We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent facility and great value”
Review of San Pawl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Pawl Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Leeming Bar, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent facility and great value”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

it was an extremely enjoyable stay. The rooms were clean, and the staff were helpful, polite and efficient. Rooms were cleaned daily and the linen and towels changed daily. The pool was brilliant, and kept clean, (treated every day along with the surrounding area), and it was easy to get a sun lounger at any time. The food was very good and exceeded what we expected. It was buffet style and you can eat as much as you like. One thing someone mentioned was the barbecue. I actually have to agree with them. We were on a half board basis and while the barbecue was nice and plentiful. I don't think it was worth ten euros MORE than we had already paid for our meal. However it was a pleasant and different experience. The only negative comment I have is the lack of parking facilities, but this is a problem everywhere in Malta and therefore not a fault of the hotel. The San Pawl is very very good value, and I would definitely stay there again given the option.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms tend to be near the rooftop fans and conditioners. I was on the second floor wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank yuo for your comments and kind words we sincerely appreciate them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    387
    381
    218
    262
See reviews for
356
591
128
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned from my second weeks holiday this year there. have stayed a few times at this hotel and some others in the area. I was asked at my last meal if I would write a review and said I would.
I thought I would try and give a honest review of how I find the area, the hotel and its staff/services.
The hotel is on a busy street and area in Malta, which, if you didn't know. can get noisy with cars, lorries, trucks and buses. Yes it can be noisy if you are on the outside rooms. I actually don't see this as the hotels responsibility or fault... Traffic is what it is. The hotel is very central and easy to find, but has some steep slopes or steps leading down to the main road in to st Pauls bay. Reception area is lovely after a refit last year. I do feel that some of the rooms could do with some loving attention too, just a quick look and repairs of some small problems could improve perception so much. When I stayed in March the balcony door wouldn't shut quite right. i did not complain because I always sleep with them open anyway. The room was fairly compact and not lots of room but was clean and tidied every day with clean towels being left. I dont go on holiday to stay in my room or to watch tv. but I think more thought could be put into what channels the tv's get in relation to the guests.
This last week our room was lovely with one exception...... the air conditioning unit seemed to have had its wires just pulled out. and some tape over the wall controls....Obviously broken and just left, not something I mentioned. because we didn't pay or expect air con. however, A guest staying in that room may be quite upset if they have paid or expect it. (305) Staff in the restaurant are a mixed bunch. I have always found that ALL are very accommodating and helpful when asked. Quite a few remembered us from our stay in march which was nice. However, it seemed they had had quite a few new younger staff since we were there in March and just a point of observation....... they should smile a bit more :) people are on holiday and want to see happy smiling faces.The food is normally of a reasonable standard with 2 starters and 3 main dishes nightly. I was a little disappointed this week as there was not as much fresh fish as I have previously encountered.... fish was available each night, but was breaded, salmon or tuna. Deserts are far too sugary for me, and I don't eat them, but again well presented and always seemed plentiful. I had ice cream most nights which most guests are not aware you can ask for. For some reason, ice cream is not available when they have jelly. no idea why. Fresh fruit was available at most meals but seemed confined to oranges and melon. Breakfasts are as people have said a bit repetitive, but on quick count up. 4, cereals, 2 types of egg, bacon or sausages, beans, tomatoes, bread, toaster, 5 different juices, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, cold meats, cheeses,cakes and fruit.............. I think that's a fairly good choice given some of the breakfast choices I've had in the UK.
One thing someone mentioned was the barbecue. I actually have to agree with them. We were on a half board basis and while the barbecue was nice and plentiful. I don't think it was worth ten euros MORE than we had already paid for our meal. Fish was advertised as an item, yet no fish was available. If I return, I wouldn't have the barbecue again.
The pool area could do with some small minor repairs to the tiles. I KNOW that happens because some were being done when i was here last. I find the pool area fine spacious and plenty of sunbeds if you want to use one. I have spent some time in the hotel bar and to be honest, i think its sort of laid out wrong. it may be the building and pillars etc, but always seems cramped and crowded, so generally we go out. having said this, some entertainment was outside. plenty of room there.
A big opportunity I think the hotel miss out on is WI-fi. almost everyone has WI-fi nowadays and the cost of the hotel use is a bit high. I think they could come up with a weekly ticket for use, rather than a hourly one which has to be used within a certain time. Perhaps that's the deal with their supplier.

I hope people visiting find this useful. As I said, we have been at this hotel 5 times or more, and I see no reason for not using it on further trips to Malta. Its not the Hilton,but you are not paying Hilton prices. its a good friendly hotel which i think offers excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Carbootman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your review . Much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

As a family we stayed for 10 nights half board and it was a very enjoyable stay,the staff was polite and efficient.The food was great as it was buffet style and you can eat as much or as little considering my husband and son are quite fussy they managed to polish off their plates.The swimming pool area was busy and one of the highlights.The manager Mr Bray encourages to participates on nightly entertainments and everyone was helpful as my husband has a disability;so overall our stay was well worth it.The only down side was the bathroom needs updating but was cleaned daily and clean towels provided.The location is in the centre but the Buggiba main area can be reached about 10-15 mins brisk walk however there are buses which we used daily as for one week bus pass cost 6.50 euros comparing to 15 euros charged by taxi.We would definitely return to Malta.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

i really enjoyed stay in San Pawl Hotel. Staff were frienfly, room clean, food quite good.
basically good value for money! I can recommend everyone whos prefer spending more time on sightseeing than 'doing nothing' in hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateee93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel was ok!
Plus pionts:
Varied and good quality breakfasts
Nice pool
Good location
Minus pionts:
Noisy cleaners from 7am cleaning the pool every day
Very loud outside ""entertainment until 11.30pm every night
Pool opens at 9.00am and closes at 5.00pm.
A good trip though!!
I would go back!

Room Tip: I would recomend for those who are not that picky and you get what you pay for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your comments. Much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Not one of the best places but it's a 3* , the staff were friendly! the rooms were clean! the food in the restaurant not really great advise to go b&b , the bar and outside entertainment was good, the swing pool was clean and plenty of lounge, will go back again

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Karima A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your comments we appreciate them.

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Hotel has had a refurbishment and is clean and tidy
The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly
The food however is below average as ther was very little choice especially if you have small children as they didnt cater for kids meals.The choice for breakfast was sausages and fried eggs one day and the next day was scrambled eggs and bacon (tomatoes every day) no fresh fruit ,there was a choice of cereals agian limited .The evening meals concisted of soup of the day then potatoes either sliced one day then in halfs the next day ,if you dont get in early when its gone its gone .They try to get more money out of you by having a BBQ which if you want to go is 15 Euro each now most hotels i have stayed at do this for free instead of the evening meal .We declined and went to Georges on the seafront and had two decent meals with drinks which came to 20 Euros .We booked a room with a land view what we got was a room with a view of peoples apartments opposite which had no air con.we paid the extra to be moved to a superior room which had a fridge and air con ,it seems most people do the same .It is in a good location however this is no reflection on the hotel but the night life in this area in the last 4 years since we were there last has rapidly gone down hill as more and more bars have closed down,but that can be said for a lot of places just like in England.We would stay at this hotel again as it is what it is a cheap hotel.

Room Tip: always book a superior room it may cost a bit more but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your comments and I am sorry to hear that you where disappointed. We shall try and incorporate a kids menu however if you have children our chefs would be more then happy to prepare you any kids meal as long as its booked in advanced during bfst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
0.6 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
5.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.8 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 15 in Qawra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Property: San Pawl Hotel
Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing