We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in amazing place”
Review of San Pawl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very nice hotel, delicious food, cleaned rooms, close to the sea, bus stop, shops and friendly staff, especially Alfred from the reception, very helpful and kind guy. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Irmina

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank IrminaLawen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments. Hope to see you soon .

Yours sincerely,

Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 1,601 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I checked out of this hotel at 8.20 this morning after three nights stay that was booked through a climbing holiday company! I have no desire or wish to return!
The hotel foyer looks very modern and leads you think it's a stylish hotel! The rooms however are lacking in basic hotel amenities and at best are grubby!
I stayed in 223 and it consisted of two small single beds and a very small bathroom!

My highest issues with the room are listed below!
The balcony door did not lock!
The shower curtain had cigarette burn holes and did not reach the rim of the bath so water spills out when you shower!
Speaking of shower the water in the evening was tepid at best!
The bedding was ripped and faded with age!
The bed sheets were not even tucked in under mattress and left to drape!
There were only two power points in the room with no hair dryer available!
Behind the curtain was an old switch control that was thick with dust as was the top of the wardrobe!
The air con and fan didn't work!

I only are breakfast in the hotel and it was average! I was disappointed to find there was no fresh fruit other than dried out segments of what i assume was orange!
While I intend to return to Malta to climb I wouldn't consider staying here again!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tanya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your comments and I appreciate what you have written. I will look into it myself but also a pity that you did not mention anything whilst here on holiday. I am sure that the fruit was not dry as it is cut daily and I am sorry that you did not mention the rest of the breakfast that is available. Breakfast in UK (Just English Breakfast) costs Euro 8.00 on average, holiday on half board (Buffet Breakfast & Buffet Dinner and accommodation) in Malta costs Euro 14.00 per person ........try and work that out as value for money !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed for a month 15th march - 12 april, I found the quality and variety of the food was exceptional, just a small point the fruit juice at breakfast unusually didn't taste powdery. My room was cleaned daily & there were extra pillows and quilts in the wardrobe, the lifts & corridors were spotless. The bar prices were also reasonable for a hotel. Having stayed at the San Pawl twice before none of the aforesaid things surprised me one bit & the recent refurbishment has helped smooth most of the rough edges that distinguish a 3 star hotel from a higher class hotel. Finally I find the staff at the San Pawl helpful and caring and this creates a happy and relaxed atmosphere, love this hotel, love Malta, love the Maltese people.

Room Tip: My room was on the 3rd floor (301) on the front of the hotel & had sun from 7am till 3pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JOHNNYHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear John,

Thank you for your kind comments , its a pleasure having you with us and look forward to hosting you again in the near future

Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Moved to San Pawl from another nearby hotel. Definitely the right thing to do; even though this is a 3* hotel, felt like much higher. Room cleaned and towels changed every day, staff very pleasant and helpful. Food sufficient and freshly cooked. Can be a bit noisy on a Saturday night when the local families arrive. One negative point would be that smoking in bedrooms not only leaves a disgusting smell on what would have been fresh bedding and furnishings but is a safety hazard; holes burnt in the curtains. Did discuss this point with the manager before leaving. Will definitely come again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear William,

Thank you for your review and I really appreciate it . Point taken about the smoking in rooms. Looking forward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

i spent there last week with my sister. the place is fine compared to the price. the breakfast was fine could be better but there's the basic food.
the room in the first floor had a pool view . it was cold to swim but the pool is a bit small.
the furniture in the room is old , the bathroom needs reconstruction, if they only renew the furniture it will be a great hotel, the beds were old the sheets not so clean.
the location of the hotel is good , close to the bus station you can take a bus to any place from there.
the people who work there are the nicest people ever! the staff sooooo helpful! i once asked about the place of the station and the receptionist actaully took me outside to show me.
and once i wanted to know about some event they searched for me .
if you dont want to spend a lot of money on hotels , just book this hotel and keep the money for spending outside
another big problem was the wifi ! no wifi there , u can pay and use the computer there but it was 6 euros for 24 hours !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank giovanna277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your review I much appreciate it, thank you for the comments on my staff too as they are our asset. I would also like to inform you that we are changing all the furniture & bedding as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We are just back from our stay at this lovely 3* Maltese Hotel.
We were made welcome on arrival, enjoyed good food, well-kept amenities, clean rooms and friendly staff.
Considering its 3* ranking we loved every minute and do hope we will go again, soon.
Most of the rooms on the first floor include a large terrace overlooking the pool.
The indoor heated pool together with the well equipped gym are a 'Plus' for those who prefer to stay in rather than enjoy the picturesque Maltese village of St Paul's Bay.
Food is well in line with what one expects from a 3* hotel.
We recommend it.

Room Tip: Just one tip: always ask for a room overlooking the lovely outdoor pool and its surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMizzi1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

I thank you so much for your review. I look forward to having the pleasure of hosting you again.

Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at the San Pawl for one week half board last week 29/3/14 to 5/4/14. Our room was not great it has to be said, bedding etc was a bit ripped and furniture and fittings a bit tired and dated but having said that we did not pay alot to stay for the week and we could have payed extra to stay in one of the newer refurbished rooms which looked very nice it has to said. The food was fine not the Ritz but nothing wrong it We found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful as indeed were all the Maltese people we encountered during the week. Hotel is in a good location about a 10-15 min walk down to Bugiba main square.Buses run past the end of the road and go all over the island and a weekly pass is €6.50 for unlimited bus travel for the week which is excellent value. All in all we had a fabulous holiday in Malta and the San Pawl contributed to that. If your looking for a nice small bar with fabulous views there is a little cafe/bar overlooking the bay about a 2 min walk from the hotel €4.80 for 2 beers and 2 coffees just exit hotel turn right and right again and head for the sea at the end of the street and you will see it on the corner,nice people and great value.So if you want good value basic accomodation the San Pawl is fine if you want the Hilton then you gotta pay the big bucks I suppose.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank markgoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review, its much appreciated , we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
494 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
186 reviews
0.9 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,840 reviews
0.6 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £16 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing