We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“definately go again”
Review of San Pawl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“definately go again”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The room 3050 was spacious, beds comfy although they were singles. the balcony on the top floor over looking the pool was small but just enough room for a small plastic table and 2 chairs. The room was very clean and well serviced, the shower is quite inadequate really and very old but it does get you clean The view from our room was great. The breakfast was expensive but if you walk down to Bugibba square and go to Granny's for a full breakfast with tea or coffee for 2.85 euros their evening meals are also great and well priced, the staff are great it does get busy so be prepared to wait at times. Georges restaurant on the front is good for day and evening meals they also have sun loungers and a small pool that over looks the sea, 5 euro for each bed. Boogies just up the road from the square provide great meals at great prices. Mermaid cruises is a good trip 23 euro for all day. You can get a day ticket on the bus for 1.50 euros, you can go anywhere just hop on and hop off seeing different villages. The double decker sightseeing bus is 17.00 euro for half of the island. The fun train pick up at mcDonalds 5 euro is good very informative. Most restaurants have free wifi, in the hotels they mostly charge. on the island the average exchange rate was 1.20 euro to the pound, we went on the 8th June and booked through On the Beach flying with Ryaniar, no problems at all. We also saw one of the village fiesta at night is was absolutely wonderful.

Room Tip: well worth booking a superior room because you get air con which is a must. Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    387
    381
    218
    262
See reviews for
356
591
128
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

When I arrived at the Hotel my name wasn't on the arrival list (I booked through hostel4u), good I had printed out my booking confirmation and everything else I needed to show for my checking in.
The hotel is simple and so it is the breakfast, which I think could be better: more fresh fruits and yogurt, not only milk.
One IMPORTANT THING: there is EVERY NIGHT (from 21:40-23:40) KARAOKE and/or musical show in the hotel's restaurant (which is at the hotel's patio beside the pool and all the rooms!!!) and it is REALLY loud and ANNOYING!!!! If I knew it before certainly I would never book in this Hotel, really bored me plenty of times when all I wanted was peace after a relaxing day in the beach and was tired because of a fun day in the beach or sightseeing. In addition to the noisy and really loud music inside the hotel, they really sing BAD!! I am telling it because I didn't read anything about it before I had booked and the trip itself, so it's important to know if you want to pay less and cheapest you will help yourself to use something on your ears, to enjoy the bad sung music or get really annoyed for not knowing it before!!
The rest my trip was wonderful, but not my nights!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eduardo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we have to come up with some solution with regards to the entertainment, Although we employ professional entertainers and Kareoke is only on one night per week.

Regards

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Was slightly apprehensive after booking San Pawl based on some of the reviews. When I arrived, the lobby area looked great. Some areas are still slightly dated, but its good value for money.

Although basic rooms, good enough location and lovely staff.

Thank you for a great stay, would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank _lilmissemka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments, I much appreciate them.

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Fab time my holiday could not have been better, I didn't pay a fortune and came with a open mind, everything was top class, ive paid double for one night in london than my week cost,Max and staff just remember every year slowly slowly push on and you will be fine! As Arnie says I'll be back ...God bless x
..

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments I appreciate them and look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I'm not too sure what to write about this hotel really, the reception area is lovely as is the pool area. There is entertainment every evening (like most hotels in malta the entertainment isn't directed towards younger people). So those are all positives, however the staff all seemed quite rude and fed up except the cleaners one young lad Behind the bar whose name escapes me unfortunately.

Our room was basic (no tea making facilities or anything) and what bothered was i went to unplug the tv to use the socket and noticed the socket was incredibly loose and dangerous plus our towels that were brought to our room (after arrival) had a strange yellow stain on, I'm sure they were clean but that's a bit off putting.
If you're going for stag/hen do and you're not bothered that much about hotel you'll be happy :)
It is very close to the seafront and buggiba square though.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Monika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review , I much appreciate it. The towels are clean as you said and the yellow stains were caused by a cleaning agent. The towels have now all been changed.

Regards,

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have jus returned from a week's break at San Pawl Hotel and to sum it up, excellent! If you want 5 star....pay for it! Although I have to say you dont always get the friendly service we received here in 5 star accommodations!!. When we arrived there was not any notice of our booking, not a problem, paid for the night till it was sorted and had the money returned first thing next day. Loved our pool view huge balcony, cleaned every day and towels changed if I left them indicating so. Breakfast was as good as you get anywhere with alternate days of bacon and sausage. I would recommend the San Pawl to anyone who wants good friendly service at value for money prices.

Room Tip: Pool view low floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy Friel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your kind commets we all appreciate it :)

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just spent a week at the St Pawl Hotel which was a mixed experience. On arrival we entered a well appointed foyer only to be greeted by a grumpy unfriendly man on reception, we didnt even get a "Hello" let alone a smile! I was just told t"Fill in this and thats it, and told you are in this room got to the about 12 midnight after traving for 8hrs to get there and found that theres no kettel in the room so me and the wife went back down to see if we can get one ,only to think we was puting him out by askin for for a kettel by sayin can you not get it later ie when we get up. After about 10 mins we got one and that was a west of time but to charge 10euros deposit and 1.5 euros a day for a kettle, I could have bought a new one for less  we asked for cups and told can you not just used a glass from the bathroom so we gave up thats the only bad part of being there and he put a bad start to stayin there. But the rest off the staff where very helpfull and nice and always say hello to you. Room was ok and clean for what you pay pool was lovely and clean food was ok ish. Was a lovely holiday apart from the bad start with the man when we got there.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darren247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Darren,

Thank you for your review , I will look into the matter personally.
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
0.6 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
5.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.8 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 15 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Property: San Pawl Hotel
Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing