We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurbished”
Review of San Pawl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Hi, didnt actually stay there this year, but thre yrs ago, but, being nosey,...I went and had a look at improvemenrs...When stayed was excellent, now even more fancy, redecorated, brans new reception, efficient, polite staff...would've let me taakung puctures, but got carried away ssunbathing....will do next time...
This area od Malta is absolutwly great if lookinf for good value holidays, happy children and content people..
Maybe, sometimes, hotels maybe a little scratched around the edges

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crisl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for your review , I much appreciate it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 1,652 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is our 2nd visit to this hotel, yes the rooms are basic but they are clean, tidy, beds are comfy and the maid does a good job and for the money you cant complain.The food is great, there's always something for everyone. Staff are helpful and approachable, its a 5 minute walk to bugibba square and very close to the bus stops.
The hotel has been refurbished since our 1st visit and looks fantastic!
We were visiting family so for us its perfect, its near everything and we'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliceJLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your review , we much appreciate it as we always try our best to satisfy your needs and make your holiday an experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Good location for public transport. The rooms are very basic. You get what you pay for. There are better hotels available for a little bit extra money. Most rooms are without aircondition , it is already very hot in Malta. Make sure you ask specifically for a room with aircondition if you intend to book for Summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with aircondition, especially in the Summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsRPace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your review , we do appreciate it and yes we do have AC rooms which can be booked as well. All rooms have fans as a standard as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Excellent location for travelling by Bus. A wonderful hotel with amazing staff. Food very good. The indoor pool was heated and fantastic atmosphere.The staff was very helpful. I will stay there for another break. A short walk takes to to Bugibba, with lot of shops that are not very expensive and you can stop for some coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maurice57_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review , I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our poor experience of this hotel began on our arrival when we were informed that our room would not be available for 2 hours and apart from being given a place to put our cases we were given no apologies. When we finally got to our room we were very disappointed, the bedding was grubby, the furniture tatty and in the case of the wardrobe, broken. The sliding doors to the balcony didn't close properly and the glass in them was loose and in danger of falling out. The toilet didn't flush properly, the bath was rusty and the shower curtain was held up with sticky tape. One of the main reasons we booked this hotel was because it has a fitness suite, we shouldn't have bothered because with the exception of the treadmill nothing worked, we couldn't switch on the fans and the lighting wasn't working, when another gentleman complained the manager came in Tried the switches and left without explaining what was going on or sorting anything out. While we were staying at the hotel the only member of staff who was friendly and helpful was the lady on reception, everyone else behaved as if we were an inconvenience. I love coming to Malta and have made many friends here so my holiday has as always been lovely but this hotel would give the first time visitor to Malta nothing to come back for, it was awful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yumone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

I am sorry about your review and only wish that you could have contacted me whilst on holiday, As I do not have any details not even a name I cannot verify your claims. What I can say is that at the gym everything works including the lights with the exception of a treadmill which is currently being repaired at the local agent. Please send me an email with all your details on generalmanager@sanpawlhotel.com

Regards

Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

please go to the sanpawl hotel we have stayed there for the past 3 years on long stays we are returning there againe on the 20th of may and hoping to go back October and December this year the food is fantastic good choice im a very fussy eater and there is always something that I can eat the manager max goes to extremw lenghs to make your stay a good one malta is a beautifull country instead of complaining about the rooms go out and explore it or go and experience life in another hotel beleave me I have tried doing that and wouldn't stay in them again all I can say is well done sanpawl hotel and see you in 2 weeks lynn smith from the uk xx

Room Tip: we always choose a room on the 3rd floor facing blacktall street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
34  Thank lynn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Wow thank you so much for your review , we all appreciate your comments, Thank you once again on behalf of my crew as well.

Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I am going to Malta on the 9th of June for two weeks staying at this hotel with my partner and parents. This will be our third year staying at this hotel and we have never had any complaints. The staff have always been friendly and very helpful. We were told last year that the rooms were being upgraded this year and if the upgraded on the lobby is anything to go by the rooms will look lovely. Looking forward to getting there.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank hayley_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your comments and look forward to hosting you again very soon.

Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,707 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,406 reviews
5.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,885 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3,004 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £14 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing