to locals and to hell with guests holidaying,
up side
room clean but tired , food mostly good , nice indoor pool but had to change in the shower no lockers !,

Room Tip: second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Sir,

I am sorry to say but I really cannot understand this issue of importance being given to locals ??? The locals in the hotel are FULL PAYING GUESTS as well and we give no preferential treatment to anybody. Entertainment is held on Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Locals just come for Sunday lunch normally and they pay Euro 14.50 for a full buffet. If the spending capability was better then rest assured that we would provide more entertainment and more animation. Please note that although our prices are low and we keep issuing special offers and promotions for wines and spirits the spending power is so low that the sales are ridiculous. We provide the best we can with regards to service , to food and to rooms which in all fairness we are remodeling as we chat however a holiday is also what you make it.. Malta is full of culture and interesting places to see but most people rather stay in glooming at what they can complain about rather then enjoying themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
0.6 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Property: San Pawl Hotel
Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Jet2Holidays , Superbreak UK, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing