We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October can't come soon enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of San Pawl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“October can't come soon enough”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Can't understand why there are so many negative comments about this hotel. I found the staff to be friendly and most helpful when asked, room was clean and comfortable and there was a wide choice at meal times. Definitely will be back later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Brian ,

Thank you for your review. I do hope to see you again later.

Yours sincerely

Max Gatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    381
    375
    214
    261
See reviews for
349
582
127
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birzebbuga, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed for a weekend break from 7-9 th march hoping for a relaxed get away but unfortunatly next to our room were 3 maltese families with lots of kids. Middle of the night we were kept awake by kids running in the corridor and shouting and adults kept smoking in the corridor. Next day we spoke to Mr.Dennis in the restaurant about this problem he just told us I know about these people and smoking in the corridor, he said the smoke detectors were put on silent mode. That night still we were kept half the night up with kids shouting and when managed to get some sleep we were woken up at around 7am with a loud thud on the door by some kid :-( so much for a looked forward relaxing weekend with my boyfriend!! This was not our first stay and hopefully not our last one

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjonathanspiteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Ms. Spiteri,

I am sorry to hear about your incident, unfortunately some people cannot or seem not to want to control their children whilst on holiday although we DO speak to the people concerned to look after their children as we did in this case as well. Smoking in corridors or inside the hotel is strictly forbidden and the ash trays are only in the corridor to be used as bins and not as ash trays. I already took the required steps and have removed them as well. The fire alarm system is not on silent at all in fact this is tested on a regular basis to ensure guest safety, probability is that Dennis was referring to something else. On the other hand thank you for wanting to visit us again and I can assure you that we will be doing our utmost to keep control of any such situations.

Should you have any other suggestions please do not hesitate to contact me. My name is Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Love This Hotel so much having stayed 7 times now,Hate seeing it get Bad review's as Some People are never Happy it's a 3 star for god sake not a 5 star,for the money you pay you really cannot complain in fact if i paid more i couldn't complain,the hotel is spotlessly clean in the important area's,most of the untidiness mentioned in other review's is caused by inconsiderate guest's which is not the hotel's fault,the staff are brilliant especially Sandra,Christabel,Paul (x2),George,Marisa,Martin,Mr Spiteri and Lordes,Look Forward to seeing you all in September Pity it's only for a week but hey ho

Room Tip: First Floor Above Bar and Restraunt have Huge Balcony's
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizbiz1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Elizabeth ,

Thank you for the lovely comments and we do look forward to hosting you again in September. It feels good to know that our hard work is appreciated. Comments are always welcome and taken in and that is one way which we can improve.

Thank you once again,

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here in Aug 2013 on our first trip to Malta and were very happy with the hotel. We booked a superior room over looking the room which was lovely as we could sit and enjoy a drink on the balcony in the evening. The hotel was clean and tidy and the staff were friendly and always willing to help. The location of the hotel is fantastic and it was easy to travel around to explore the different areas of Malta. I couldn't fault the hotel and I think some of the comments on here are unjust so much so that we have booked again to come in August this year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your review, we look forward to having you back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last May and have booked again for this May ! Last year it was my first holiday to Malta and we enjoyed it so much booked again. I'm looking at some of these reviews and again wondering if it's the same hotel I stayed in but I understand there are always people who are never happy roll on May look forward to not being disappointed

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your review , we look forward to having you back with us .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We were book to stay at the topaz but it closed so after reading some of the reviews we went with an open mind . But sadly the hotel dirty one's you went passed the reception . The room they put us in was small . So ask for a change which they did , pool side but the room they gave us smelt of smoke it was every in every thing we got air fresher s . The hotel had cats running all over the place , the kitchen door was open all the time with all the food out on show.All the staff used the kitchen to get to their rest room
The hotel smelt of cigarette smoke and cat's wee made you feel sick. The food was bland and not not much choice . The breakfast , if you had fried eggs, bacon one morning you sausage no bacon the next and scrambled eggs the next the evening meal was not much better all the meat was sliced in gravy . The trouble with the management dont like the true . We only stayed 1week out of the 5weeks we had booked and went and stayed at a better hotel The Santana hotel the best we have stayed at on malta .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Sir/madam

Thank you for your review, I do not agree with you that the place is dirty beyond reception as this is totally untrue and unfounded. Breakfast consists of the following and I will let others judge if its enough : Tea, coffee, hot choc, mocachino, 2 types of juices, ham, salami, mortadella, cheese, butter , marmalade and jam, varieties of bread, 3 types of cereals, scrambled or fried eggs and boiled eggs, sausages or bacon , beans and fresh tomatoes, lettuce and fresh fruit. Is there anything else that we should place there ?? Please bare in mind that this is a 3 star property and as a 3 star you are getting more then the value being paid. Our kitchens closed to staff so I do not understand what you mean, they are well kept and spotless. Meat with gravy ?? Do you expect to have meat without sauce on a buffet without it drying out ? I would expect people to get real here and not just write reviews for the sake of putting down a hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed the Santana but please note that this is a 4 Star Hotel and maybe with a better rate they could provide you with more eggs for breakfast if that is all you were interested in, Thank you again for your review I would have appreciated meeting you whilst on holiday so maybe you could have showed me the faults you are talking of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I do not normally write reviews but as i have now stayed in this hotel 5 times i felt that i really should.
The last time i was here was in July 2013 and we had a lovely holiday. We had a few problems with towels but this was quickly resolved. We booked (and would always book) a premium room.
The room was lovely and spacious and air conditioning is a must for me in Malta. We looked out over the road which was in some ways lovely, as it was quiet at night and we got a sea view (from the side). The balcony is big enough to fit a couple of chairs and a table and we enjoyed a quiet drink in the evening air. The rooms could do with a bit of updating (which i hear is happening) but this doesn't ruin your holiday at all as we were out most of the day.
This hotel is in a perfect location. walking distance to the harbor and a bit longer to the main square of Buigibba where there are plenty of pubs and restaurants. If your luckly you can even get caught up in the local fiesta which is a must and you can really join in with the festivities.

This year we didn't stay for any of the entertainment but the year before we did and it was brilliant our friends who we took out to Malta for the first time really enjoyed themselves.
The staff were lovely and friendly and remembered us and always said hello.
I am really excited to come back and try out the new restaurant which was refurbished just after we left. And also to see the rooms tarted up a bit.
I think i will always come back to this hotel as i have so many fond memories here!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fern F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Fern,

Thank you for such a lovely review. We are here to please you and make sure yu have a great stay with us.

Regards

Max Gatt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,421 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,268 reviews
0.6 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,360 reviews
5.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.8 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 16 in Qawra
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Property: San Pawl Hotel
Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing